We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cosy hotel in central Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Coliseum to your Saves list
Hotel Coliseum
Kucukayasofya Mahallesi, Aksakal Sok., No:5, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small and cosy hotel in central Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very nice small hotel in Sultan Ahmet area. Staff is very helpful and friendly to tourists - main personnel representatives are english-speaking and they will help you with enquiries in terms of navigating around elsewhere in Istanbul. Highly recommend for groups of friends or couples. But bear in mind, room space is not big as in many world capitals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Location of the hotel is wonderful! You may walk to all the main sightseeing locations in the Sultanakhmet district. Rooms are neat and clean. Personnel is so friendly and so helpful! Breakfast was filling. They had eggs, vegetables, salads, drinks, fruits.
And for New Year they made us a small present: a bottle of wine and fruits. It was so nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited the Hotel Coliseum Sultanahmet over Xmas 2013 with 2 friends, had a great time, the Hotel is perfect situated just under Blue Mosque so ideal for tourist. We were met by Mehmet and Salith who were most helpful - the rooms were superb clean and nicely decorated, comfortable beds,the bathroom perfect with plenty hot water. Morning breakfast provided in cosy room with excellent selection. For location, staff and quality of the Hotel I would not hesitate to recommend it for any tourist. Well done you guys you will see us again.

Room Tip: A room with view over the Bosforous would be a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

So you are wondering why no 5th star?
First, let me point out the rooms are very modern and updated - you will surely be impressed (I think).
We stayed in the Double room. Not a huge room, but enough space to walk around the bed comfortably.
The breakfast was a surprisingly large buffet style; large compared to the bread & jam continental breakfasts we experienced everywhere else we stayed at in Europe.
One negative that I think most people would agree with - the small window in the bedroom does NOT have curtains; rather, only a simple blinds that allows the sunlight to penetrate the room.
Another negative for me, perhaps not for others - the determination of what you can use (A/C or Heat) is centrally controlled by management; although each room has its own temperature/fan controls, each room can NOT manage the choice of using the A/C or the Heat. For us, the room was warm and stuffy, so I wanted to use the A/C; however, management decided the Heat should be on due to the cool nights. So we had to open the large windows to get some refreshing cool air into the room; of course, that also meant allowing for street noise to come into the room as well. Not the best setup in my opinion.
Other than those negatives, I felt the rooms were very well updated, nice little amenities (i.e. dental kit, sewing kit, etc), and the manager gave us a fair price when we first entered the hotel to inquire about pricing and availability (no adjustments for my disappointments).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there together with my girlfriend for a couple of days in August 2013. First the bad news: The rooms are indeed small and some may nag about that there was no fresh bread for breakfast but single packed buns instead (though they're not really that bad at all). And IMHO this is easily forgotten once you take the good news into account: The staff was very friendly and also went to great lengths to help us with whatever issues we had. This went from simple things as calling taxis and recommending tours or restaurants, to helping us to get our ferry tickets (which was quite a bit of trouble!).
The rooms may be small but they are really lovely decorated, clean and have aircon. Also water pressure was good even on the top floor - some of you may know this can be very annoying in some places. So in short: Very good standard all in all.
The location of the hotel is nearly perfect as it is just a stone's throw from Sultanahmet square and at the same time easy to drive to and from with taxis or busses. The biggest part of all attractions and POIs in Istanbul are conveniently reached on foot.
We had a very good stay, will happily return and therefore can highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just 3 nights in Istanbul, and Sultanahmet proved to be perfect for the major attractions .Friendly staff who directed us to all the locations and attractions . The rooms are on the small side but comfortable .Breakfast service prompt and with a good variety of fayre..
Both managers very helpful.

Overall very pleased we stayed there as it is a small hotel and personal service is second to none

Room Tip: top floor has fabulous views of the sea . Blue Mosque almost 800 yards away and visible from the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and were very pleased. It seems to cater primarily to a Turkish clientele. Rooms are small and the room decorations feature a lot of gold lamay. The staff is very friendly and helpful; we really liked them. The location is tremendous, close to SultanAhmet Park. The (included) breakfast is very adequate. We had better breakfasts but were paying a lot more for the room. The roof top is a wonderful place to hang out. Either we did not understand the controls or the air was broken. We could not get it to cycle on/off automatically.

Room Tip: We wanted a lower floor because the elevator is tiny and I'm claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coliseum

Address: Kucukayasofya Mahallesi, Aksakal Sok., No:5, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are expecting to welcome you, our dearest guests in our Hotel Which is located in the heart of Istanbul, Right in the center of Historical Peninsula and surrounded by; The HAGIA SOPHIA of which the dome is believed is to stand by means of a spiritual power by The Christians, The TOPKAPI PALACE, the magnificent residence of the Ottoman Empire, The BLUE MOSQUE, which is one of the most important monuments of Turkish and Islamic World, The CASTLE WALLS of old Istanbul, The GRAND BAZAAR, KAPALI CARSI, which is the oldest and greatest shopping mall of the world, The MOSAIC MUSEUM, which is constructed on the foundations of the Bukoleon Palace, The SUNKEN PALACE (BASILICA CISTERN), which survived from the first age to the modern day, The AYA IRINI, the Byzantine Church, The ISTANBUL COLISEUM, which was the arena of power and entertainment during the Roman Empire and the Byzantium Empire. All rooms include flat screen TV telephone,air conditioning,minibar,safety box,wardrobe,hair dryer,telephone in bathroom,slippers,anti allergic materials,orthopedic bads.Ataturk Airport 19 km,Sabiha Gokcen Airport 55 km from Hotel Coliseum.By walk,Blue Mosque 3 minutes,Hagia Sophia Museum,Basilica Cistern 5 min,Topkapi Palace 7 min, Grand Bazaar 10 min, from the Hotel Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.