We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose other hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kervansaray Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kervansaray Hotel to your Saves list
Kervansaray Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sehit Muhtar Cad. No:49 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #877 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Bialystok, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Choose other hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What I met during my stay in this hotel was comletely different I saw on hotel's web site. There was no swimming pool in this exactly hotel. The room was very small, the toilet in my room not clean, breakfest simple and poor. So, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    19
    17
    21
See reviews for
11
17
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

hotel is locate in the very city center of istanbul(taxim sqaure).
is inside a very quite pedestrian with many other hotels.close to the hotel you can find a big variety of restaurants and stores of all kinds for you typical shopping for every day,
Also the location is very convience cause from taxim sqaure you can take the bus/train to and from airport as well to visit major atractions.

public busess and Open bus's also start from taxim square,you can find also many taxis close to the hotel.


our room was a standar double room quite small for two persons with all the necessary thinks need it.
overall hotel is very clean with a very helpfull staff.
breakfast quallity is very good and variety of breakfast is a typical variey of a 4* hotel.

i would suggest this hotel for shorrt days stay in order to see the amazin city of istanbul.
its a very nice value for money hotel for budget travelers,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seemed an old hotel without any refurbishment for a long time. The rooms were good enough in size but very poor in quality. The bed was missing the above matress cover making the sheets slippery. During the three days stay I saw round 7 different staff at the reception desk and most of them were not very responisive. The hotel is very nicely located very close to Taksim square in a small street with limited traffic and small restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 13 Sept to 16 Sept. The rooms were small and bath room smelled terrible even when we closed the door. However the main problem with this hotel is its staff and very rude reception specially night shift. Very unpleasant people who treated guests as criminals and no respect at all. If i ever go back to Istanbul I'd rather stay on the street that this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It said it was refurbished. We are still wondering were it was. Definitely not in the bathroom. walls covered with mold, crashed tiles, dirt and dust. AC not working, main door easy to open without a key, just push a bit!! Bed .... a lumpy cropland and the pillow. no sleep at that place. restaurant with arrogant young girls serving cold food and trays after trays with mixed something we couldn´t identify. I thought nobody could spoil an boiled egg but they surely managed that too. Wifi worked in the lobby not in the rooms as they said. So recommendation, take another hotel when in istanbul!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very good location off taksim square, quiet street without traffic and lively shops and restaurants nearby. No other redeeming features, hotel dark and tired looking, staff tried but rooms were dingy , beds uncomfortable and smelt damp.air conditioning worked, room looked out onto enclosed space full off aircon oulets with negligible natural light, but worst were bathrooms very old and mouldy and in need of complete renovation like the hotel. A 2 star facility worth no more than 40 euros a night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiers
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

i stayed (thanks god) only one night there. It was really a depressing experience especially that the hotel was presented to me as a 4 star hotel. It is as best a 1 star hotel. It brought me 20 years ago, while in college. It is dirty, noisy, dark ...expensive ..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kervansaray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Hotel

Address: Sehit Muhtar Cad. No:49 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#413 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kervansaray Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kervansaray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kervansaray Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kervansaray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.