We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not find a bad thing to say!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheers Lighthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cheers Lighthouse to your Saves list
Cheers Lighthouse
Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cayiroglu Sok. No:16 | Sultanahmet /Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not find a bad thing to say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place was wonderful, staff, location and overall experience. I actually believe this place made my trip to Istanbul as I was a little intimidated by the city but was right at home here with my girlfriend. Thank you so much to Onour and your staff for making my stay so enjoyable! 5 star experience. From Jordan and Rebecca

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
28
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hostel doesn't feel like a hostel at all- more like boutique accommodation - we stayed in a four person room and were surprised by how much it felt like a hotel with its sea views and intimate settings- the place is going through renovations at the moment but the staff particularly Yavuz was very apologetic and went out of their way to make us feel more comfortable because of it. The view from the breakfast area is quite stunning with the water. The staff were hilarious always up for a laugh including the night staff too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

very nice place in the touristic heart of Istanbul. the location is absolutely brilliant to explore the major attractions but make sure to also take trips to other, less touristy, areas of Istanbul. the rooms to the sea have stunning views and even the railway that passes between the hostel and the sea wasn’t too disturbing since there were no trains during the night. good breakfast which can be enjoyed on the terrace of the downstairs restaurant. very friendly staff who were always eager to provide you with everything you needed for a great stay in Istanbul. the place is extremely good value for money as it has most of the amenities of a hotel but for hostel prices. definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice, clean, cheap hostel with friendly and generous staff very willing to give advice or tell you about cool things nearby.
Other guests also v friendly, in contrast to other hostels i have been in. Would highly recommend for both solo travellers and those in groups. Couples' rooms very chic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well located, small hostel with Marmara sea view. Very friendly staff, Turkish breakfast on the terrace, large double bedroom, clean, good bed.
A good starting point for seeing the sights in Sultanahmet.
Unfortunately, at the time of our stay was a small construction in the hostel, but it is also necessary so that the reception and bar may arise. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacktown, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I just came back from my trip in Istanbul and can safely say that I couldn't have picked a better hostel. Not only are the rooms comfortable and new but the staff is absolutely fantastic and nothing is too much for them to make you feel at home. The location is perfect to explore Istanbul's main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the lighthouse during the middle of July and i was so happy i chose this. The rooms were decked out in a really cool theme and i felt like i stepped into the Sultans apartments hahah! I am a seasoned traveller and I don't shy away from this statement.
The accomodation was very clean, the view from the window was superb and the staff (Onur,Tariq,Hasan and Samet went right out of their way to help me in my exploits in the big city.
I will come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheers Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Lighthouse

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cayiroglu Sok. No:16 | Sultanahmet /Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Cheers Lighthouse, the outcast of the Bohemian Cheers Hostel family. Lighthouse is for the more luxurious backpacker. Complete with ocean views and situated above a restaurant, Lighthouse has all the comforts for a relaxing stay but with the Cheers infamous friendly relaxed atmosphere.Our hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Cheers Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheers Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.