We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest attitude in the cosy hotel in the very centre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Coliseum to your Saves list
Hotel Coliseum
Kucukayasofya Mahallesi, Aksakal Sok., No:5, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Warmest attitude in the cosy hotel in the very centre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

What I want to say is,that there are many nice hotels,but it is so rare when owners treat their clients so warmly and sincerely as in Coliseum hotel! This hotel is a perfect example of a small private hotel: cosy, comfortable, with good breakfasts, in a very centre and with such warmest atmosphere,that u really feel like home and want to come back again. Thanks a lot! Well done!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My experience with hotel Coliseum is amassing I was with my family in Coliseum Hotel and from day one until last day me and my family won a many family members we feel there like in our own house and with family members.
If we had the chance to give the hotel stars we would like to give 10 **********

Melih Bey, Mehmet Bey , Salih Bey, Yusuf Bey, Ismail Bey, Ayten Abla and the others all of them are so friendly and so nice and so helpfully.
I would recommend Hotel Coliseum to everyone

I would like to say to every Coliseum members THANK YOU

Saygilar
Halil Ibrahim Yakup Ergün

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed five nights with two other families. The location is very good, the staff friendly, the rooms are small but very clean, the breakfast was ok. And we spent every evening on the terrace planning the next day.
Thank you, again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lovely small hotel right on the doorstep of all the main must see sights of Sultanahment. The management and staff were excellent, warm and friendly. They saw to all our needs and offered excellent advice regarding the area. They also had great senses of humour and provided many a laugh, especially Salih and Mehmet. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the fixtures and fittings fine. The rooms, unless you book a triple, were a little on the small side but that kind of suited the cosiness of the place. Like many places in this city, traffic noise could be a little disturbing but that didn't bother us.
If you want somewhere that is good value for money and centrally located to all the famous monuments and facilities of the old city, this is an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a triple bedder if you want a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monasterevin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed two nights and its possibly the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. The owner Mehmet, along with his wife and staff, set an example in how a hotel should be run. Their attention to detail is a joy to see, and all delivered with warmth and a friendly smile.

The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from all the main sights, with some superb restaurants within 500 metres. The airport is 30 minutes away.

The rooftop terrace, offers peace and tranquillity, with great views across the rooftops of the city and the bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

this hotel should be used for staff training everywhere. amazing welcome- mehmet is an excellent host and manager. little details like free tea coffee constantly being offered, genuine conversation and interest in people. I have stayed in 100s of hotels this is the first time I felt compelled to review.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very nice small hotel in Sultan Ahmet area. Staff is very helpful and friendly to tourists - main personnel representatives are english-speaking and they will help you with enquiries in terms of navigating around elsewhere in Istanbul. Highly recommend for groups of friends or couples. But bear in mind, room space is not big as in many world capitals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coliseum

Address: Kucukayasofya Mahallesi, Aksakal Sok., No:5, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are expecting to welcome you, our dearest guests in our Hotel Which is located in the heart of Istanbul, Right in the center of Historical Peninsula and surrounded by; The HAGIA SOPHIA of which the dome is believed is to stand by means of a spiritual power by The Christians, The TOPKAPI PALACE, the magnificent residence of the Ottoman Empire, The BLUE MOSQUE, which is one of the most important monuments of Turkish and Islamic World, The CASTLE WALLS of old Istanbul, The GRAND BAZAAR, KAPALI CARSI, which is the oldest and greatest shopping mall of the world, The MOSAIC MUSEUM, which is constructed on the foundations of the Bukoleon Palace, The SUNKEN PALACE (BASILICA CISTERN), which survived from the first age to the modern day, The AYA IRINI, the Byzantine Church, The ISTANBUL COLISEUM, which was the arena of power and entertainment during the Roman Empire and the Byzantium Empire. All rooms include flat screen TV telephone,air conditioning,minibar,safety box,wardrobe,hair dryer,telephone in bathroom,slippers,anti allergic materials,orthopedic bads.Ataturk Airport 19 km,Sabiha Gokcen Airport 55 km from Hotel Coliseum.By walk,Blue Mosque 3 minutes,Hagia Sophia Museum,Basilica Cistern 5 min,Topkapi Palace 7 min, Grand Bazaar 10 min, from the Hotel Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.