We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant, especially helpful chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SekizIstanbul

SekizIstanbul
Kuloglu Mah. Gazeteci Erol Dernek Sok. No:1, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
+90 212 249 8924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 11,070 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sekizistanbul, located in a historic building that is thought to date back to the late 19th century, has been re-opened by the leading chef and taste designer Maksut Aşkar. Good food lovers are quite familiar with Aşkar through his former delicious endeavors, from his previous restaurants, LilBitz and MultiMekan. Aşkar emphasizes on casual and comfortable dining experience with a twist by following the modernist way. And he calles it a journey back to refined basics. The menu changes every 3 months according to the seasons fresh ingredients. You can find a tasting menu of all bits in the menu. Sekizistanbul will also likely make its mark on Istanbul’s nightlife scene after dinner as Nupera’s former DJ Cenk will be in charge of the music until 4am between Wednesdays and Saturdays..
Budapest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant, especially helpful chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was with a group of six colleagues who ate at Sekizistanbul last night. The restaurant is located on one of the side streets off Istiklal Street near Taksim square. The place has lovely ambiance and very helpful staff. The menu was quite varied and we had good appetizers and main dishes in what I might call a more modern Turkish cuisine. What I want to highlight is how helpful the chef was. One of our colleagues has severe food allergies and needed to ask for some accommodation. The chef came out and talked to her and made sure that she got what she needed. He also checked on us after serving the dinner. All of us finished every morsel of food and were happy with the dishes we ordered. With two bottles of very nice Turkish white wine, appetizers and main courses, only a couple of desserts, the bill was reasonable at about $45 per person. I hope you enjoy this restaurant when traveling in Istanbul.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“a truly delicious meal in a warm setting with easy going yet attentive service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While we had some difficulty in finding the restaurant, our persistence paid off with a hugely enjoyable meal in a sophisticated setting. The slow-cooked chicken though was perfection and the porcini dusted frites were a treat. The slow-cooked lamb was melt in your mouth delicious and the beet root marinated couscous was out of this world. The food prices were reasonable, the drinks less so. The staff was friendly, good humoured and patient. All in all a real treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Sekiz on our last night in Istanbul (June 13, 2013). It was highly recommended in several places we checked--Frommer's, Katie Parla's Istanbul blog, and TripAdvisor reviews Chef Maksut Aşkar was incredibly warm and attentive to us during our meal. We enjoyed hearing about his vision for the restaurant and sharing dining experiences (and "foodie" Web sites) with him. The food was terrific; my friend had the chicken thigh, and I had the grilled salmon. (Plus, as another reviewer mentioned), the Turkish coffee mousse was simply to die for.) Go to this fabulous restaurant when you're in Istanbul!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hearty and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

very attantive,super happy and friendly staff.Nice ambience,love the decoration.Little bites are fantastic,smoked fish with lentils highly recommended ,dessert with Turkish coffee moose is to die for.A place that you wanna go back to try everything.Chef of Sekiz is so attentive as well,interesting and very nice to talk to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“have to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

it was an amazing food experience. sekizistanbul is one of the best spots in ?stanbul.
I especially recommend their ribs. You should try for a good taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed SekizIstanbul also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to SekizIstanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SekizIstanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.