We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of your trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahaus Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bahaus Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bahaus Guesthouse
Akbiyik Cadessi, Bayramfirin Sokak No 11 | No 11/13 , Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best part of your trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modernized, spacious, but still soulful and local in flavor. Beds had curtains, private lights and outlets. If I could have stayed extra time at Bahaus, I would have -- Tony made us feel like family. Sitting on the roof and drinking Efes/smoking shisha was a highlight. The hostel is young, mainly travelers, and my bf and I left with friends for life. It's 2 blocks to Arsata Bazaar and the Blue Mosque, free wifi, movie nights, tasty free breakfast. This is the perfect place to stay (and my bf laughs that a hostel was one of the best parts of learning Turkish culture). Felt like home!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    16
    17
    16
See reviews for
1
15
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived in November and 2 days earlier than my original booking through Hostelworld. Staff was very accomodating and kind. They gave me a better room than I originally had.

The location of this guesthouse is central and excellent for getting around to see all the sites.

I stayed in a shared room of 8 and it was full even in November but, all the travellers were very respectful and nice to meet.

Istanbul is a beautiful city and this hostel is a perfect place for a backpacker to stay when visiting. From this location, walk to all the main sites including Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Grand Bazaar, great restaurants, shopping etc. Tram is very close by as well.

Staying here made my trip very enjoyable, they have an event every night of the week. While I was there, we had free spaghetti, soup, belly dancing amongst other events.

Room Tip: If you want to get the fullest out of your stay and your visit in Istanbul, go in the summer months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The best location in the city, great rooms, clean bathroom with hot water, delicious breakfast and a bar at the rooftop that is the perfect spot for making new friends... What else would you want from a hostel?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

PERFECT. Clean, comfortable, amazing and comfortable beds, air conditioning, great atmosphere, great breakfast, awesome showers, and perfect location! If time permitted, I would have stayed extra nights just because I loved the hostel so much.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hostel and its staff are amazing. The hotel we were booking in cancelled our booking and did not contact us at all to let us know why so when we rocked up they had nothing for us. We came to the Bahaus at midnight hoping that they would be able to help us having been in earlier that day to drop off a friend. The staff were so understanding and helpful. They found us a room and were helpful with sorting out transfers and tours and even little things like where to get a good hair cut. Tony the fantastic guy on recption during the day even called ahead and organised a better deal for us. Wes at night gave us fantastic advice and was super helpful with moving between rooms and finding things like ATMs and the like. In the 4 months of travel I have not received service like this. the accomdation was clean and the beds had curtains, power points at each bed and also bedside storage. There is a bar on the roof to meet other travellers. As a whole this hostel and its staff were amazing from start to finish, from staff to facilities to knowledge and helpfulness.

10/10 would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Found this to be a great hostel, ideally located to the main tourist attractions.

Staff are extremely helpful with great recommendations on places to visit and eat. The younger Turkish guy on the front desk also was extremely helpful in giving me an idea of what things actually cost as a lot of places in Istanbul will try and overcharge people and rip them off.

The rooftop bar upstairs is a great way to meet people and I found that everyone who was staying here were friendly and nice. Also a great view up there to look over and have a couple of beers.

Rooms an bathrooms are good, the beds are comfortable. WIFI is pretty decent for a hostel and actually works in the room.

The place is quite affordable and defiantly worth the $$


M / 28 / AU

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaba, Skikda, Algeria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

fun,good view and great location, near to all the must see places.the staff were super helpful and friendly specially my man Tomay a great young man with a nice British accent.if i go back again to Istanbul i will book in this hostel,and i Recommend it for all the young people to who search for fun in Istanbul to stay in this one

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahaus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahaus Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cadessi, Bayramfirin Sokak No 11 | No 11/13 , Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bahaus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahaus Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahaus Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.