We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap room and great breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nezih

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nezih to your Saves list
Hotel Nezih
Mithatpasa Cad. Yenidevir Sok. No. 8, Istanbul 34490, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #450 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Cheap room and great breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While traveling in Turkey my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Nezih Istanbul, it was extremely reasonable for the 4 nights we were there it cost $303.73. The room was very clean and we enjoyed that it was only a short walk to the Grand Bazaar. They served breakfast between 7am and 10 am. The building is old and the bathrooms are in need of some serious updating, but overall it was nice place. The staff though spoke limited English was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in Beyazit- only 3 minutes walk to the tram stop and Grand Bazar and 20 minutes to Sultanahmet. If you would not mind staying outside Sultanahmet area in a cheap hotel, this is it.
We booked online for two nights at 55 Euro on our first leg of stay in Istanbul. We were checked into room 503. It was a big room with triple beds and a couch, but congested with all the furniture having no space to keep luggage. We ended up putting them on the single bed.
With boiled egg, chicken suasage, beef sausage, salads, olives, different types of bread, cheese and jam, juice, tea, cereal- this breakfast was by far the best we had in the 4 Turkish hotels we stayed in. The breakfast room is in the basement but nicely decorated.
For our second leg of stay in Istanbul, we had booked a hotel in Taksim. But decided to change to Old Istanbul area after having arrived in Istanbul. All good value for money hotels/hostels were booked in Sultanahmet. And even the hostels in Sultanahmet are more expensive than hotels in Beyazit. A bit reluctantly (but because of the service and location) we chose to stay in Nezih for 3 more nights on our second leg. But this time we were really happy with the room.
We got room 504 which had plenty of free space for luggage and had more light too. Figen, the manager who had even helped us carry our luggage to tram station was very helpful. An extremely nice lady she makes the hotel service get its marks.Unlike the other staff she speaks good English which makes communication easy.
A downside of the location is the airport shuttle service does not come to this area. And if you have 2 big luggage it can be hard to carry them uphill to the tram station. So for airport pick up/transfer, you either have to use the hotel private transfer service for Euro 20 (max 4 person) or get a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Well, you get what you pay for, if you want a high level place, pay accordingly. However, if you want to stay on a low budget, this is a good place, staff were friendly (specially Ramis), room was clean and queit, beds were comfy, which is very important when you are traveling, and you need your witts during the day.
Three stars rating in Istanbul is equal to one star in the US, this applies to Nezih, and all the Hotels we stayed at in Turkey, so, keep your expectations realestic, the toilet and the shower inside leaked slightly, the room was pretty small, but, all in all, our three nights stay was pretty comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We booked for a family of 4, with two infant children. They responded promptly and booked us a room for 50 EUR. Airport pickup worked fine. The desk when we arrived was a surly, unsmiling man, who conveyed to us in no uncertainty that he would be resolving no problems -- it is not easy to come by this level of uselessness in Istanbul when you have two infant daughters -- a real rarity. The room had four single beds and was brown. It looked out on a back wall. We were hit immediately upon entering the room by the smell of rancid human faeces emerging from the bathroom, with possibly an undercurrent of old cigar smoke. They were unable to change our room, but promised us a new room the next day, so we did not check out immediately. In the morning they promised to move us, but when we came back in the evening, this was, we were told, impossible. Breakfast: standard fare, with good bread. The coffee was filtered bilgewater however. Some of the staff eventually warmed up to us, but it took a while.

We will definitely never stay here again. Part of it is just that, with a minimum of effort, this could actually be a decent hotel, but no one here appears to care that much. Istanbul has much better at similar price range. Also, casual lying to customers is bad service. Final word: Maybe this is standard in Turkey, but we were shocked at how badly they treated their African paying customers.

I hope the owners read this review and wake up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Approaching airport security for the return trip, I found to my horror that my passport had been left at the hotel desk. The manager, who had been consistently helpful with our many requests, capped her kindness by sending my passport with a trusted taxi driver so that I could catch my flight. This small hotel is pretty, warm, welcoming and right at the heart of everything: a bustling street scene, interesting contrasts of east and west, five minutes to the tram line and easy walking to the Grand Bazaar and beautiful Bayazit mosque--which incidentally, makes a great landmark for the easily lost, since it marks the place where you turn down the hill. The Turkish-style breakfast was fresh, plentiful and good and and the service was great. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice location in Beyazit, only few minutes to the tram, Grand Bazar and 15-20 min to Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. Easy to walk to Eminönü.
Good and clean rooms without all carpet; all carpet in a hotel is totally negative. Big and heavy breakfast and very nice service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nezih hotel is been there for us when we've needed it the most, I've been stayed there for 3 different times and the experience was ok.

Rooms are fine, comfy and have everything you may need to relax after touring during day. The cons: the toilettes are old and smelly, so the carpets do. They serve breakfast (basic but hot) from 7 to 10, having fresh eggs, turkish black tea, coffee, fruit and veggies in its neat and small restaurant.

When we tried to book a 3 star hotel in Sultanahmet by HRS we found that this was the cheapest option but it was not cheap at all (around 40 € per night) considering the age of this buinding, the options that exist of alternative accomodation and the noisy workers of the clothes' shops that have activity the whole night just next to the hotel. Even though, the location of the hotel is just at the heart of Sultanahmet, so you will be able to find the most interesting spots just at walking distance.

Shall we found no option, then we would return here and would ask a room that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nezih? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nezih

Address: Mithatpasa Cad. Yenidevir Sok. No. 8, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nezih reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nezih, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.