We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new born amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul to your Saves list
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The new born amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Actually i usually go Istanbul between 5 to 6 times a years some times for vacation and most of the time for work , during the last 3 years i used to stay in Kimpanski ciragan palace , but this time i decide to change for Shangri-La Bosphorus and i was extremely lucky the hotel is a piece of Art in Istanbul the design of each small part of the hotel is beautiful they take care of each small details either in building design or service.
Also they have a very nice gym and spa area and very nice and helpful team spacial the concierge service, wish you all the luck nd promise that next time will stay there and it will be very soon :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Islam F;

Warm greetings from Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul!

Thank you for staying at the at Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul and for taking the time to share your comments. Your comments are extremely important to assist us in evaluating how we can better serve valued guests like you, and in identifying those areas where additional efforts should be directed.

Shangri-La International and all of us at the Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul aim to delight and provide all our guests with the highest standards in service and hospitality. We go to great lengths at our hotels to ensure that our guests are given the attention and comfort they deserve. Your comments are a great encouragement for us. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul

Yours sincerely,


Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
56
90
6
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I missed a terrace with view on the Bosphorus, Chinese restaurant in the hotel is a must to try, excellent ! All staff is very friendly, rooms are also very nice. And bathroom is super with TV in the mirror !.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Siss62;

Thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul and taking the time to write about your experience. We are more than happy that you enjoyed the level of service our colleagues has provided you at Shnag Palace.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you back for your next Istanbul trip soon.

Yours Sincerely,


Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my second stay at the Shangri La for a business event I was organising and the levels of service and quality of the hotel shone through once again. The location is great for being able to explore the city - close to transport hubs etc but given the location on the Bosphorus i think they could have madfe more of the rooms with views. they are very limited on outside space, with no balconies or terraces etc - not that big an issue in november but would have been a nice option for guests in summer months. For anyone using this hotel for event space - the rooms are very well located and positioned within the hotel and the spaces themselves are beautifully decorated and of good size proportions. Whilst this hotel is new to istanbul, they have trianed all of their staff impeccably and I could not fault the service levels or friendliness of everyone we dealt with during our time at the hotel

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a Bosphorus view - and those that do will have some noise from the ferry terminal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Holsrock;


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your second stay. We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed the level of service our colleagues has provided you.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you back for your next Istanbul trip soon.


Yours Sincerely,


Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here before embarking in a cruise. The hotel is on the banks of the Bosphorus, just up from the Four Seasons and the bridge. We had a double aspect room overlooking the river which was just breath taking in the day and at night. For a tourist wanting to see the Blue Mosque and Bazaar's this location is not ideal as it is not really within walking distance and will involve trams or taxi's. It is however right next to some of the other attractions Istanbul has to offer. I cannot underestimate or under state how good this hotel is, although it is a chosen hotel of Seabourn which may account for why we has such a beautiful room. Luxury was the order of the day, attention to detail and very reasonable room service tariff. The staff were polite and courteous, the amenities were fabulous and the carpets are like walking on air. Shangri-La have done it again with this very recent addition to the chain

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Trishfish;

Thank you for staying at the at Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul and for taking the time to share your experience.

Shangri-La International and all of us at the Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul aim to delight and provide all our guests with the highest standards in service and hospitality. We go to great lengths at our hotels to ensure that our guests are given the attention and comfort they deserve. Your comments are a great encouragement for us. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul

Yours Sincerely,



Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have just returned from this new Shangri La hotel and as with all Shang hotels, this was an unforgettable experience!

From the opulence of the reception area to the wow factor as you open your room door for the first time, this hotel is the epitome of luxury.

I had a river facing room and it as a delight to watch the river traffic happening feet from your window. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Bulgari bathroom amenities and the general ambiance of the room made for an exceptionally good stay.

We ate in the Shang Palace and the food matched the best I have tasted in Hong Kong again accompanied by exceptional service.

