We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the cruise ships blocking the view of the Bosphorous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Modern Museum

Istanbul Modern Museum
Meclis-i Mebusan Caddesi | Liman Isletmeleri Sahasi Antrepo No: 4, Istanbul 34433 , Turkey
(90-212) 334 7300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #24 of 642 attractions in Istanbul
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Temporary and permanent exhibition halls, photography gallery, cinema hall, video art area and new media art area make up the platform that presents diverse forms of art that can be experienced at Istanbul Modern in addition to an arts library, a shop that combines design with art and its cafe and restaurant that offers its visitors a fantastic view of Istanbul.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pity about the cruise ships blocking the view of the Bosphorous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great art venue, nice cafe, pity about my view being the lifeboat of the massive cruise ship parked right outside. What a huge disappointment. At least the art was wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    247
    66
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Modern art set on the Bosphorus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are looking for a contrast to the ancient and traditional art that surrounds your every move in Istanbul then take the tramway over to the Istanbul Modern. The day I visited the museum it was completely dwarfed by the monstrous cruise ship parked along side but the ship could not overpower the art work inside. The current show, a retrospective of the museum's holdings was smartly filling all the galleries which have an excellent layout and flow. No crowds. No long lines. Easy to find from the land side but often hidden from the waterside because of the huge cruise ships. A refreshing setting for contemporary art—somewhat like dental floss for your eyes and mind. Makes the rest of Istanbul look all that much better. Combine your time here (at least 1.5 hours) with a trip up the hill to the SALT gallery on Istiklal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you like modern art, don't miss it (and the waterfront cafe's views...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Istanbul Modern Art Museum is a beautiful place. We began with a coffee on their terrace and what a view! The collection of modern art on display was excellent. An while some of Istanbul's main tourist attractions had enormous queues, we strolled right into the Modern and it was not too busy inside.
(a note about some of the bad reviews here - if you're looking for old European paintings, historical displays, etc, for goodness sake don't pick this museum - it is a modern art museum with a focus on Turkish artists.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely range of installations, photography and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Really great and extensive selection of art. Floating book installation outstanding and photography really insightful. Tasty restaurant attached for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“was told it wasn't worth it... very wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

all the tourist guide people in town told us not to visit, but i was determined. on my way there i ran into two architecture students from america and they told me it was in their top 5 modern museums. it was only 2 floors but i spent 2 hours there and had to rush through the end before closing time. there are a LOT of video rooms. there's art from all over the world but also includes some middle eastern artists and content that i wouldn't see in most modern art museums. as everyone says, the view out the back of the sea is to die for. i didn't have a chance to try the restaurant but it looks nice. also has a pretty nice gift store and some great handmade jewelry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Modern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Modern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Modern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Istanbul Modern Museum to your Saves list