We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, central location & excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavanta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lavanta Hotel to your Saves list
Lavanta Hotel
Istiklal Cad. Suslu Saksi Sokak No: 17 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, central location & excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Delicious buffet breakfast (everything from fresh cheese to Turkish cookies), rain shower (RAIN SHOWER!), crisp sheets and fluffy pillows in a location that can't be beat - 5 minutes walk from Taksim Square (easy to get to/from airport), 2 minutes from İstiklal Avenue (Istanbul's main shopping street), and artsy Cihangir district an easy stroll. I arrived from a long day of travel and transit, and the welcome was warm and helpful - courteous and genuinely friendly English-speaking staff on morning and evening shifts were happy to help me locate a hard-to-find travel agency and look after my bags after check-out. My room was very compact but extremely well designed to make the most of space. It felt like a much, much fancier hotel than what I was paying for. Lively area with cafes and restaurants on the street below, but you'll be at the heart of the action.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much, i am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All the best and take care,
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location of.the hotel is amazing.it's about.100 meters from istiklal street. If you are going.for shopping on a budget it's really nice hotel. If we are talking about the staff they are simply amazing and helpful.the rooms are clean. The negative things is that the rooms are so small and there's no lobby in the hotel. About the breakfast I didn't try it because I don't like the turkish food. When leaving the hotel I forgot my glacess when I mail the hotel I was surprised that they kept them for me. In general the hotel is very good

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

....where I spent 5 nights .. & have little if anything negative to say about the experience. If there's anything to criticise it might be the size of the room (I was alone in a double room) & the en suite but I suspect almost any boutique hotel in Istanbul will be a little 'compact'. Otherwise, the effort to be pleasant & accomodating was very obvious throughout, Madlen is a really lovely & very helpful host, from booking through to checking out. Buffet style breakfast - included in the price - was very good with a variety which surely has something for everyone's taste. My room was cleaned every day without my requesting it, everything is clean, the bed was really nice to sleep in, everything works!
In short Lavanta is great value for your €$£'s, & as of my time there, had a 'family-run' feel to it (don't know if it is) in the most positive sense of the term, the staff are friendly & seem very genuine in their helpful treatment of all my requests.
I would not only stay here again without hesitation but would recommend you do too.
For anyone who doesn't know the city - & I certainly didn't prior to this trip - Beyoglu is as described, furious & theming, but don't let that dissuade you, it all happens calmly somehow, & the end of Istiklal which is opposite to the Taxim Sq. end was for me at least, far more interesting & worth your time.. when you're not over in Sultanahmet or elsewhere..
I loved Istanbul & that was in no small part due to having my too-short base at the Lavanta. Thank you Madlen & your staff ! To your continued success - James/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
James it was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest. And yes, we are a family run hotel! We take a lot of pride in that. Thank you for all of your kind feedback. I hope you will choose to stay with us again.

All the best,
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have never written a review about a hotel before but I never found one with such great value so I had to register and review. That's the least I can do for a hotel that made my stay so memorable and had such outstanding service. The location was terrific, the hospitality was like staying at your friends place warm and welcoming. Besides that the rooms are modern, clean and stylish. If I could give them more than 5 points, I would. Thank you for everything Lavanta Team, I hope to be back soon!

Viola

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Viola I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for all of your kind words. They are very much appreciated! All the best, Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

First and foremost, I was impressed with this place. I wasn't expecting to find such a great deal on short notice. I booked directly through the hotel website after my friend recommended this place, and it was definitely worth it. I was pleasantly surprised when I got there, and even more impressed at breakfast. Sacks of lavender, treats on your bed, and the sweetest staff. This hotel was extremely affordable, and right in the middle of Taksim. I will recommend this place to my friends for sure. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Isabel, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

New building and fresh furniture middle of istiklal street and also very came and quite area! Most comfortable pillows and bed ! Cheaper than chips best for value ! If I ever go to istanbul there is gonna be my second house !there is a only problem was cleaning but I think I wasn't alone so maybe they didn't want to disturb us u can give a go for try one of the best of this standarts

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The privacy of our guests is very important to us, therefore we ask housekeeping not to enter rooms if the guest is still relaxing in the room or has the do not disturb card on their door. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Istanbul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

As export manager I am used to spent my life in 5* hotels around the world. After one week in Hilton Istanbul Hotel for business I decided to spend my week-end near Istiklal Street (the best place of Istanbul)
Choosing my hotel with only 2 criterias : Location and the price.
But what was my surprised when stayed in that hotel. I was highly surprised by the good quality/price ratio of this Hotel de Charme far above my expectation.
Good service (smily and american spoken), clean and modern designed room, near a taxi center (which actually has to be the first criteria of selection when we know the difficult infrastructure of istanbul)
Really, I invite all people who want experiencing the legendary animation of Istanbul AND at the same time the quietness of a "Hotel de Charme" to see the pics and book there. Satisfaction guarantee

A mes amis francophones, je vous conseille vivement cet hôtel, trés bien situé car proche des rues animées et surtout d'une station de taxis (ce qui est un luxe à Istanbul...), un personnel souriant et à votre disposition et enfin des chambres design et trés calmes. En toute sincerité : un trés bon ratio qualité+++/prix---

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you at Lavanta Hotel again on your next visit to Turkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavanta Hotel

Address: Istiklal Cad. Suslu Saksi Sokak No: 17 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lavanta, Turkish for "Lavender," is an oasis of calmness and tranquility amidst the bustling city-center of Istanbul. Located in Istanbul's prime area, just off of Istanbul's renowned "Istiklal Street", the Hotel is in walking-distance to shops, malls, cafes, restaurants, bazaars and historic landmarks. Its cleanliness, modern simplicity and service-oriented personnel, will offer you a piece of mind and joy to return to after a long day in the city. *Located beside a Taxi stand, and close to all public transport (Taksim Metro 400m, Taksim Bus Station 150m - All major Bus Lines) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lavanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.