We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, great location, friendly and professional team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel Old City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Hotel Old City to your Saves list
Eurostars Hotel Old City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ankara Caddesi Hocapasa Hamami Sokak No:1 | Sirkeci Old City Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place, great location, friendly and professional team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I booked a city break in April in this hotel. From the online booking until the end of my stay there, everything was perfect:

The online booking was directly via the hotel's website, which guarantees the reservation, but changes and cancellations can be made up to 24 hours before the actual arrival, which is very flexible - i.e. no lost money on booking in case of last-minute changes.

I was give options / preferences and I asked for a non=smoking room on the upper floor, with 3 beds (there was 3 of us) and everything was arranged as I asked.

The hotel is new (or newly renovated) in a perfect place in the old town, within one minute walk from the Sirkeci train station and tram stops - 5 mins walk from Topkapi palace and the park, 10 mins walk from Saint Sofia and the Blue Mosque, as well as the Basilika Cistern, 15 mins from the grand bazaar, and all other interesting and historical sites in the European part of the city. I walked across the Galata bridge to the Galata tower and Taksim square - great for enjoying the views of the Bosphor.

On the ground floor of the hotel there are lovely stores - Koska sweet shop - full of yummy lokum and baklava, and another patisserrie with the best window display, full of exsquisite sweets, both open till late.

The hotel reception team and everyone else (housekeeping, breakfast team, the person who manned the sauna and turkish bath) are all friendly, knowleadgeable and professional - they go out of their way to help and make the stay in the hotel comfortable.

Our room was large, sunny, with modern equipment, nice view, spotlessly cleaned regularly - always with fresh towels, toiletries and coffee / drinks topped up regularly.

Room service never disturbed us when we were in the room, but every time we returned from one of our sightseeing outings, the room was spotless.

The breakfast selection is excellent - everything is fresh, the coffee and other hot drinks are great. There are savouries, cornflakes, various fresh pastries, soft drinks, selection of salads, ham, cheese, olives, jams, pancakes... the list is long - easy to indulge and put on weight!

The sauna is new, the turkish bath is amazing- all made of marble, with lovely mosaic tiles around the taps - very relaxing after a long day of walking around town. Clean and perfect, quiet - some evenings I was on my own there!

All in all, this hotel and all teams made my visit to this beautiful city unforgettable.

If you want to stay in a luxury and comfort, book here.
You will be well looked after by the staff and you'll remember your visit in Istanbul.

Thank you to everyone at Eurostars Old City - your hospitality is the best!

If I return to Istanbul, I will come back and will warmly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: I would go for the top floor, but that is personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
47
48
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

this hotel is situated in the centre of town where bus, tram are next door taxi and all kinds of shops,bank,money changer are available
the staff is very cordial and looks after the guests at any time of the day
nice rooms with all facilities b/f standard is good and free
bedsheets,glasses etc are changed daily and are neat and clean
sea shore is near, grand bazaar and spi ce market are 5 min walk and so is blue mosque
we had a very nice time here which is peaceful yet in the market
we have all the appreciation for this hotel which one must visit surender anand, 9/18 south patel nagar new delhi tel8130723843

Room Tip: room on 1st floor facing the main road is good as you can sit near the window and watch the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning and were not given rooms as the hotel was full. Rooms were ready at about 2pm with our requirements met. We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful from front desk to housekeeping and coffee house. Rooms were cleaned spotless and the best of all is the location. Will definitely come back to this hotel on our next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We got a superior room with view on the city. The view was in fact on the back of the other buildings. Very poor sound proof. You can easily hear the television of the adjacent rooms, which is probably caused by the fact the tv is hang up on the wall.
Breakfast is mediocre in a room which at rush hour is very small.
The airconditioning is not working in the winter, which meant that in our case it was only put on april 2nd, regardless the hot day on arrival 31st march.
Prices seem to be at the high level.
I would insist on demanding a luxe room which should be greater as the superior room we had was very small and had no view.
Although the hotel is very good situated near the sirkeci railway station and at walking distance of sultanhammet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in March 2013. The price was excellent and despite the good reviews on Trip Advisor, I was unsure whether it would be as good in reality. I need not have worried. The hotel was excellent: rooms were well decorated and spotless. There is a turkish bath in the basement open from 10-10. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very centrally and we were given great guidance on what to see by the front desk. Breakfast was excellent: eggs, chips, sausages, meats, pancakes, bread, coffee machine (latte, hot chocolate etc), juices. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again if I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The good first: Location in the old city, very accessible to public transport. Hotel itself was OK. If you get the superior rooms then there is actually space to walk around without hitting each other. Looks like it was recently renovated, however the workmanship was rather sloppy in some areas like the shower cubicle.The breakfast choice is large but the same every day. The breakfast room in the cellar is too small for the number of people resident. Gets very crowded between 8:00 and 9:30 am. We spent 4 nights here, 3 in a superior room one in a standard room all on the 1st. floor. I think the upper floor would be better.
The not so good/needs improvement: I booked a superior room but was given a standard room without they proactively telling me about it. Only after I complained that the room was rather small, they agreed to change my room the next day (I paid for 4 days superior and got only 3!) for a superior room. The cleaning service was good the first 2 days then became sloppy - used cups were not replaced, empty shower gel was not replaced. In the first standard room the shower cubicle, although new looking was wrongly installed. The used water did not naturally find the drain because the slant was across the drain. Next morning the shower was still holding lots of used water since it could not drain away! Very strange architect and/or plumber who installed the shower tub.

Room Tip: Remember to make sure you get a superior room if you book one. It is noticeably bigger.- Also you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the very start, when we first contacted this hotel, everything went well. The staff was very helpful. Because they are relatively new hotel, everything inside is new. Maybe a bit kitsch at some parts, but still great.
They even gave us free breakfast because we booked four nights almost two months in advance. And breakfast is not bad. Nothing special, but more then enough and various.
I was there with two friends and we asked for triple room, expecting we will get standard double room with extra sofa or something, like in many other hotels. But that was not the case. Instead, we got three full size beds, which were great for good sound sleep.
Hotel is close to top tourist attractions, you can see the whole Old City by foot. There is tram station near the building as well. And one more important thing - patisserie Hafiz Mustafa is also there, with great Turkish delights. And they are open very late at night.
Overall, this was great stay in Istanbul. I will stay there again when I visit Istanbul.

Room Tip: If you are lucky, and we were, you can get room in upper floors with partial view over the see and G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Old City

Address: Ankara Caddesi Hocapasa Hamami Sokak No:1 | Sirkeci Old City Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hotel Old City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.