We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Peninsula to your Saves list
Hotel Peninsula
Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6- Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a great time, the hotel is clean, secure, and located within walking distance of many attractions, as well as public transport. The staff were all very helpful and provided us with good information regarding the best ways to accomplish our itinerary. We stayed in the single 4th floor room, and basically had our own private balcony overlooking the Bosphorus. The only downside was spotty WiFi up there, but really that is not a big deal. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor room, apart from WiFi signal, afforded amazing views, and easy access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    206
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
285
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Peninsula was recommended to us by friends who stayed there a couple of years ago and is well located being just a few minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and the Metro station. The rooms are a reasonable size, comfortable and clean - everything works! The breakfast is simple but sufficient and can be taken on the rooftop terrace which has good views. The staff are friendly and helpful and Zeki was an excellent host. We'll certainly recommend the hotel to friends who are visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303 at the back of the hotel on the second floor. While it didn't have an inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who stayed there the previous year and they were right on the money friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. If you don't know Istanbull this is a good place to start ,the location is right in the hart of the old quarter in one of the best streets full of restaurants,a two minute walk to the old palace and about the same to the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofya, Grand Bazaar and spice markets around a 15 to 20 minute strolle through streets full of Turkish light and rug shops and you name it.
Hotel Peninsula Rooms are modest but very clean and tidy,there is a nice rooftop terrace where breakfast was served as part of our stay. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I like the Pensinsula. It has a great location, is well maintained, inexpensive and has charming and helpful staff. I stayed two nights, enjoyed their well organised transfers to and from the Airport and a decent breakfast with a lovely view in the morning. It's not luxury but for EUR 55 a night at the heart of one of the most fascinating cities in the world - what more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely tastefully decorated rooms, a delicious breakfast each day, great location in the old city and friendly helpful staff. What more can you ask for? The view of the Bospherous from the top floor is amazing and invites you to linger.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I along with two friends spent 3 nights at Hotel Peninsula in early October and we had a great time. The place is located right in the heart of Old Town Istanbul which made getting to the major attractions just a short walk from the hotel. It's small, almost like a B&B. The nightly rate was very reasonable and they arranged pick-up and drop off to the airport. Each morning they provided a wonderful breakfast. The owner Zeki was very helpful in providing us info on what to see and where to eat. If you are going to Istanbul for sightseeing, give this place a serious look.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in Hotel Peninsula. The room is kept very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is close to all the places of interest, restaurants and the tram. The top balcony has a beautiful view of the Bosphorus especially at night. Breakfast is good. We will certainly return to this hotel if we visit Istanbul again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor as it has a fantastic view of the Bosphorus through the bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6- Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#100 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#121 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.