We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Istanbul Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumeli Meyhanesi

Rumeli Meyhanesi
Asmali Mescit Sok n:16 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34344, Turkey (Beyoğlu)
902122516400
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 11,070 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Tapas, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beyoğlu
Description: Rumeli Meyhanesi is fine example for meyhane where you can have both nice drinks and nice meals. Especialy well daily made mezes ( turkish tapas) both vegeterian , vegan, and also sea food mezes you can find. daily fresh fish option for main dish and nicely meat plates you can have. well educated staff and good enough english speakers waiter and staff can help you for any question. very wellcome
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Istanbul Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Right around the corner from the Pera Palace Hotel there is a narrow street full of eating places. Rumeli is the best we found. Traditional mese with good raki or beer and the flavors are just wonderful. Sitting a table next to an open window watching the world go by, enjoying first rate Turkish cuisine is the way to go. We enjoyed our meal so much that when we returned to Istanbul, we wen a long way out of our way to treurn there for lunch. We found the prawns are to die for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    92
    24
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lives up to its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place on our last night in Istanbul and the food was easily the best out of the 8 or so places we ate at. Great food, very friendly service and fantastic atmosphere. This neighbourhood is very lively and full of young locals. Highly recommend the lamb hot pot style dish pictured on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and as it was close to our Hotel and had a very good rating we thought we would try it. We ate here two consecutive nights as the food and service was very good. The waiter went through all the Meze plates with us and explained the menu. We also had the house speciality the Rumeli Casserole - the lamb was tender and very tasty. We managed to get the table in "the window" which was great as we could people watch at the same time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
“Great neighborhood small bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

On a nighttime stroll from the Pera Palas hotel, we found this charming restaurant, and the manager invited us in for a meal with a front row seat on a busy side street. Great food, great local wine, and a steady parade of local passers-by made for a exotic dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meze, but don't forget the lamb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is great to taste some local Turkish flavours. Really nice staff, let them help you with your choice. Our main course was Rumeli casserole, the Lamb melted in your mouth. Fair prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumeli Meyhanesi also viewed

 

Been to Rumeli Meyhanesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumeli Meyhanesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.