We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the above” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Safran

Le Safran
Alemder Caddies No 11 | Gulhane, Istanbul, Turkey
+902125148899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 11,077 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Turkish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The world's center is Istanbul. Istanbul's center is Sultanahmet ... Greetings from Sultanahmet. We invite you to enjoy nice tastes in the center of the world.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All of the above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon Le Safran and were intrigued by the number of people eating there even at 9pm. You can't go wrong when a local restaurant is full of local people. This was a very good discovery. Although lamb, beef or chicken are the main diet of Turkey, Le Safran also did the fish very well. We went back two nights in a row for the sea bream, which was done just right... Juicy on the inside and crispy outside. The staff were cheeky and fun and they have their own Mr Bean who was very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location good food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great place to people watch. Good service and god location near Topkapi Palace. Our waiter Alex was friendly and attentive

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great food backed up by excellent service.Pick of the menu was the traditional meal of either chicken or beef casserole slow cooked inside a clay pot. Magnificent value at about 35 Lire for two people. Very good service lead by head waiter Alex [Mehmed].Only issue was no alcohol available due to Ramadan starting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Le Safran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Istanbul, we have eaten in many restaurants and nearly all have been good.The food here was probably the best we have had. We were enticed in by 'Mr Bean' after another log day touring the city and we glad we took him up on his offer. Both our main courses were superb and my partner really enjoyed her rice pudding to finish the meal off. if you go to Istanbul visit here you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When in Istanbul, everyone wants you to either 1) buy a carpet or 2) eat at their restaurant. After touring the Topkapi Palace my friend and I were looking for a place for lunch and were whisked into Le Safran. As the location is fantastic (next to the Gulhane tram station, one stop down from the Sultanahmet tram station) and we were hungry, we took a seat. We were not disappointed. There are many places to eat in Istanbul, and this was one of the best restaurants we dined at during our trip. I had the vegetarian pizza, which was fantastic and done well. My friend had the Le Safran salad, which she kept taking about for the rest of the week. We came back later in the week for more traditional Turkish food, which was also excellent. We especially loved the Turkish mezze and the amazing baked halva dessert which was divine. The service was fantastic. Alex lavished us with attention and prompt service. Carlos, the front of house man, remembered us on our return. The food and the experience were a cut above other restaurants in Istanbul. I heartily recommend Le Safran, you won't be disappointed with the food or the service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Safran also viewed

 

Been to Le Safran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Safran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.