We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is worth inconveniences.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Pera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Marmara Pera Hotel to your Saves list
The Marmara Pera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“View is worth inconveniences.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

So my review echoes others. The shortcomings are the following.

1) customer service is pretty poor
2) rooftop bar is fairly expensive (however if this view was a similar one in the states the prices would be similar)
3) its location is ok. It's a 20 minute walk to taksim which is here you want to be. Otherwise it's a 10 min walk to begolyu.

However the view from the roof of this hotel makes it all worthwhile. It's phenomenal. Probably the best in the city since it's the highest building in the area. Forget the galata tower. This view is over that tower and you don't have to fight the crowds. We got a really good rate for this and between that and the view it's with it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    303
    111
    43
    25
See reviews for
89
227
55
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Read the reviews and am happy to report I had a great short stay. Location is fantastic for walking around and even getting there by taxi (as there's a taxi stand across the street too). Just found it to be a good jumping off spot and the views (if you get one) across the Bosphorus are terrific. Even if your room doesn't face it go up to the rooftop (although they could use some service up there during the day and by the pool (not even a phone to call for service). The room was well appointed albeit small but served it's purpose and who wants to spend the day inside. The bathroom also well appointed and yet small but fine for 1 or 2. The breakfast brunch was decent and plentiful- not amazing but good start to the day. And overall I found the staff- front desk and doormen- quite informed and helpful with details. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floor- pera club floors are the top 3- and facing the sea if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Marmara Pera for 4 nights prior to a Windstar cruise. This modern hotel is located in a great position handy to everything, and our room had views of the Golden Horn. However, the room was very small with limited storage space. The bathroom was tiny and the shower impossible, resulting in flooding each time it was used.
The reception staff was efficient enough without being welcoming.Don't expect your drinks in the mini bar to be cold, in fact heat is generated when the door is opened. The three mentions of this to staff resulted in fairly off hand responses and no results. As other guests experienced the same issue, perhaps the 'fridge' is simply a storage cupboard.The best feature of the hotel, was the roof top bar. You cannot dine up there, but having a drink sunset over the Sea of Marmarawas very pleasant.
Bar prices are pretty steep, but breakfast very good and wait staff pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Might pay to check bathroom size and set up, BYO if looking for cold drinks in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Marmara Pera for 4 nights. From the beginning, the service left something to be desired. The reception staff (with the exception of a gentleman named Mehmet) was brusque, prickly and stand-offish. They were not very helpful, for example, with recommendations for restaurants or for anything having to do with making the stay more comfortable. It's also interesting that others noted the towels in the bathroom issue. I too had a great deal of trouble getting fresh towels each day for some reason.

The hotel itself is decent, but not what one would really consider 4-star. Then again, I think most hotels in Turkey are one star removed from what their advertising suggests. Amenities are basic. The pool is minuscule but probably good enough for a dip (when I was there in late September--it was too cold to swim and the hotel staff hadn't yet turned on the heat for some reason). The gym is some Turkish artist's rendition of what an actual gym looks like but is in fact somewhat usable. The best feature of the hotel by far is the rooftop bar, which has truly amazing views. Then again, I would remind travelers that you don't need to stay in this hotel in order to experience its rooftop bar.

In conclusion, if you're looking for a very basic hotel and you understand in advance that the service is pretty mediocre at best and unfriendly in most normal times, this is a decent choice. I have to believe that there are better options elsewhere in Istanbul though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was set up by our cruise line, Wind Star. We were here for two nights as part of a post trip. It served its purpose well.

This is a modern hotel, 17 stories high which meant great views if you were on the upper floors. We were on the 9th floor overlooking the Golden Horn and the Sea of Marmara in the distance. But we could also see Sultan Ahmed Mosque off in the distance.

The service staff was professional. We didn't have a lot of problems communicating in English. It appeared that this was a hotel of choice for a number of cruise lines. The majority of guests I saw appeared to be tourists.

The rooms are well appointed with the typical amenities; TV, computer slots, desk, easy chair, etc. I liked that the windows cantilever out so you could get fresh air. The bathroom was a good size although I didn't like the entry door. The doors were more like cabinet doors. You pushed them into place, no door knob. I have never see that in a hotel. If they were trying to save space a pocket door would have made more sense.

The hotel is one block off the pedestrian friendly Istiklel Avenue where you have everything from Starbucks and Fatburger (complete with a roof top dining area) to the more traditional Turkish restaurants. A great place for a stroll with some street entertainers along the way.

Galata Tower was a 10 minute walk away. The Spice Bazaar took us half an hour to walk to (down hill) so we took a cab back after making our purchases. There is a museum nearby although we did not visit.

The best feature of the hotel, however, was the roof top bar. At sunset, the place is packed. You can only get a bowl of nuts so don't expect to dine up there, but having a drink as the sun disappears over the Sea of Marmara is definitely worth the price of admission.

Room Tip: Any room above the 8th floor probably has a view. Facing the Bosporus or Sea of Marmara is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Average size room with big window. Very, very comfortable beds. Unfortunately we got a room that was detached with another room so there was a door between our rooms that was not soundproof. Woke up 05.30 our first morning as our american neighbors got home from a night out. They where just talkative and happy but we woke up and could hear everything they said.
The roof terrace has an amazing view and a nice bar, quite expensive though. (Mojito 36 t lira) Bonus is the pool but there is no sun at the pool in the afternoon but still nice.
The cleaning lady does not understand english and we had some troubles getting new towels. The service is something they need to improve. Our rooms were not ready at check in time. Just to get a coffee at the pool that we ordered took more than 30 min. The cleaning lady just made the beds, nothing else. She did not remove dirty plates that we got baklava on the first day.
Overall a nice hotel with excellent beds and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Located in a very trendy little area just 5 minutes from Istiklal Cadessi. Really enjoy the side streets off Istiklal. Lots of little boutiques and restaurants less touristy. Bohemian locals can be seen having drinks etc.
Room was very small, compact with everything you need. Great view of the city and water.
The rooftop bar and swimming pool is a must. After work some young and trendy locals come for drinks at the rooftop bar.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#179 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#203 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#218 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Pera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.