We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realistic review with 3 f's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mese

Cafe Mese
Hudavendigar Caddesi No:27 Sirkeci | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
+90 212 519 1800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 11,086 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lippstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Realistic review with 3 f's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Good cheapish European food on Main Street in old town ... We ate here as is connected to Neorion hotel and had used for room service last time. Fried, friendly & fresh ... Don't expect any typical local cuisine here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    72
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple good value food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fresh food, great staff, welcoming, the menu is great for either a light lunch or a decent evening meal. A real find!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good place for quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice modern interior,reasonable prices,some traditional turkish dishes and some modern quick bites. Me and my partner were only people at cafe that time so service was good and fast. What is interesting this was the only place inIstanbul that serves ice with soft drinks. My Pacanga pastry was nice but not as crispy as i was expecting,my partner meze plate was quit average. Mains are decent portions, duck roti soft,slowly cooked dish could come with more sauce,my partner sea bass was also tasty but you can eat this type of dishes in many places.
TO SUM UP - GOOD PLACE FOR LUNCH WHEN YOU INTHE AREA BUT NOT WORTH TRAVELING JUST FOR IT OWN.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch! Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We came here for lunch today based on trip advisor and its proximity to our hotel. The menu is not traditional Turkish food but has really nice options for lunch. I had the steak salad which sounded a bit strange but was one of the best salads I have had traveling! The service was excellent, the waiter very attentive. We would easily recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was one of my favourite places to eat. Prices were good, service was great and food tasted really good. I would recommend you going here. The service was spot on, no hassle from our waiter, food arrived quickly, dessert came fast and when asking for the bill didn't take too long either. We went at a good time, it was too busy and not to packed, but by the time we left, it was full and i can see why.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mese also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.