We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice decor, roof view, and location; but staff language barrrier and sense of urgency are sub par.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #592 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice decor, roof view, and location; but staff language barrrier and sense of urgency are sub par.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

All great, but sure would appreciate having someone who spoke better english during late check-in times. Staff seemed overworked and uncaring. Breakfast lovely. Location great. Roof views awesome. Design, decor and bed comfort well done.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Genel Müdür at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would to thank you very much for your feedback. It is good to hear that you had great experience during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    35
    11
    16
See reviews for
29
75
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We could have not asked for a better place to stay during our 7 night stay. Very clean, modern hotel with all the amenities needed. Manager Umut and his staff went above and beyond our needs. Amazingly good coffee available in the dining area. Typical size European double rooms as excepted in Europe. Very safe location , the Metro and Blue Mosque only a 2 minute walk. The Grand Bazaar only a 5 minute walk. We could have not asked for a better place to stay. We will be back in mid-August for a two week stay!

Ali and Annie

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Genel Müdür at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Annie,

We would to thank you very much for your feedback. It is good to hear that you had great experience during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited in the last two weeks of March 2013 for six nights, and we were very happy with our stay at L1 hotel; it was a great location and near to the amazing historical sights, with close by tram services. Staff at the hotel were very polite and hospitable, they were consistently helpful, especially the hotel manager - Umut Çevic, who made several reservations for activities at our own request including the Turkish bath and the boat cruise. We also had entertaining chats with Umut, whilst being served delicious breakfast at the hotel. Furthermore, the hotel room was clean, well presented and the roof terrace gave excellent views across Istanbul. Overall, our experience at the L1 hotel was delightful and would definitely recommend to family and friends!


From Mr & Mrs Shaikh

UK

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Genel Müdür at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Nafeesa,

We would to thank you very much for your feedback. It is good to hear that you had great experience during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hip look and modern design to maximize the use of the available space. For a couple of days and minimum luggage, we did not mind the size of the room because the location is so good. The only trick is for the taxi driver not to run up the meter to get there because it is in the heart of the Old Town, near Topkapi Palace and various museums. We got the room at a significant discount through Hotwire.com.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Genel Müdür at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Liz,

We would to thank you very much for your feedback. It is good to hear that you had great experience during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knapstad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good hotel, whit a good location. Close to Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and more. Nice and helpfull staff. The breakfast room was small though and the water in the shower kept changing temperature and was mostly cold. Still, all in all a great hotel that I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET and that we were able to make your stay more memorable.
Rest assured that we will pass on your compliments to hotel team members.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another return visit to L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET..

Thanks and best Regards

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The double room is so small I had to put my suitcase on the bed to open it. There is no chair, luggage rack, etc. because there is no room for even one of those. . This is a very, very small room.
Tragic that the owner installed glass walls around the bathroom to save room and save on renovation costs. The walls are opaque to only 3' to 3 1/2' feet from the floor so if you wish privacy your partner has to lay down on the bed. Just stupid.
Thankfully the AC is not central and works well after we had it attended to. The wifi also worked after we had the system reset.
Breakfast was really sparse. Later in the stay we found out we could have an egg cooked. There were a few flakes of 1 kind of cereal - not enough for a bowl and the other cereal container stayed missing for our entire stay. Fruit did not look in good shape, no yogurt, no toaster - no effort and no consideration of guests in this regard. We realize we are not in our home country but I find it hard to adapt at breakfast every day and I assume the hotel invites international guests. Breakfast was bread and coffee from an automated machine. There was never an attendant. The breakfast room floor, baseboards have probably not had a deep clean since renovations and are getting black.
The young people in charge are pleasant and would be helpful but often lack the professionalism of an hotelier.
The location is in a better part of the old city and convenient to a lot of sites - within easy walking.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upper floor room at the back of the hotel or you will be onto a high traffic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in Trip Advisor following your stay in L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET

We would like to kindly inform you that we have shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The L1 Hotel is located very close to most of the sites of interest in Sultanahmet with 5-10 minutes walking distance to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Great Bazaar.
The hotel has a modern look and the interior looked clean. We had a suite room with terrace offering everything we needed for our stay, it had good standard (not more, not less) and was cleaned every day. The room was not very big (enough to move around), but the terrace was large enough to relax after a day walking around in Istanbul, which is definitely a plus side.
There were some problems with the hot water in the shower and we had a bit of noise from the ventilation system during the night.
The staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly during our stay. Although there had been a problem with our booking, they helped us with having a comfortable solution.

Room Tip: When choosing a suite with terrace: rooms at the street side have evening sun, but may be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
We regret to know, that your stay was not entirely up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We have taken note of your constructive comments and will take the necessary steps to correct all the shortcomings for future,
Looking forward to welcome you once more at L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET

With best regards

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Address: Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tryp By Wyndham Hagia Sophia completeley refurbished and renovated in 2012 by a Turkish famous architecture He used a different design mainly by using red colour. Compare to the other hotels this hotel has modern design. Rather than Ottoman. The rooms are not big but cozy. It is for sure the best choice if you are looking for perfect location. its only 5 minutes walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue mosque. basillica Cistern. You will be right in the historical part of Istanbul. On the other side; its 5 minutes walking distance to Grand bazaar. and 15 minutes walking distance to the sea side. when you look for our hotel just look for basillica cistern district.. we are located on the other half of that district.If you are looking for a place that you can reach everywhere easily.. you will make the right choice.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.