We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design, good service, good food but nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi

The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi
Tomtom Mah. Istiklal Cad. Misir Apt. No:163 Beyoglu | Galatasaray, Istanbul, Turkey
2517991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #555 of 11,078 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Modern design, good service, good food but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Restaurant has really modern good design as you can see from restaurants in Europe. Service personal is polite and try to help you in a professional way as it should be anyway i have not seen any friendly approach.Quick service and good taste.table distances are Ok so you can enjoy your privacy while eating. Music is not disturbing. Prices are not cheap but they are not also expensive when you compare such a good restaurant. Give it a try to their apple ice tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    76
    24
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mx
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good , a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the place is very well located, for breakfast the prices are a bit expensive but the location and surroundings are worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When me and my sister went to Istanbul, we visit this cafe 5 times. It is not just the food that delicious, the atmosphere is chill and cozy, the music is good, and the staffs were friendly. Last but not least, it is located in the middle of the long Istiklal Avenue. I will comeback to The House Cafe if I ever visit Istanbul again, someday.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crazy expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was shocked by how expensive it was compared to what it offered. 40euros for 2 Brandy glasses, sitting outside in a simple yard, without heating and without anything coming with the drink.
Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. According to our customer service policy, each guest comment is valuable to us.

We would like to mention that our pricing strategy is based on the need to provide outstanding customer service at decent prices. Our prices are set according to the guidelines that are prepared by our general commission after a long market search, and feedbacks provided from our customers. Your comments will be taken into consideration. Thank you, for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
THC Customer Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fresh. Tasty. But Expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The House Cafe is a chain of high quality well designed cafes in interesting and cool locations.
Service is pretty good.
Salads and sandwiches delicious.
Coffee mediocre.
Atmosphere is great.
They do a mezze plate and quinoa salad to die for!

Well worth a visit ....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi also viewed

 

Been to The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Cafe Istiklal Caddesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.