We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better place at same price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riva Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riva Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aydede Caddesi 8 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #475 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can find better place at same price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stay there for work and holiday. It is clean, nice hotel which is close to Taksim Square and Metro station. BUT there is no internet connection at 7th Floor, at loby router needs to restart every 5 min. Room was too small and while you are having your breakfast, if time close to 10:00 they are starting to collect everything. I have better experiences at İstanbul and i can say that you can find better place same price or less and better conditions.

Room Tip: Do not stay at room 05 of any flat. 09 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
14
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First of all the location was perfect,convenient and near to the Taksim sq where you can use the metro for everywhere,just 4-5 minutes to Taksim sq.
The rooms were really clean,although they could be a little bigger but they were ok.
The breakfast was good,of course there could more warm choices for breakfast
The staff were helpful and kind.
I had lunch there only once and it was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Hotel is located in Taksim which is the centre of Modern Istanbul. There are a lot of restaurants in the vicinity. The room rate is decent and the rooms are well kept. Actually the rooms in all hotels in Taksim are small .. this is a good place when the room size comes in the picture.
The restaurant gives a decent buffet breakfast and the rooftop eating area is a nice place to sit and eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

we stayed in hotel Riva for a week.
Location: it is located just 5 min walk from Taksim square in Istanbul. you can take bus or metro from Taksim square to get all over Istanbul. also you can easily go to "Istiklal" and "Omidzade" streets!
Services: our room was small but very clean and comfortable. the staffs were helpful.
The breakfast was delicious! egg, fresh bread, fruit juice, meet, ... we didn't eat in restaurant. no idea about that!
In all it was very good and I'll back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed here for a 4 night stay. On arrival I stayed for an hour waitng to find a room, although ther had been a prior reservation. They gave me a room for my friend who was supposed to come later on another plane ( he stayed for around 6 hours waitng after that to find a room) & they didn't tell me that I'm taking his room ofcourse, all of this was because the hotel is fully booked.
As for the room its around 6 square meters in total. The weather was hot & I tried to fix the A/C in the room but they told me that its working !! I had to stay in the shower most the time in the morning times when i was in the room & can't tell u about the nights there in that hot weather !
Reagrding the only positive thing about that hotel it was its location , 2 mins. walking from Taksim square & Istiklal street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I really didn't like this hotel overall for a lot of reasons:

1- The air conditioner was really bad and not working at all in our room, although numerous complaints were delivered to the hotel staff members with no effective response, it is not nice at all to stay in such a hot weather with no AC at all, this is torture!!
2-The hotel staff members are really slow at responding back to requests and in their service, and sometimes they panick or forget what they were asked to do. Also, they aren't friendly and not smiling at all, which delivers a negative message that they aren't hostpitable
3-The triple room i stayed in with my friends seems to have been originally a double room and was then just customized to be a triple one by adding an extra bed, which is horrible and the room was too small!!. Even they haven't added extra facilities in the room for a third person, for example, the closet is too small, and it can only carry stuff for one person!!
4-The breakfast items were ok but with no varities at all, same items each day. Also, when some items run out and need to be re-filled, the waiters do not really notice this and sometimes they ignore checking

Positive point:
1-Great location near Taksim square and Istiklal street

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel ideal if you need to be next to Taksim Square...........I was took to Istanbul as a surprise from my mum,we stayed at the Riva for 3 nights.The breakfasts were lovely but as one of the other reviewers said smoking is allowed in the breakfast room, although a smoker i went outside but others were smoking while folks were eating....plenty of food to chose from and as much as you want.The bedrooms were typical hotel rooms,nothingspecial but clean.................The hotel does look a bit old and in need of a spruce up but otherwise helpful staff and good food means i would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Hotel

Address: Aydede Caddesi 8 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.