For breakfast the IST TOO served a typical very high quality multinational buffet usual of Shangri La's across the world.

If you’re looking for a bit of typical Istanbul just cross the main road turn right and first left and welcome to non touristy Istanbul!

All in all a fantastic luxury experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Glaswegia;

What an amazing review, thank you!

It is also a pleasure to read you enjoyed the view of Bosphorus from your room and the location of the hotel itself.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you back for your next Istanbul trip soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I really liked the Shangri La, been to Istanbul many times, but this was the best stay.

i was there on business, had a BMW 7 Series pick me up form the airport, to arrive at a beautiful lobby, but the check in was done at the convenience of my room. Which had a Bosphorus. Its next to the ferry terminal, but you cant hear anything if the window is closed.

Nicely located next to shops and restaurants, ferry terminal, bus station, and a very secure area.

Very nice rooms, spacious, clean, classic and fresh, relaxing theme and luxurious. Had Bulgari amenities in the bathroom.

Great breakfast, WiFi everywhere !

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: sea view, premiere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın HAMH80;

Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'daki konaklamanız süresince keyifli vakit geçirdiğinizi ve hizmetlerimizden memnun kaldığınızı öğrendiğime çok memnun oldum. Sizin gibi değerli misafirlerimize daha iyi hizmet verebilmemiz adına yorumlarınız bizim için çok önemli.

Sizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.


Saygılarımızla,



Sinan Yılmaz
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Since I have stayed at multiple Shangri-La throughout the world let me do two reviews. As a general hotel it is nice enough. I would place it as a standard Hilton or Marriott at any large US city. Nothing special or groundbreaking. Compared to the Shangri-La elsewhere in the world this place should be renamed ASAP.

- I paid for the Deluxe Bosphorus Room and was given a room with a partial view at best. The room had stains on the furniture and carpet (big ones) which is very unacceptable for this chain.
- The cleaning crew came at 0930 or not at all. When they did come you best be sure your do not disturb is on as you get 3 seconds after their knock to lock the door...they are coming in.
- 2 bottles of water in a country the tap water isn't exactly drinkable.
- Constant calls to confirm things. Disorganization in all ways. The Bar is enjoyable enough, though like most of the hotel, English is spotty at best. Even German and Dutch were not usable.
- The hotel is an area outside the main attractions so get ready to do some walking or slow Istanbul traffic fighting. My recommendation is head somewhere else till these guys figure out how to be a nicer hotel.

Positive is they did allow us to check in early and later. I guess this makes up for putting us in a lower class room than paid for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nick S;

Thank you for staying at the at Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul. Your comments are extremely important to assist us in evaluating how we can better serve valued guests like you, and in identifying those areas where additional efforts should be directed.

I can assure you that your comments has been discussed at length with my team to avoid any future recurrence.

We are looking forward to be at your service.

Yours sincerely,



Sinan Yilmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is the unique Asian hotel brand in Turkey blending Asian elegance with Turkish hospitality. Ideally located just between the famous Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European shores of the Bosphorus Strait, offering the most spacious guest rooms in the city. As a city hotel within the "Besiktas" district, there are endless shopping opportunities in the vicinity and even more in the famous "Nisantasi" district home to all international & local brands only within a 5 minutes driving distance. The superbness of the location is also highlighted with the closeness and easy reach to major spots like the authentic Ortakoy district known for great nighlife and endless wining & dining options by the coastline. Highlighted as the newest and best room product in town, with the largest lead-in category rooms (50-60 sqm) and over 60% of the rooms with Bosphorus view, Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul has a total of 186 luxurious rooms including 17 Suites offering unique services and anything a traveller may need during a hotel accommodation. As a previous historical site from the 1920s which latest served as a tobacco warehouse, Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul proudly opened its doors in May 2013 in a brand new contemporary building and proudly reflects the unique services of the Asian and Turkish culture to its most valuable guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.