We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean + good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Serene Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Serene Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Serene Hotel Istanbul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asmali Mescit mah. Istiklal cad. Tutuncu cikmazi no: 4/1 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean + good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in Beyoglu, lively area of Istanbul. I stayed there for 6 nights with my boyfriend.

It is clean and the room size is good. The staff, 2 young men in particular, are extremely polite and kind. However, I must say that the walls are so thin! We could hear what was going on in the room next to ours clearly. I woke up at 5.30 for three days and that ruined our holiday for sure. Maybe we were unlucky...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
46
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really recommend this hotel. The staff is helpful, welcoming and have the smile.
The location was the best for us. Good restaurants, shops and bars are close to the hotel and It's easy to take the tram to go to the old town. Taksim square is also close, and allows to take cheap and easy transfer to airports.

guillaume & pamela.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel along Istiklal Caddesi – the pulse of Istanbul so furnishings are new. It has potential – location’s perfect, minimalist room design, comfortable bed, spanking bathroom, narrow-shaped room, and an ok staff.

I booked the hotel because it’s on sale at booking.com at only EUR32 per night for the Standard Room for single use, no breakfast. Normal rate is less than 100 euro. I never heard about this hotel before but their website’s photos looked really nice.

I arrived very early in the morning around 8:00am, earliest check in is past 11:00am, so I asked the reception to keep my luggage and I bide my time wandering around Taksim area.
The hotel is right in the middle of the most famous street in Istanbul – Istiklal Caddesi – in Taksim/Beyoglu area, right sandwiched between the Galatasaray High School and the British Consulate General. When you reached Galatasaray which is in the middle of Istiklal Ave., just look for the Simit Sarayi (coffeeshop), walk the small alley beside it and the entrance of the hotel is on the right side.

Small reception, no elevator, but the walk up the stairs is easy.

The Room – although the reception is friendly, I think he thought I’m new in the city. I always evoke that dumb look in me. He told me he gave me instead a Deluxe Room – sort of upgrade? I said thanks, but I know it’s a standard room – for a fact from the photos and specifications on their website. The room is minimalist design, chic, albeit narrow it’s long, imagine a T-shape with the bed on the base of the T in the middle. Small space to walk between the foot end of the bed and the wall but there’s a long space in-between both sides of the bed. One side is where the mini kitchen with a lot of empty closets, I don’t understand what the closet is for since there’s no stove and kitchen utensils to be able to cook, a sink, kettle and some a couple of coffee cup sets, free small bottled water, complimentary tea and coffee. The other end of the room has 2 single sofa chair but no coffee table and a ceiling-to-floor glass window overlooking the happenings on the street below. Close it if you don’t like the noise esp. that there’s always people chanting infront of Galatasaray. The double curtain blocks the sunlight.

Flooring is carpeted, the bed is big and comfortable with duvet and white pillows. Several shelves and drawers on both sides of the headboards. 32-inch flat panel Samsung TV with hundreds of channels including English news.

The bathroom is big enough and clean with fluffy white towels, enclosed shower stall with hot and cold shower, hair blower, complimentary shampoos, soaps, shaver, shoe polisher and disposable shaver.

The staff are fine, I saw 3 reception changes during my 2 nights stay.

I stayed for 2 nights from 4 to 6 March at EUR32/night, no breakfast option at this boutique hotel but it’s very much worth it, but for the regular rate at almost a hundred euro per night during peak season, I think it’s expensive.

I’ll stay again for the location and only if it’s on sale.

Room Tip: Get a standard or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is located in the center, near Taksim square, in neighborhood where all clubs and restaurants are. The hotel is renovated and clean, rooms are specious and nice. The staff is helpful. We arranged a transportation form and to the airport for good price, which is very convenient because most of taxi drivers in Istanbul hardly know hotel location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Location is great, in the center of all night and day life in Istanbul. Rooms are comfortable as nowhere else in Istanbul (I stayed in many hotels, this one is out of comparison). Walls are not thin, so you can not hear your neighbours. Rooms are big enough for Istanbul, because normally the rooms in the hotels there are tiny and dark as small caves. Serene has perfect rooms, perfect beds, perfect and very clean bathrooms (hair-dryer and shampoos/toothbrush/shaving kits are included). The working tea-pot, the fridge and the welcome water is on your service. The stuff is so friendly and helpful that even let me use their printer to print my boarding pass. Internet works in the rooms quite good. The rooms face or the main walking street Istiklal (in this case you possibly will be a bit disturbed by the noise outside, but the view compensize it), or the inside, so it's more quiet, but no view. Hotel is easy to find following down the Istiklal street from Taksim metro station, till the entrance of Galatasaray highschool, and you will never get lost. The stairs to the hotel lead if you take a small road from the street between Simit Sarayi cafe and a clothes shop, and you will see it by the right hand. I would recommend this hotel for young people who are not like sleeping all the days and nights lond, but enjoying their good time in Istanbul. And once I decide to stay in Taksim again, I will definitely stay in Serene again, it's the best you can find for that money in whole Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

One of the most exciting trips I have ever had with an amazing accomodation. If you visit the European part of the beautiful city of Istanbul, you should choose this comfortable hotel. Every thing was really ordered, clean and perfect. I will be telling about this amazing time and nice hotel to all my friends. Italy will know this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nice hotel, new, clean. Historical building. Perfect location, near clubs, restaurants, shopping, public transport. At first we were worried about noise from outside, but it turned out to be no problem at all, good sound isolation. Staff is helpfull and friendly. We left with a very positive feeling. Would recommend to friends and come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serene Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Hotel Istanbul

Address: Asmali Mescit mah. Istiklal cad. Tutuncu cikmazi no: 4/1 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Serene Hotel Istanbul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Hotel Istanbul is perfectly located within a short walking distance to Taksim square. All rooms are equipped with a king-size bed or two twin beds, private bathrooms, safe-deposit box, air conditioning and LCD television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Serene Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serene Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.