We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mosaic

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mosaic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mosaic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vidinli Tevfik Pasa Cad. No:21 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34490, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 919 Hotels in Istanbul
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A conveniently-located hotel, only a few blocks from the tram line; near the Grand Bazaar and Sultanahmet Mosque; friendly staff; delicious and expansive breakfast buffet. The rooms are adequate, but not huge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    40
    4
    7
See reviews for
26
62
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As part of our Gate 1 Turkey travel we stayed at Mosaic Hotel which is ideally located at the
center of the city. On our first day we walked from our hotel to the Grand Bazaar, Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace. Room was clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Dinner and breakfast buffet was great and there were a lot of choices. We specially enjoyed the fish entree and eggplant dish and the baklava dessert was fantastic. Restaurant staff very attentive. Will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit to Istanbul. Would also like to thank Gate1 for a most enjoyable and memorable trip. Our tour guide Mesut was exceptionally organized and very knowledgable. Our driver Shaban was a gem he drove safely and kept the bus spic and span.
We are already plannning our next tour with Gate1 next year to Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Vicenza and mosaic while being in Istanbul. Mosaic hotel Doesent have the luxury room like the other hotel but they certainly compensate with they're service which is implacable! Staff is very friendly which I couldn't say about the other hotel, guest relation desk girl made our stay so much more enjoyable! When u ask for something it's getting delivered. Food is also much better. Yet the rooms needs updating and especially the bathrooms which had a bit of mold and were tiny. But if u overlook that side everything else is spot on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Mosaic hotel for 3 nights, and have absolutely no complaints about our stay.

Hotel staff here speak excellent English, and were very helpful in a number of different situations.

However, I would suggest that the overall standard of this hotel is closer to a 3.5* rating rather than a traditional US/European 4* hotel rating.

This hotel is ideally located if you fancy exploring Istanbul on your own, without using the local taxis, as it is either close to, or easily accessible to, a number of the main tourist attractions e.g.

> Grand Bazaar - 10 mins walk
> Kumkapi fish restaurants - 30 mins walk
> Tram (Laleli/Universite) - 5 mins walk - direct tram to Sultanahmet/Taksim Square
> Metro station (Akrasay) - 15 mins walk - direct Metro to Ataturk airport

Our hotel room was fairly compact, but perfectly clean, and all of the facilities were adequate :
- TV, Safe in room, free wireless internet, bath/shower with constant hot water etc.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a full range of offerings from pastries/muffins/croissants to the more mediterannean-style (bread, olives, cheese, cold meats), and also had a hot breakfast available (eggs, sausage, beans, tomatoes etc.).

Mosaic hotel has a traditional spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and of course turkish bath, which is free for hotel guests (only between 12-6pm daily).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a mid-price option ($150 p/night), situated in a central location, with helpful and attentive hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel sits perfectly in the heart of Istanbul. Conveniently located near every tourist site: Grand Bazaar, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Spice Bazaar with minor travel. Very small rooms, ostentatiously attractive decor, but such thin walls, you can hear what your neighbor is thinking...LOL! Also, be prepared to be awaken by roosters crowing (yes roosters); however, the morning call to prayer was beautiful and will take your breath away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is pretty good all things considered, but I think I'd stay somewhere nicer when I go back to Istanbul.

Pros: Location is excellent, breakfast is included and has many options, our room was comfortable, free wireless, friendly staff, laundry service was quick (husband ran out of undershirts)

Cons: weird energy saving lights in hallway that turn off after about 10 seconds, housekeeping/minibar attendants don't necessarily knock before coming into your room (sometimes at odd hours, like 8:30 am), bedding is only fitted sheet and a thin blanket- no full sheet, thin walls, weak wireless signal in rooms with weak security (username and password are your room number), room service dishes not removed after three days (I put them in the hall myself)

In all, it was a pleasant stay, but there are a lot of things that could be improved. I don't know who hands out stars to hotels, but this is not a 4 star by American standards. More like a 3.5 due to odd quirks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It’s all about location and this hotel is perfectly close to old Istanbul. Don't need to take a cab. The staff was nice and kind. The place was clean and had Wi-Fi. The rooms were small and so were the elevators and the beds hard. However, the food at this place is great. Great breakfast choices and great dinners. Close to some wonderful restaurants, close to everything really. For the price it was nice. Would I stay here again? Maybe not because of the size of the rooms and the beds being very hard and no blankets. However, if you want a nice hotel for a decent price this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic

Address: Vidinli Tevfik Pasa Cad. No:21 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#265 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mosaic 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in central Istanbul is half a mile from the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. It offers a gym and a spa with an indoor pool and Turkish hammam.Mosaic Hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with an LCD TV, minibar and private bathrooms. Some rooms have a balcony.The Mosaic has a complete spa with a sauna and solarium. The hotel’s gym features cardio equipment and free weights.Guests of the Mosaic can start their day with a rich buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinner, the restaurant offers an a varied menu as well as an open-buffet. Live music entertainment is also a regular feature at Mosaic Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mosaic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.