We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for all the key sights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Empire Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Empire Palace to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hudavendigar Cad. No:17 / 19 | Hocapasa Mah. - Sirkeci/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #227 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Essex UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location for all the key sights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was right where you needed to be to access key attractions, restaurants and trams.

Our room (103) was not good! It was very small and lacked storage space for more than a one night stay.
The decor was very tired.

The beds -we booked a double and got two singles- were very comfortable and there was a pillow menu . Tea and coffee making was adequate.

The breakfast was reasonable in quality and quantity.
The staff were helpful and friendly.

All in all fine to stay in if you just want to sleep there but no luxury can be expected.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 103!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    260
    77
    15
    12
See reviews for
145
251
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is on the Metro/tram route and is half way between Topkapi Palace and the ferry terminal. It is an easy walk to both places though and thus ideally situated for a city break.

The rooms are of a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. We had a room overlooking the main road on the first floor so were concerned about noise...it turned out to be unfounded. Only trams are allowed on this part of the street and there are no restaurants opposite to make a noise.

The hotel restaurant and bar was closed when we visited but in the street behind is all the choice you could possibly want.

The breakfast roof restaurant offered an excellent choice.

Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Firstly, the location if you are visiting Istanbul for the first time, as we did, is excellent. It is a brief walk to Topkapi Palace, and a little further to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel, including one which was rated the number one on trip advisor at the time we were there. We walked across the bridge on one day to the modern part of the city, which was a bit of a walk, but a lovely way to spend a day. We spent five nights in the hotel as part of a BA holiday and it was fantastic value. The staff were really helpful, polite and friendly from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was brilliant, with lots of choice. Sitting on the top floor and looking out was great, although a lot of places seem to have this idea, so you do see a lot of other rooftop restaurants as part of the view! Our room was quiet small but furnished very nicely. There are seats out on the street to sit on and have a drink and watch the world go by. If you are looking for value for money and good service, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I just came back from Istanbul where we stayed in this hotel.
4-nights in this hotel were great. Location is (I think) the best possible for a turist - it is in walking distance to all major attractions & sea. It is surrounded with good restaurants as well.
We booked a shuttle service from and back to an airport (Ataturk) - the man was waiting for us, and no problem there what so ever. (by the way - I thing you can get cheaper ways but when first time in this BIIIG city with a child....I thing this is the best way)
The staff in a hotel is first class. Always on disposal and ready to help you.
Hotel is small - cca 35 rooms. It is my first time to stay in a small hotel, but I really have no complaints.
Rooms - not to big, but we stayed in smaller in other hotels. Well furnished in turkish style, actually the whole hotel is in the same style and I most prefer hotels like that. To "smell" the country - culture they are in. Rooms clean. Tv, fridge, coffe maker all working great. Nice bathroom in nice "Empire" style. Matreses and pillows like new - really pleasent sleep.
Breakfast room is on the top floor with a great view all around - Blue Mosque - Beyoglu etc. Breakfast was ok. Enough foods, but variety maybe a bit small...It is a small hotel and they have to make compromises I thing. I would not mind to have bigger variety of dishes...but ok...
For some people maybe it would be a bit noisy - tram passing all the time, but it did not bother us.
Unfortunately I did not have time to try their turkish bath.
Check in and out was quick and with no problems.

Yes - I think I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Better rooms are those not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had to cancel my booking while I was staying at the hotel for personal reasons. The hotel staff (Ibrahim and co) were really understanding and helpful, and did not charge for the nights I did not use. Really appreciate that (it's not cheap) ! The hotel was great - lived up to all the good comments here. We had a room on the 5th floor, so it was relatively quiet. Bit small, but there were three beds in there - and this is in the crowded old city Sultanhamet. Great location for walking out. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with a superb view over the city.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the street is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I endorse recent reviewers’ comments – RD825 has got it about right. Excellent location, friendly staff, high standard of cleanliness. The rooms are small and only have room for one armchair so not a place to while away an afternoon and the rooms aren’t made up until mid-late afternoon. The terrace restaurant was closed apart for breakfast when there’s a hot and cold buffet of reasonable standard.

Probably not very convenient for a business stay - wifi issues and no room for a desk but for a short city-break stay it was good – especially the location and we’ll stay here again if we come back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

1. as it was pretty cold, we had a couple of teas that were provided in the room on our arrival. The teas had not been topped up after consumption.
2. The was the time change and we weren't sure if our telephones were going to synchronise automatically, therefore we asked the reception to give us a call in the morning at 9, since we had made plans for the day. The reception called us one hour later - unreliable. (thank God our phones set themselves and alarm woke us up).
3. We had to pay 5TL for Orange juice (freshly squeezed), otherwise an alternative was a orange syrup with water - real bad!

Overall the staff was very friendly including the cleaner and the masseuse (Bless HER!)
Great location, good connection, restaurants and shops all around. Good value for the money. Would recommend.

Room Tip: our room on the fifth floor did not have balcony and there wasn't much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Empire Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Empire Palace

Address: Hudavendigar Cad. No:17 / 19 | Hocapasa Mah. - Sirkeci/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#175 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Empire Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On February 11th 2008 at the annual meeting of Best Western Turkey, Best Western Empire Palace Hotel became the proud owner of the award "Highest Quality Hotel Award 2007". Best Western International recognized the hotel as the best Best Western Hotel in Turkey on base of regular quality assessments, where Best Western Empire Palace hotel has scored a record high performance. The hotel management is eager to continue working even harder in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Empire Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Empire Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.