We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden House Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Garden House Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak | No:11/13 Old City, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the Garden House hotel on our way back to Istanbul after 4 weeks of traveling. We chose it for the location in Sultanahmet being a short walk to the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. However, from the minute we arrived here we were so well looked after by Selcuk who is very proud of this beautiful hotel and the first class renovations they have undertaken. We were shown in to the gorgeous garden area where you can sit and have a drink at anytime or choose to dine out there in the evening. It was a welcome chill out space after a hectic day of sightseeing. Our room was lovely and big! Another pleasant surprise. Last time we were in Istanbul we stayed at the Sirkeci-Konak which was also very nice but the Garden House Hotel is definitely the better choice for top location, unbeatable service and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and it was big and sunny with a small balcony. The air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    817
    286
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
208
499
85
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riniken
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Charming boutique hotel centrally located in the old part of the city, just below the Hippodrome / Blue Mosque. Very accomodating management and staff. Received exellent recommendations for excursions and where to go from Mr. Selcuk who is responsible for guest relations. Very cozy backyard to relax by a drink or dinner following a busy sightseeing day. For us it was a perfect location to stay for a sightseeing trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a week in the Rose Garden Suites and had a perfect stay there due to very personal and warm hearted service (especially Mr. Selcuk did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible), the cosy atmosphere of the boutique-hotel and its perfect location. The backyard is a real oasis when you have spent the day exploring the city. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Garden Suites for 3 nights during our trip to Turkey. We were unable to make our original booking in July due to work commitments but the staff were so accommodating and moved our booking at the last minute with no extra charges. The room was large and very comfortable. All the staff were extremely helpful and made all of our reservations for us which worked out perfectly. The location was perfect, close to all the attractions and the gardens made a beautiful sanctuary after the hustle and bustle of the city.
We would definatly stay there again and recommend to anyone else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Cozy, personal, and intimate was the experience I had while staying at the Rose Garden Hotel in Sultanhamet, Istanbul. If you must cross paths with this beautiful establishment, make sure to ask for Mr. Selcuk personal (Guest Relations). In fact he will probably great you at the door and tell you all about the beautiful City of Istanbul, before you think to ask for him.
All in all, a wonderful place to go relax after you have spent the day getting to know the City and its monuments. There is a nice and open backyard to sit for a drink of your choice, and the food prepared wonderfully.

Room Tip: Choose suite 206, with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Garden House is a boutique-type hotel, with satisfactory sized rooms and bathroom, well furnished, clean and in good order. Breakfast and WiFi was included in the rate, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the main venues in the old part of the city.

All in all, it is a competent package.

There are 2 minor 'buts'.

Firstly, the WiFi in my room was quite weak, so you may have to move to the public areas for a better signal - but it did work in the end, albeit with patience required.

The second issue is food hygiene. Whilst you have to expect a more casual approach to this aspect in places like Istanbul, nevertheless, for a hotel which is ranked at #34 out of 769 in the city - it justifies a mention. So, the breakfast waiter should NOT pat down the cheeses and cold meats on the plate with the palm of his bare hand....... And the egg counter lady who wears gloves, should not clear away the dirty plates from tables, and wipe them, then wipe her face, expecting her gloves to then continue performing any useful function in food handling. Picky perhaps, but if you aspire to the higher rankings, you should not cut fast and loose in such basic food handling ways.

However, I'd stay there again. I hope the management takes on board the comments above, as very little effort is required to improve matters.

Room Tip: close to a WiFi router - ask. some rooms have weak coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect location for a getaway in the wonderful city of Istanbul.
Nice, clean and a super friendly staff made our short stay truly wonderful.
Not the cheapest hotel around, but most certainly among the most charming
and personal. Will definately return...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak | No:11/13 Old City, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.