We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New hotel, over Renaissance standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barbaros Bulvari No: 145 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #214 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Brand New hotel, over Renaissance standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is very central and convenient if you are not a tourist that only want to visit Historical Peninsula. The lobby is modern and the staff was very friendly during my stay.

The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. The one that I've stayed was a regular room with sea view on upper floors. I really enjoyed especially the bath tub with a window outside.
The only con was the room size. Its very small. It seems are they almost equally divide the area for room and bathroom.

The roof bar is nice. It needs some improvement with their menu of spirits.

By the way its totally not possible to smoke in this hotel without getting wet when its raining. The roof bar balcony and non of the public places outside of the hotel entrance are covered. Thats a very important detail which the management should notice.

I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms and 212 Bar with beautiful Bosphorus view. Regarding the smoking areas we have two different location. One of them is the terrace of our Arts Restaurant and the other is our Living Room Bistro located on main floor, both covered with heaters. I sincerely hope that you will have a chance to discover these outlets too during your next visit.

Anıl Baydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
58
9
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed only one night, I chose this hotel because of the convenient location. I arrived late and left early morning so had no time to explore the hotel.
The rooms were nicely decorated, modern and trendy yet functional. The beds are very comfortable and the choice of pillows was great. I had a room on a high floor so I could see the sea.
The breakfast was rich and fresh and the staff was courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room so you get a glemse of the sea and the bosphorus bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotl closed their lounge.earlier this year and no one in the Marriott central desk knows this As stated by others location not too good so why should loyal Mariott guests stay there. The manager's "response" to one of the earlier complaints of a different guest on the lounge closure--was to put it mildly totally off the mark--not engaging at ll on their unilateral decision to elminate the lounge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

RRC_1976's complaint about the location of this fantastic hotel should be qualified:

Yes, it is a little far from sultanahmet (the old city), and the traffic can be brutal.
So if one is really only going to sultanahmet, it may not be the best choice.

That said, if you consider ALL of the attraction of istanbul (sultanahmet, beyoglu, ortakoy, bebek, etiler, etc), this hotel has a really unbeatable location.


I stayed at this hotel right when it opened back in September 2012... the executive lounge was one of the best in the world. I hear that its closed now...if I were to stay again without the lounge, this hotel would probably get 3 or 4 stars. HUGE mistake closing the lounge... that decision will kill the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us. I understand your concern regarding the closure of the executive lounge very well. But I’m happy to tell that we’re planning new services in order to ensure our guests could enjoy the beautiful Bosphorus view. I also like to thank you for your kind words about our Hotel location. Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel is well located at the center of City for business and entertainment life. For our guests who like to visit “Old City” there is several options to avoid the traffic like Tram or Subway nearly located to our Hotel.
We would like to welcoming you back to discover our new amenities and services in the near future. Kind regards,
Anıl Boydaş TINAZ - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

THe review is a bit late....I stayed there in October of 2012..... the hotel was brand new..... like any other Renaissance it was above average..... however, it was a bit small...... the rooms were nicely done up but were a bit too small..... the view that i had was OK - could see the city but none of the landmarks..... the breakfast spread was very good.... a bit of variety would however be well appreciated...... the menu for the restaurant (and there is just one on the premises) can be expanded some more for sure...... whatever was on the menu was well prepared and presented however.... the roof top bar was nice especially the view but again seemed to be a bit too cramped.... the lobby bar and lounge was very nice...... the problem with the hotel would be its location....... unless people have work in besiktas side..... staying here as a tourist would involve a lot of travelling to the main touristy areas and that means lot of time (and really lots of time) wasted in traffic jams...... otherwise this is a very nice hotel and one to which I would love to go back.......

Room Tip: room overlooking barbaros bulvari would be better.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Our offices are located in Besiktas district and we always struggled with hotels nearby. Existing choices are either too pricey or low quality. Renaissance Bosphorus Istanbul seems to offer a good value in between.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's by far the best hotel experience I've ever had staying at Renaissance Boshphorus. My every wish was granted. The staff was incredible from the spa, to the restaurant, to the concierge, I got to know most people by name. The service was personalized in a way I felt cared for like never before in a hotel.. I was suggested where to go and what to do by the navigator. I was questioned every time I came in how my experience was, what my favorite parts were, if I liked everything so far.

Renaissance is modern and sophisticated. The spa treatments I received were outstanding. I thoroughly enjoyed the food at Renaissance was superb, I tried everywhere I could think to get the full taste of what was offered. I have to say my favorite is their buffet.
With cheeses from all over the world, including a real parmesan block aged 20 years. Tastes of fruits and Kefirs, or the many meats and fish, the omelette bar to buffet foods. There was a whole honeycomb for my sweet tooth as well.

The rooftop bar had a gorgeous view of the city, on both sides you could walk out to the patio and view.

I highly recommend this hotel, situated by the Bosphorus bridge, it's still close to the tourist area of Sultanhmet square and easily accessible to the Asian side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel

Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 212 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.