We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't go here !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oztanik Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Oztanik Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Oztanik Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Topcu Cad. D:9-11 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Please don't go here !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

It was one of the hotels on our honeymoon itenrary !
They didn't send anyone to pick us up at the airport - and mind you after 2 hours of not knowing what to do , because people in turkey can barely understand or reply in English .
We managed to reach there , and to find we were given the smallest room , even though we paid for a larger one .... The sheets were dirty , no water in the room ,we wanted an iron for our clothes and they said sorry give it to our laundry servise . Very rude hotel staff ... The bathrooms were another horror story .
A 4 star hotel with 1 star capabilities .
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE .
Except for the fact that it was a walkable distance to taksim square , nothing nice about this place .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    42
    35
    16
See reviews for
20
34
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was in a great location; close to subway, shuttle to airport and wonderful area of restaurants. It is getting very rundown... dated... rooms need a re-do...breakfast was good. People had front desk did not know a lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

the rooms are not that good , the beds are not comfortable at all. and concerning their breakfast it is very poor there isn't much varieties you eat everyday the same menu which is already limited.
also i didn't like the location of the hotel it is very close to some restaurants and coffee shops around which causes disturbance during sleeping all night because of the loud music and things like that .
but there is something good about it that it is very near from Taksim which is supposed to be the center of Istanbul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Let's start with the positive ones. The breakfast was very good, the quality and quantity of the pies and cakes was great. The position of the hotel is near Taxim square so it is very easy to use all the means of transportation (buses, mini buses, havatas bus, taxi, tram, metro...) although we didn't ... miss some fights and a lot of noise after midnight (ok that was not the hotel's responsibility). However, it is not as clean as i was expecting it (especially the toilet), the curtains, the carpet, and the walls are in bad condition. The towels are not as clean or fresh as someone would expect from a 4 stars hotel. I would definitely not suggest this hotel for that money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed there one night. There was no hot water in the morning, so we couldn't take a shower.
When we spoke wit the manager in charge, he couldn't care less. This is when we had paid Euro 120 per night for a room.

We left our luggage with the hotel, and they found it strange that we asked for a receipt for our luggage! We came back in the afternoon and our luggage was still in the lobby area with no tags! We were glad that our luggage didn't get lost.

Room Tip: We would never go to this hotel ever again! I do not recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A window cannot be closed, electricity cut off when i plug in my cellphone charger, a door cannot be opened except with a knees push, AC works when it wants to work, Horrible Room service makes no replace to the dirty spoons or cups, adding no soaps. What else?! In fact this hotel can barely deserve 3 stars,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've read reviews that made me feel that the hotel is so bad, but really its a good hotel, nice and clean, good breakfast, service is okay although you won't find English speakers anywhere except at the reception which made communication hard, rooms are big, most of the T.V. channels are Turkish.

Staff usually don't smile at your face, and not so helpful, a friend was with me in the trip asked for a child bed but they said all the child beds are used by other guests and sent him an extra bed but after asking for it many times.

Location is perfect, and they have an outdoor place to sit in, and there is a small market right in-front of the hotel.

It's hard to get the WiFi inside your room, and we told them about this problem in the reception but they did nothing.

Overall it is a good hotel, not compared to 5* hotels, buts its okay as a 4* one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Oztanik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oztanik Hotel

Address: Topcu Cad. D:9-11 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oztanik Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Oztanik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oztanik Istanbul
Grand Oztanik Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oztanik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.