We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodjapasha Cultural Center

Hodjapasha Cultural Center
Hoca Pasa Mh. Hocapasa Hamami Sokak 3, | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34412, Turkey
+90 212 511 4626
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Whirling Dervish Show in Istanbul
Ranked #134 of 542 Activities in Istanbul
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1. Istanbul Dervishes: Mevlevi Sema Ceremony / Everyday except Monday and Friday at 19:00 Price: 60 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 2. Rhythm of the Dance :Featuring variety of charming folkloric dances of Anatolia , Balkans and Caucasian regions combined with exotic oriental dances. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with White Rose . Price : 70 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 3. White Rose : A theatral dance show that sensationally combines oriental dance , harem dance and modern dance together. Theme is based on an extraordinary true love story of an Ottoman slave woman and ambassador during Tulip Period in 17TH Century. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with Rhythm of the Dance . Price : 80 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. See our website for the calendar of the shows.
Paris
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“High quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I saw both shows, Turkish dance and dervishes, and both were excellent. A rare chance to see a very good male belly dance performer, which was one of the highlights of the everning.The dervishes ceremony is quite an experience, not for every taste but I found it very beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    232
    84
    53
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Whirling dervishes was a bit boring, but the dance show was high energy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place was a bit difficult to find, as it's tucked away in a non-descript alley. We were able to catch both shows on Saturday night--the Mevlevi Sema Ceremony at 7:30 pm for 50 TL, and the dance show at 9 pm for another 60 TL.

We stuffed ourselves on free drinks and a big bowl of rosewater Turkish Delight before the show while looking at displays about Turkish dances around the waiting area.

The culture center is in a gorgeous restored hamam, but we sat on uncomfortable plastic seats. I ended up on a stool in the back row for the first show, and it was quite uncomfortable to sit on.

I understand the Sema Cermony is historic, but it was kind of boring just watching men spin around and around. The dance show was more energetic and exciting, with different costumes from the varied regions of Turkey.

Live musicians with great energy accompanied the dancers.

Only one toilet stall each for men and women made taking a break quite slowww. Highlight of the evening was a male belly dancer who could really strut his stuff!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unlike the Turkish Dance Night, the Sema is a religious ceremony.
7/30 every evening except Tuesday and Thursday.
Dating from the 1220's this devotional dance accomainied by music is mesmerising. It lasts an hour , no clapping , no photos , just a glance at very genuine Dervishes , whirling.
If you noticed a background of serenity in the busy streets of Istanbul and wondered where it might of come from, then give this a go. However...........
Be prepared to watch people at prayer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hodja Pasha is worth every penny. The dancers are professionals and the musicians are amazing. In comparison to other shows we have seen in Turkey, this truly stands out. The male belly dancer is surreal, but absolutely amazing. The venue is BEAUTIFUL and there are many authentic Turkish restaurants in close proximity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Culture Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A guy we met in Kusadasi told us about this show and we really were so happy we went. The building, small round teathre like, was a haman. It is a small place around 220 people capacity, but since is small, you get o see the dancers really close. We though it was going to be a big place and did not expect to be on the second of the three rows.
The Anatolian folk dances and the belly dancers were captivating, and we also saw a male belly dancer! We did not know this was also performed by men. We walked away very satisfied and it was well worthed the money!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodjapasha Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Hodjapasha Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodjapasha Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.