We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, boutique hotel. A bit hard to find.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daphne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Daphne Hotel to your Saves list
Daphne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No 14, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, boutique hotel. A bit hard to find.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a nice little hotel. Walking distance to blue mosque and hagia sofia. Staff was very kind and helpful. The wi-fi worked in the room (always a big deal in europe), The only problem was the hotel was a bit hard to find.

Room Tip: No fitness center/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    145
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
78
173
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Daphne Hotel is in an ideal location to explore the old city Of Istanbul. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The shuttle trips to and from the airport were easy to arrange with the staff. The rooms while small are very adequate and the Terrace on the top of the building has an amazing view. A great place to sit and watch boats and listen to the sounds of the city. I highly recommend this hotel. It has charm and value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It falls short in ALL other areas. Prospective guests, beware. The place looks nice. I give the hotel some credit to having nice interior design. It's a bit cheesy, but made to help westerners who like familiar surroundings feel at home. I'm not one of those, but I am in interior designer, so do read into these things.

So, I stayed here during my second trip to Istanbul based on the positive views on trip advisor. The only thing good about my stay was it was short. There are too many things wrong with the place, but in a nutshell... The staff doesn't speak much English and it makes it hard to communicate about basic things like... " I don't want room service." or "where can I buy contact solution?". Most Turkish plp are warm and go out of their way to help even if they don't speak English, but the staff here sometimes seem to be irritable that they're bothered. Also, the housekeeper is a middle aged man who kept hitting on me, which is why I requested no room service. Other than that the room was really dirty and uncomfortable .... The following are just a few of the issues:

- Trash from last guest was still in the room
- Floors were dirty
- Sheets, bed covering, and towels were stained with some weird brown and white stains. Eww. Don't even want to start to guess at what it was.
- The wardrobe, coffee table, and floors had some sort of sticky substance dried up on it... Prolly some sort of fruit juice spilled along that corner of the room, but shows how housekeeping didn't clean the room properly.
- A lot of the toiletries were missing or partly used
- The A/C was temperamental and very loud, which is a big con during the summer. Thanks god it cooled down at night.
- The bed was saggy and pillows were lumpy

I would have bothered to change my room, but I got the sense from another guest that their room was also in a similar state. I would never stay here again and cannot recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On our way to a conference in India, my wife and I chose to extend the trip by a weekend stop in Istanbul. Having no idea where to stay, Hotel Daphne was recommended and we were pleased with the suggestion. The room was fantastic, clean, and well equipped with a fabulous view. We were within easy walking distance to most everything on the tourist's list of great things to see and the hotel was easy to find when returning. To add to the positive experience, the staff were great and the breakfast was tasty and healthy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located, comfortable and clean. Would have preferred an ironing board with an iron in the room. The staff at the hotel were kind and helpful, would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher room have a good view, Room 205 is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked 3 nights for Hotel Daphne - Special Class, but when I arrived to Hotel they said they do not have room available and they want me to transfer to their sister hotel which was very low class hotel. So when you make reservation with Hotel Daphne you should be experiencing to transfer different hotel such as what they call sister/brother/mother/father etc. hotel. Also their front desk was horrible and I couldn’t find anyone to make complain. So I would not recommend Hotel Daphne to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went there last week with my family.We had a family room at Hotel Daphne.İt is big room and we felt like a big flat but it is not flat.You feel yourself like a mystic place.People who are work there , they really want to be helpful us.The rooms are so clean and you can find what you want , clean place big room very good and delicious foods breakfest and dinner.Also very noce seaview i think it is the best seaview at terrace bar.Enjoyable place , people who go istanbul , they have to stay at Hotel Daphne .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daphne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daphne Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No 14, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#178 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daphne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Daphne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daphne Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daphne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.