We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hilarium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hilarium Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hilarium Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katip Kasim Mah. Fabrika Sok. No 5 | Yenikapi, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #491 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
“5 days trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in here in november. The location of the hotel is very good - near the tram station and the historical center. The rooms are clear but the equipment was little bit old and deficient. The walls are very thin, and the guests were a little bit too noisy :-( The stuff was ok. The breakfast was good and enough. We were there only at nights so it was ok.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
26
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

If you are looking to stay in an affordable 4 stars which close by to all amenities and touristic spots in Istanbul then Grand Hilarium is a good choice.
The staff are very friendly especially GAMZA,
She would do her best to serve guests the best.
The hotel is old already and their buffet breakfast is average for a quick bite before you take off for a tour.
You can take a walk from the hotel to grand bazaar and other close by sites.
Many touristic tours pick you up from the hotel itself for your desired tour.
The hotel best quality is the team, the area itself is accessible to everything but I'd still say taksim is better.

Room Tip: high floors some of the rooms have some humble jaccuzzis
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

For a 4 star hotel‚ Grand Hillarium defenitly cannot be a right choice...!
The room we were in 512 & 513 was so tiny that its diff. to move around for 2 person at a time. Air condition was very poor, for 2 nights we have to sleep without AC and toilet fan were both out of order. Our room no. 513 was alloted with double bed but size of bed was too small to accomodate couple...!

But there are something good about this hotel: accecibility to Metro - M2 line just cross the street & Metro from airport Ataturk is just few min. walk and tram after 5 minutes walk ‚were two advantages you cannot ignore. if you stay in this hotel you can explore soltan ahmad‚ bosphor‚ taksim‚ chavahir‚ forum‚ night street bazar easily We were there 5 nights in October for business trip.

I must say manager Hasan & his night manager both were very helpful and friendly (omar & gamze)..!
Room Service was poor, but when we returned in evening room were always cleaned...! but quality of toileteries (shower Gel, shampoo & conditioner they had used were very very poor...!

I must say, if anyone is planning to visit Istanbul, location is very very good...! u can find everything nearby...!
Best this about Istanbul and hotel location, is you can roam in istanbul full of fearless and major shops are open till midnight...!
Infact, all mosque and tourist places are open till 12 midnight...! that's the beauty...!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis Governorate, Tunisia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stay one week in this hotel fore my honny moon the rooms are fine, the evening when we returned the room was always done. Breakfast was varied, it was very good. The super friendly staff like omar and gamze in the recéption . The location is ideal for visiting Istanbul ...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This hotel was booked for us by a travel agent. The hotel was clean and the room was fine, as was the bathroom, but the breakfast was terrible. The scrambled eggs were in a dish and floating in water, the fried eggs were one solid lump of about 18. We ended up with nothing to eat as the bread was hard. This was a shame as there was nothing wrong with the hotel.

Room Tip: Just book a room, don't have breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

If you expect to see a big and decorated lobby when you first step into a 4 star hotel‚ Grand Hillarium defenitly cannot be a right choice. In addition to that ‚ its location in a crowded and not very clean area may not be satisfactory for some guests. The room we had was so tiny that I hadn't experienced before. The window was small and air condition and toilet fan were both out of order. It wasn't nice really to stay in during the day‚ that was why we always planned to return late at nights straight to bed. Any way‚ I am better stop complaining and look at the bright site ‚ there was actually something good about this hotel: accecibility to M2 line just cross the street and tram after 5 minutes walk ‚were two advantages you cannot ignore. So if you stay in this hotel you can explore soltan ahmad‚ bosphor‚ taksim‚ chavahir‚ forum‚ night street bazar easily so basically you don't need to stay in the hotel during the day:) just take care when you talk to people in the street and street vendors some of them are really unaware of a phenomenon called politness and respect to tourists!
P.s I was there 3 nights in October

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Out two night stay was good. The only problem was that the safe was locked and we could not use it. We had asked someone to fix it but no one did. The place was clean and reasonable. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast and the ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hilarium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hilarium Hotel

Address: Katip Kasim Mah. Fabrika Sok. No 5 | Yenikapi, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#118 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#219 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#264 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hilarium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hilarium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hilarium Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hilarium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.