We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for A Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond City

Hotel Diamond City
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamond City to your Saves list
Hotel Diamond City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prof Muammer Aksoy Cad. No 16 Zeytinburnu, Istanbul 34010, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #818 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fine for A Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to travelling to Bodrum and 1 night on the return. First night we arrived the next door room were very loud and did disturb our sleep, walls are very thin so if you have noisy neighbours you WILL hear them. We spoke to reception the following morning and they did agree we could move rooms within the hour which we did. Thankfully this resolved the noise issue. Hotel itself is OK, basic standard and what I would quote as being a Travel Lodge style hotel. Cleanliness was OK, not the highest but certainly not dirty. Bathrooms were functional with most rooms having a shower cubicle with the obligatory missing handle to open the door or shower tap that would suddenly change from Shower to Tap whilst in mid use but they're not major issues, just part of fun on holiday. Breakfast room is actually quite nice, on the top level with nice views and Al Fresco dinning if you want. This hotel is not in the centre of Istanbul, but we would it convenient as the Olivium Shopping Centre is almost next door with various shops and a food court on top level. Tram line is about 15 minute walk up 3 blocks and then direct line to all major attractions and across up to Dalmache Palace. Staff were also friendly and did resolve our noise issue, maybe be a little cautious as some might try to sell you an expensive Bosphurus cruise or overcharge for posting postcards (5TL per card, maybe a mis understanding). Think if you are a well seasoned traveller with your wits about you and know you are to expect a friendly budget hotel which may be a bit rough around the edges, then you'll be alright here.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a good view even if it is street below or park across room - think rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I could write a book on how bad it was there were very thin walls and could hear people talking in the room next to yours very bad location with garbage on the paths, there were bird nest in the shoot and the pictures are nothing like the hotel, the food was revolting and no variety i dont reccomend it at all plus the manager was extremely stuck up and rude!!!!! no facilties or activities just a plan hardly 1 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Diamond City Hotel for 4 days which we had pre-booked from a travel agency when we were in Romania. Our Room #205 most importantly had a bath tub with plenty of hot water, which was so nice after an overnight train trip from Bucharest and after our long days walking around the ancient Sultanhemet area’s museums and shopping bazaars, in a cold mid-April. The bath tub has a circular door around it so that can practically turned into a steam room.
All the staff were welcoming and helpful from the reception to the breakfast room to the housekeepers, always smiling and greeting us. If some walls can be described paper-thin, we found that with a pair of ear plugs, any noise next door was cut off. Another recourse is to ring the desk clerk downstairs, and he will ask any party animals in the room next door to calm down. That happened in our case. The large 6th floor breakfast room was always open and we could make tea and espresso anytime and the breakfast buffet is abundant. That floor also has an open patio with a nice view of the Sea of Marmara. There is an inviting, green walking park next door and a great restaurant a block away with the best lamb chops we’ve ever tasted.
We found that the hotels in the Sultanhamet—old city in the same price range were very small and had showers, never bathtubs.
Bottom line: if you stay in the old city, you get less for your money: a very small room probably no bath/steam-room, plenty of Western Europeans, and no hooka pipes with dinner. The Diamond City also has a multi-storied mall that has a super-market, among other attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My stay at this hotel was very comfortable where I was in cozy room with stunning view and they serve delicious breakfast in a very beautiful terras. This hotel has a unique staff, very polite, so friendly and helpful. I'm so grateful for making my stay easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamond City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond City

Address: Prof Muammer Aksoy Cad. No 16 Zeytinburnu, Istanbul 34010, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #818 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diamond City 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diamond City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.