We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hamam we have been too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami

Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami
Kemankes Mah. Hamam Sok. No:1 34425 Tophane, Karakoy | Next to Kilic Ali Pasha Mosque, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 (212) 393 80 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 380 activities in Istanbul
Type: Spas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kılıç Ali Paşa Hamam; The elegant authentic surroundings of this Turkish bath, magnificent creation of Mimar Sinan, transcends the timeless barriers between old and new… Giving you an escape from the hustle and bustle of beautiful Istanbul City.Mimar Sinan the legendary Architect of that period was commissioned by “Kilic Ali Pasa” to build the Hamam to withstand the ravages of the sea and time. The large light, Magnificent Dome above the Camegah (relaxation area) is 14 meters across and 17 meters high one of the largest single domes built by Sinan. The features of the Kulhan Chimney/exhaust, the leaded domes and the glass elephant eyes along with brick by brick reappointing, original Kurnas and some carved stone and marble slabs found during excavation have been retained and used within the premises adding to its extreme historical beauty and interest.The Hamam Ritual is an ancient one, the materials used have not significantly changed and used to restore energy and vitality to the body by reducing the toxins, and allowing the skin to breathe again
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cleanest hamam we have been too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place could not be cleaner! A little pricey and has different times for men and women which is not a problem since I booked the last appointment and my husband's was the first, and I waited outside in the cafe....very clean and a great experience, closer to Taksim area. The place is like a spa where one can relax......

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    18
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“True Hammam Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We end up in this hammam while exploring the area which is full of cafes, restaurants and boutiques... If you ever been to a hammam before, forget about it and start all over here and have the best hammam experience! The place itself amazing! Renovated from an old hammam in 6 years and turned into this amazing place. The staff is very professional. After filing a form, they serve you a traditional drink and then take you to locker room. Then the magic begins...get traditional hammam wash. Tey wash you like you never been washed; they dry you like you have been wet all your life till then! Womens hours until 4pm; then after 4:30pm mens begin. Ali is amazing! Ask for him! After they wash and dry you; you rest in common area and all you think is what an experience it was... There is no other option in Hammam; it is a must!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Superb Building, Immaculate facility, professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It took a while to find this on trip advisor and it ended up being at the bottom of the hill where we were staying. We wanted to visit a Hamam in the Beyoglu area. We cannot say enough about this Hamam, from the superb renovation to it's cleanliness, friendly staff and very professional authentic service. Today we had the Hamam scrub and soap massage from Ali and Orhan then tomorrow we go back for a full body massage.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Harmonious union of old and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

For owner Ergin Iren, this place has been a labour of love during a meticulous 7-year restoration before opening its doors 6 months ago. This hamam is part of the mosque complex of the same name originally constructed in the 14th century and shares an architect (Sinar) with the Suleymaniye Mosque. Ergin has worked and studied in the Netherlands and seems to understand the high value many Western tourists place on good service and it shows. The entrance was a little difficult to find and is situated in a small lane facing the adjacent mosque. We did not have a booking but it was not busy and they had no problems accommodating the three of us at the same time. After a refreshing glass of quince cordial we changed and headed into the hamam proper. My advice would be to go with the flow and strip off completely – modesty is maintained at all times with towels and if you wear underwear it will be soaking wet within minutes. The ritual begins with a warm-water drenching before 10min rest on the warm marble then scrub, bubbles (no more description – a nice surprise), wash including brief massage, hair shampoo and condition and a ‘drying off’ procedure before relaxing chay and rest in the enclosed central courtyard, which was where we met Ergin. I had the opportunity to chat to him about the renovation including looking through the private journal he created to document the process. He has blended original and new lustrous white marble with modern touches like the custom dodecahedral chandelier over the similarly shaped marble fountain and imported white oak joinery. There is over 50 tonnes of new lead covering the roof and lovely hand-formed decorative render inside the main dome. It is a great experience and a beautiful building and though not cheap the price should set expectations high. Ergin was receptive to feedback and you should not feel reticent in giving same so that he can continue improving this business. Men and women are separated and when I visited at 530 the afternoon sun was pleasantly pressing through the star-shaped cutouts in the dome above the hamam however it is open until midnight and I did not have the opportunity to return and see how it looked at night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a nervous first-timer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My guidebook listed about 6 Turkish baths in the Old and New Town. I checked the reviews on Trip Advisor and every one of them had a wide range of ratings. That made me a bit nervous about the whole idea of going to a Turkish bath. By going to Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami, it turned out that I had nothing to be nervous about. It was easy walking distance (8 minutes) from my hotel on Istiklal Street, was very clean, felt safe, was picturesque, and I thoroughly enjoyed the bathing experience. There were no awkward moments, so if you are a bit nervous about trying a Turkish bath (as I was) then I can strongly recommend this place - I would be very surprised if you didn’t enjoy it. Thank you TripAdvisor reviewers! I paid 130TL and tipped my scrubber 50TL (he didn’t ask for a tip, you can give it very discreetly at the counter when you leave) and felt it was money well spent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami also viewed

 

Been to Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami to your Saves list