We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retaj Royale Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Retaj Royale Istanbul to your Saves list
Retaj Royale Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evren Mahallesi Cami Yolu Caddesi No:1/A | Gunesli, Istanbul 34212 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we came here me and my wife on 29th August for 6 days and i was amazed by the hotel and the staff , ys its far from attraction locations but they have shuttle bus which starts from the hotel 3 or 4 times to all the attractions of Istanbul.
i cant describe the hospitality i found by the staff , they are very friendly and cooperative
I can't complete this review without express my thanks to Mr Chihan , Mr Gokhan and Mr Metin for their great hospitality and support .
regarding dining , the food was great and very tasty and the staff there are very professional and very helpful specially , Mr Atakan Tasliyurt who is dedicating himself to keep all guests satisfied and Ms Busra Selva who represents the meaning of the best hospitality and customer care .
Thanks Retaj Staff for making my stay in Istanbul pleasant .
i would recommend any one who wants to enjoy his stay in Istanbul to consider this hotel as his first option if he wants astay without any hassle

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
25
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Will we stayed there for 3 night nor by choosing but we've got a problem in the other hotel so they transfered us to retaj the main and only problem in this hotel is that it's too far from the attraction places but you will forget the long distance as soon as you see the rooms and how clean and comfortable they are . Besides that there's a shuttle service in specific times you should ask for that once you arrive there... the breakfast is umy and if you get a higher rooms you might see the sea .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in, genuinely no complaints and if there were any slight annoyances, it would be that a swimming cap was required in the pool. Great hospitality and customer service, fantastic facilities, ideal location from the airport and the breakfast, words cannot express the quality of the breakfast. Ill leave it at that, 9.9/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Amazing hotel, clean friendly, luxurious, rooms are very big and comfortable and service was perfect, turkey is a gorgeous country but this made our stay that much better. It's hard to find English speaking staff at hotels but they did a great job, all around pleasant stay, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions, one night each and two different rooms. The hotel is new, and the rooms well appointed, quiet and very clean. The staff were very helpful and courteous. We used the airport shuttle twice; it was free and convenient. Good advance rates on travel sites - we chose a small room the first stay and it was more than spacious enough for two. Complimentary buffet breakfast was brilliant, one of the best we have had. Ate at the restaurant late on a Friday night - excellent quality and choice, not cheap, but not expensive and worth every penny. Delicious welcome drink and Turkish delights were a lovely touch. The hotel location is great if you want to be close to the airport, but we moved closer to the city centre to visit Istanbul. Around the hotel, there did not appear to be a lot of interest for a tourist. The pool was not functioning on our first visit and we arrived too late to use it on our second visit. Absolutely loved this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel offers top quality amenities including sauna and swimming pool. Most staff speak excellent English, and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is wide ranging and the restaurant offers good value, quality evening meals.

Proximity to the airport was very useful to me, and free shuttle buses are offered to and from the centre of Istanbul. Again, really useful for someone wanting to get the most out of their time in this city.

All in all, it's been an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed there for one night on a business trip. I was welcomed with a cold rose water cocktail during the check-in process which was very refreshening! The room turned out to be very nice and spacy. Once I got to my room I connected to the free WiFi without problems. But then the service issues began:
The sole of one of my shoes went off. So I tried to call the recpeption to ask for help and discovered that neither of the two phones in the room worked properly. I went down to the reception and reported the problem with the phone and was told a technician would come to help me.
Then I asked for a shoe repair and was directed to the concierge. He said he doesn't know of any but would do some research and get back to me.

To cut a long story short: neither my phone was repaired until I left next morning around 9:00 am nor did I get any response ragarding my shoe problem (that was eventually solved at the airport by a VERY helpful shoe-shine shop!!!).

The breakfast was good with a wide selection. I unfortunately did not have time enough to check the Hamam and pool, so no opinion on that.

I will probably give the place another chance on my next visit since my clients office is very close and I get a really good deal on the corporate rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Retaj Royale Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Royale Istanbul

Address: Evren Mahallesi Cami Yolu Caddesi No:1/A | Gunesli, Istanbul 34212 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Retaj Royale Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retaj Royale is conveniently located in the heart of Istanbul Business District of Güneşli area and major entertainment and shopping malls, 5 minutes’ drive from Atatürk international Airport and 5 minutes away from CNR Expo center. The air-conditioned modern spacious rooms at Retaj Istanbul offers satellite LED TV, mini bar, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Each has a work desk and a private bath with bath tub. Retaj Royale offers ZamZam restaurant covering both national and international cuisine. A state of art Ballroom and intimate boardrooms that cater for both different size of meetings, making this hotel the ideal Istanbul venue for business and personal events The hotel offers an array of Leisure facilities. Guests can enjoy work outs at the fully equipped modern health club, sauna, Turkish bath (Hammam) and indoor swimming pool. A scheduled free shuttle bus arranged by the hotel providing easy access to Istanbul’s historic sites, airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Retaj Royale Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retaj Royale Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.