We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, attentive staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanhan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sultanhan Hotel to your Saves list
Sultanhan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piyer Loti Cad. No 15-17, Istanbul 34490, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, attentive staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we stayed in late June for 4 nights. Airport pick up was flawless. Rooms are decent size (by Old World standard) with high ceiling. Bathroom has all amenities including slippers. Hotel is in excellent location on a side street from the main Sultan Ahmed thoroughfare. Tram stop is a 2 min walk. Haga Sophia, Blue Mosque, and Grand Bazaar are 5 to 10 mins away. Front desk staff were very helpful. They made seat reservations on Turkish Airlines a feat not easily achieved from US. They also brought us a fruit platter when they noticed we were eating Turkish deserts in the bar area.
The included breakfast is more than adequate. Try the delicious Turkish bagels. The view from the rooftop restaurant was spectacular - the hotel brochure does not exaggerate.

Room Tip: try the rooms with a view of the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    114
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
75
166
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My aunt and I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Istanbul, and we were not disappointed. It was within a short walking distance of the major sites, such as the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, as well as restaurants and some shopping. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was traditional and very good, and the breakfast terrace had a lovely view of the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a week at the Sultanhan hotel in Istanbul, May 22 thru May 28. Had a wonderful experience. The staff were so helpful and tried to overcome the language barrier and did so with humor and grace. The terrace restaurant was incredible. The views overwhelming. Breathtaking.

The rooms were very clean and the staff went out of their way to welcome us and to ensure our stay comfortable.

P. J.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the sunny side of the hotel. It might be a bit noisier but it would be bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton,MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Sultanhan was in the perfect location in the Sultanhamet. on a quiet street, close to the tram, making it easy to walk everywhere- close to many good restaurants!

The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooftop restaurant was a great place to have breakfast, wonderful views of the sea, and nice to sit and relax after a day of touring.

We stayed in the rooms facing the street- really nicely appointed and comfortable beds. The only thing missing, in my opinion, was a coffeepot or kettle for tea in the room.

After exploring this part of the city, I was happy that we didn't have to walk up a lot of hills to reach the tram and restaurants from our hotel, as many of the nice hotels would require an uphill walk to get anywhere! Loved this hotel and I would stay there again if we return to Istanbul!

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms facing the rear but the street is not really a thru street so it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in Mid April 2013 for four nights.

Istanbul was rainy, cold and blustery during our stay. Yet the this Hotel always made us (two couples traveling together) very warm.

Location, location and location. This hotel is most centrally located to EVERYTHING. Even the Hammam (Turkish Bath) that my wife and her friend wanted to visit, withing 200 yards of the front door. The Grand Bazaar was just a quarter mile!!!!

Our travel agent had prepared our itinerary, however, it fell apart as the Guide could not come. So we were left to our own planning! This is the point when Mr. Okan from the Front Desk became our planner and he planned every day (4 days) for us with utmost care.

Look, this hotel was on the pricey side, but the help we received from Mr. Okan and Mr. Yassar made it worth every penny!.

Bravo Sultanhan Hotel Staff. We will be sure to visit them next time we are in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We actually selected this hotel based on the Rick Steves' guidebook. Usually we stay at the more deluxe priorities, but this hotel was great. It's a smaller hotel with a perfect location. The staff was very accommodating. And the rooftop breakfast with views of the city was truly amazing. Yes, your really should stay here. Thanks Rick!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, good size room, clean and well equipped bathroom, excellent location. From the moment we arrived all the staff were consistently friendly and welcoming. Good selection at breakfast and even tried the evening meal set menu one night up on the terrace. Wasn't the best meal I've ever had but good for the price. Waking distance to all the main sites and local tourist centered restaurants, although the food was pretty much the same. All the restaurants on the tourist streets close to hotel had 'catchers' outside trying to tempt you in, although annoying they weren't overly persistent and most were friendly and polite. Best tip for good location - look up! Several roof-top restaurants with fantastic views. We saw one and were trying to find a way in, only for a 'catcher' to take us through a carpet shop to the smallest lift possible up onto the roof! Sitting on the roof, Blue Mosque in the background listening to the call to prayer from the mosques all around, waiting for dinner summed up Istanbul for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanhan Hotel

Address: Piyer Loti Cad. No 15-17, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanhan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sultanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultanhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.