We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taxim Hotel Marin

Taxim Hotel Marin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Taxim Hotel Marin to your Saves list
Taxim Hotel Marin
Atif Yilmaz Cad. Suslusaksi Sok.No:21 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is very close to the main istiklal street and to the metro station, the staff is very helpful and comprehensive, and the rooms are clean and well decorated. Definitely recommend for budget travellers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was near everything. Owner and staff very helpful. Hotel is clean, quite small but nice. Breakfast was quite normal turkish breakfast, nothing extraordinary but okey, but Istanbul is full of nice restaurants so no problem to walk 5 min and have nice village breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed from January 18 -22
Location: Great location, plenty of bars ,restaurants ,cafes. Easy walk to old town and to the ferries.
Hotel: very nice hotel we had no problem except the internet connectivity. We were told to restart the modem but the connection dropped every time when more than 2 device was trying to connect at the same time. The breakfast area is very small which can be bothersome as well. Tables are very close to each other and the front desk is right on the top of everything.
Room: Room was good faced for a small street which was a bit noisy at night time but noting serious. we stayed in 302 which was good enough for 4 adults

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Ris, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel which just open about 5 months ago but the rooms are large. I booked 2 rooms - 1 dbl & 1 triple. Double room has extra sofa bed. Large area with extra sink next to wardrobe. Breakfast is weak but there's a number of small eateries next to hotel. Walk out of hotel turn right & you're already there at Taksim Shopping area abt 1 min walk. Hotel is near to train station to get to nearby Bosphorus cruise ferry terminal. Lift in hotel is very small & one have to walk up the stairs before reaching lift landing. Overall it is still a good hotel & value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have been staying over in this city as we travel via TA and usually select the same hotel in the historic Sultanahmet neighborhood that is very touristy ( predictably).This time we wanted to experience the local flavors and selected this hotel located one street off of the busy Istikal street close to Taksim sq in the heart of commercial Istanbul. And, we got what we were looking for. The hotel feels like a small apartment house or b&b with staff that is very helpful and nice. The owner is present most of the time and is also very willing to step in and help with any questions we had.
The room we got was a large studio apartment with fridge, kitchen sink, built in storage cabinets, sofa and the highlight a sitting area in an alcove looking out to he street below with a Turkish reading lamp. We spent hours reading in this alcove and watching the rare snow fall and lightning at the same time. This really felt like our apartment in Istanbul.
The place is clean and the breakfast is typical Turkish fare, not great but ok; hard boiled eggs, cheeses, olives, French bread, some cold cuts, some sweets and coffee from an automatic
machine. The bathroom is small but had all the amenities,even a towel warmer.Unfortunately when wanted to take a shower, we got only cold water on the morning of our checkout when we had to get ready or the plane.
The street and surrounding neighborhood is interesting...restaurants, small stores, tattoo parlors, while overall quieter since there is no car traffic on the street it is seemingly a hangout for young people( mostly men)throughout the night.The street is also difficult to find by cab. We were dropped off at the end of the street and our cabbie helped with our heavy luggage, otherwise it would have been difficult to get to the hotel.
Taksim square is close enough and from there it is easy to get to the funicular then transfer to a tram and get to Sultanahmet in 20 minutes for $3.0 instead of $ 25-30 by taxi.
We loved the experience( honestly there is not much to see on this side of Istanbul) , that we were not in a touristy area, that we interacted with wonderful Turkish people, found many good restaurant choices and the prices were better than in the tourist district. In the hotel guests were from different European countries and Turkey.Even a few questionable occurances in the hotel did not take away from us enjoying the exact experience we were looking for ;the owner yelling and firing someone in front of us, then coming to our room and ask that I take a comforter off my husband in bed and give it to him since we were not supposed to have two in the room...almost forgot....the comforter provided was not big enough to cover two persons, it barely covered the bed.
This hotel was great for us, but it probably isn't for the traveller who is looking for more familiarity to home, who may feel uncomfortable with darkened streets with groups of men standing around, with little local restaurants feeding one or two customers( mostly men), people not speaking english and the many cats wondering around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Istanbul seems to be my favourite destination when it comes for shopping. And this hotel ia in the heart of the city from where you are close to everything.

The staff was very helpful , and the owner Yusuf was there to help you with any question you had.

The room was big enough (we were 4 persons and still was enough room for one more)

Bathroom was big and you had anything you need.

Whats more important it is a VERY CLEAN hotel.

Breakfast was okay , delicious but not a huge variety.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugla, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The room was comfortable, a little warm as is common in Turkey but the aircon remedied that. The staff were very welcoming without being intrusive especially when I came back from dinner the night manager, Cüneyt kindly made me tea, with biscuits etc. A generous Turkish breakfast was included. Bed very comfortable. In a busy back street but no noise (my room was at the back).There are several simple Turkish restaurants near by, 3 mins walk to istikel Caddesi, a further to Taksim square. As previously mentioned taxis may struggle but tell them near to Tarlabaşı bus stop, it's just a road back from main road. As a female traveling alone I felt very safe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taxim Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxim Hotel Marin

Address: Atif Yilmaz Cad. Suslusaksi Sok.No:21 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taxim Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taxim Hotel Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.