We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, all the basics right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Pera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marmara Pera Hotel to your Saves list
The Marmara Pera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, all the basics right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I spent a week here in the heart of Istanbul and found this hotel to be in easy walking distance of all the major sights, although being at the top of the hill makes it a bit of a climb. The staff a very polite &helpful and the breakfast buffet is really good. The view from the roof terrace on the 18th floor is spectacular over the whole of the European part of Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

It is always a pleasure for us to assist you during your stay and afterwards by using each and every chance we have.

Anyhow, the best part is welcoming you back in our property for one more lifetime experience!


Many Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    327
    117
    48
    29
See reviews for
97
250
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a typical city hotel, with average size cozy and modern rooms (at least the one I stayed in), which provide all kind of comforts that you expect from a hotel of this standard. What I liked very much is the glass wall with a fantastic view over the Golden Horn.
I read in other reviews people complaining about the noise: of course, being in the centre of Taksim, if you keep windows open you hear the noise of traffic or of weekenders. But this is normal if you want to be located in the centre of action. You can simply close the window and the A/C system is very effective.
Front desk staff is very kind and helpful, even though they have improvement margins in handling groups check-in (too long waiting time).
Certainly, one reason to stay in this hotel is the fantastic bar on the 17th floor, what for a view!!!
And if you wish to try an innovative cuisine, restaurant Mikla is there for you, but make sure to book well ahead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent detailed and perfect feedback following your recent stay.
It is always rewarding to read such a comment.

Once again thank you very much for your comment and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact me directly at bsutuna@themarmarahotels.com for your future reservation.


Best Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, rooms are not spacious but that’s goes to all hotels in this city. The rooms were very well equipped and clean.
Although my reservation indicated that we required a room in higher floors we were given a room in lower floor that was just horrible, we could not even open the curtains because this will expose us to anyone in the street we felt exposed.
We spoke to several gentlemen in the reception and our concern was not addressed at all.
Thanks to Front Office Supervisor Gozde Guzunler who managed to solve our problem the next day with a positive attitude and a beautiful smile our short stay was a pleasant one

the view from the second room was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed and great feedback. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our hotel and team members especially for Gözde Güzünler. I have shared with The Marmara Pera team members and your comment was especially motivating us.

Our hotel has a very good position as a view and all our guests say about the satisfaction of our hotel location.

I hope to welcome you back at any time to provide you with the finest hospitality at The Marmara Pera.


Kind Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This could be the only hotel that I am not in love with, but I would certainly go again and recommend it to others, and even rate it as excellent. Sounds weird?

In Istanbul, you do not need to think much when choosing a hotel. All you need is a safe, relaxing place to sleep, and most important the (LOCATION)! The Marmara Pera is stratigecally located on Istiklal (but without the Istiklal noise). It is the best hotel to use as your base for exploring Istanbul. I loved and enjoyed the Hilton in Istanbul, but I would choose the Marmara Pera over the Hilton.

The Marmara Pera rooms are very small (the only disadvantage), but who cares when the majority of our time is spent in nearby attractions? They also serve beautiful breakfast! The room also has a small corner window (with good views of the bosphorus).

There is another Marmara hotel beside Taksim Square, but the Marmara Pera is more convinient, it is less than one minute walk to Istiklal, closer to Galata Tower, closer to Ataturk and Galata bridges, and closer to everything, it is in the center of everything!

This hotel is always busy, or very busy! Staff are very friendly, energetic, and helpful and will do everything and anything to make you happy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed and great feedback. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our hotel services. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important for us. I have shared with The Marmara Pera team members and your review was especially motivating us.

Our hotel has a very good position as a view and all our guests say about the satisfaction of our hotel location and staff.

We will surely be very happy to welcome you back, ensuring that you will be well looked after. Please contact me directly at bsutuna@themarmarahotels.com for your future reservations.


Best Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a meeting with 50 people incl. accomodation in Marmara Pera, and enjoyed our stay a lot. Food was great, the rooftop bar is awesome and our meeting went very well. Special thanks also to Özgür Gelem from Banquets who always had an open ear for all our requests!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our hotel and team members. We always appreciate it when one of our outstanding team members << His name is Özgür Çelem >> is mentioned by our guests.

I hope to welcome you back at any time to provide you with the finest hospitality at The Marmara Pera...

Many Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Location is unbeatable. Hotels needs updating. Roof top bar unbeatable and a must do. Prices for drinks are very high but worth the view. Great for Windstar people, but book yourself for best deal. Check out the small streets for great food

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated centrally in the Beyoglu district, close to the main attractions at the European side of Istanbul, this modern hotel is q good choice for a week-end visit or for business. A nice restaurant, and a fabulous view from the Mikla roof bar are the main attractions, but the hotel itself provides a good sleep in a professional but still friendly athmosphere.

Room Tip: Avoid the lowest floors, this hotel offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#196 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#198 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#210 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Pera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.