We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Holiday Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Star Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Star Holiday Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Caddesi 10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
“More than excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent eight nights at Star Holiday Hotel. it's an extraordinary hotel in an exceptional location for viewing the major historical stories of Istanbul.

The service really is extraordinary. Most of the staff work together seamleslessly. They are also genuinely nice people who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. the receptionist is more than helpful..He offered us free tea when we arrive

Lots of nice touches like robes, slippers, wonderful toiletries, beautiful bathrooms and good reading lights. Even the smallest rooms are very good-sized ; was huge-- with a chair, writing desk.

The Sunday brunches are just spectacular; we had the "regular" one, and then the Easter brunch a week later. The Food and Beverage Ladies brought some of the "specialties" to our table to try, and the She milled around and explained the preparation of some of the dishes.

Lastly, all staff is VERY knowledgeable... their recommendations are worth taking. They endorsed our thought of going to the Korfez restaurant for lunch (on the Bosphorous-- they send their boat to meet you) -- it was a memorable experience. They also purchased our plane tickets to Cappadocia-- half the price of buying them in the US, AND you can change them with no penalty when purchased in Turkey.

Thank you Ms. Aliyeee and receptionist

We will also be back....

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
13
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 via mobile

This is the second time i have been to this hotel after a great experience the first time. What can i say from great staff that love to help and give advice on what to see and where to go in istanbul, to great food at the breakfast buffet. The choice on the breakfast table is great fruit, cheese, pastries, toast, jams and fresh juices. And to top it all off great rooms. We had a twin room on the top floor witch was just the right size with two very comfortable beds tea and coffee making facilities walk in shower/wetroom/toilet flat screen tv air conditioning (not that you need it in January its bloody cold) and a fridge for water ect. A great hotel and will defiantly book in the future. ..... Also the price is great!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We are very happy staying at this hotel.it is very conveniently located. Connectivity to the city and to the historical places is very easy. Hotel staff is very courteous and helpful. But I was much impressed with their housekeeping . Full marks to the cleanliness . Their breakfast was excellent. Tariff was very reasonable. We have had a wonderful experience. I would love to be there again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Ideally located a minute's walk from Sultanahmet tram stop. Fanstastic views over Hippodrome, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque from 4th floor restaurant. Clean with bright decor. 24 hour access. Pleasant enough buffet breakfast. Lift. Helpful English-speaking reception staff. Lots of tourist shops and restaurants nearby. The inevitable drawbacks of such a central location are that rooms are small (though with just enough space) and it's noisy at night. Our 7-year-old son would have preferred to stay at the front overlooking trams, which would have been noisy enough, but family rooms are available only at the back, overlooking a street full of restaurants and clubs playing (albeit not unpleasant) music until the small hours.

Room Tip: Best views, and possibly less street noise, on front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

I love this Hotel.
Magnificent location and friendly staffs.
I would highly recommended to everyone the breakfast lunge it's so overwhelming once you are in it, the blue masque view it's outstanding and surrounding by enormousness of Amenities and endless Choices.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The location is superb. Approximately 200 meters away from the BlueMosque, HaghiaSophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern & the Grand Bazaar.
Food outlets, convenient stores, souvenirs shops, Hamam Bath Spa, you just name it! They are just around the hotel. And the best part is the Sultanahmet tramp station is one minute walk from the hotel which will take you to explore the city up to the new city of Europe side.
The most unforgettable experience that I have with Star Holiday Hotel is, the truthfulness and honesty shown by the Manager Mr Altin Diko, who found my precious gold pendant and personally sent it over to my friend at Atartuk airport.

Thank you so much Altin, you have portrayed the true Turkish hospitality & honesty.
Star Holiday Hotel, Istanbul, we shall meet again!

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga Region, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The hotel is situated very close to Sofia cathedral, Cisterna and Blue Mosque. I had very nice room, renovated, clean and not so expensive. Breakfast was excellent. The most fabulous is the view from breakfast room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Holiday Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Caddesi 10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 stars Star Holiday Hotel offers guests accommodation in the very heart of the historic district of Istanbul, the Sultanahmet area, with a truly enviable location practically overlooking the inspiring Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia museum. You simply cannot be more central or closer to the sites in this well appointed hotel: the Topkapi Palace and the fabulous Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar are just a short 10 minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Star Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Star Holiday

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.