We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #558 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Knapstad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, modern and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good hotel, whit a good location. Close to Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and more. Nice and helpfull staff. The breakfast room was small though and the water in the shower kept changing temperature and was mostly cold. Still, all in all a great hotel that I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET and that we were able to make your stay more memorable.
Rest assured that we will pass on your compliments to hotel team members.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another return visit to L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET..

Thanks and best Regards

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    31
    9
    13
See reviews for
28
66
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The double room is so small I had to put my suitcase on the bed to open it. There is no chair, luggage rack, etc. because there is no room for even one of those. . This is a very, very small room.
Tragic that the owner installed glass walls around the bathroom to save room and save on renovation costs. The walls are opaque to only 3' to 3 1/2' feet from the floor so if you wish privacy your partner has to lay down on the bed. Just stupid.
Thankfully the AC is not central and works well after we had it attended to. The wifi also worked after we had the system reset.
Breakfast was really sparse. Later in the stay we found out we could have an egg cooked. There were a few flakes of 1 kind of cereal - not enough for a bowl and the other cereal container stayed missing for our entire stay. Fruit did not look in good shape, no yogurt, no toaster - no effort and no consideration of guests in this regard. We realize we are not in our home country but I find it hard to adapt at breakfast every day and I assume the hotel invites international guests. Breakfast was bread and coffee from an automated machine. There was never an attendant. The breakfast room floor, baseboards have probably not had a deep clean since renovations and are getting black.
The young people in charge are pleasant and would be helpful but often lack the professionalism of an hotelier.
The location is in a better part of the old city and convenient to a lot of sites - within easy walking.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upper floor room at the back of the hotel or you will be onto a high traffic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in Trip Advisor following your stay in L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET

We would like to kindly inform you that we have shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The L1 Hotel is located very close to most of the sites of interest in Sultanahmet with 5-10 minutes walking distance to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Great Bazaar.
The hotel has a modern look and the interior looked clean. We had a suite room with terrace offering everything we needed for our stay, it had good standard (not more, not less) and was cleaned every day. The room was not very big (enough to move around), but the terrace was large enough to relax after a day walking around in Istanbul, which is definitely a plus side.
There were some problems with the hot water in the shower and we had a bit of noise from the ventilation system during the night.
The staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly during our stay. Although there had been a problem with our booking, they helped us with having a comfortable solution.

Room Tip: When choosing a suite with terrace: rooms at the street side have evening sun, but may be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
We regret to know, that your stay was not entirely up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We have taken note of your constructive comments and will take the necessary steps to correct all the shortcomings for future,
Looking forward to welcome you once more at L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET

With best regards

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The L1 Hotel in Istanbul wants to be modern and luxurious. I was in a group of 40(something) people, and I know some experienced faults in their rooms, such as fridge not working, handles falling down, etc. In my room - the shower flooded over the last two days - the drain was not working properly. But nothing was done to fix it.

Overall - an ok hotel, but missed an area to sit down - some sofas - a bar, maybe. I know that they have a very nice roof terrace, but since we stayed here in march (quite chilly..) - this was not opened yet.

The breakfast serving (buffet) was bad on the first two mornings, but got better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room relatively high up - some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in Trip Advisor following your stay in L1 HOTEL SULTANAHMET

We would like to kindly inform you that we have shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Umut CEVIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Chic design, very nicely decorated and great location for St.Sophia, Grand Bazaar and whatever you need in old town. The roof bar view is amazing. Must have cup of coffee or tea .... Must try if you want to stay on the old town. Suit rooms are excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Istanbul.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests. Your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.
I hope to welcome you back to theL1 Hotel Istanbul.

Best regards,

Umut Cevik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the L1 Hotel for 4 nights in a corner double room. The location of the hotel is a perfect walk-able distance to all the sights, and easy to find (great for our first time in Turkey). The room was clean enough (a few dusty corners and a forgotten shoe under the bed, but fresh linen and sparkling sink). The room is on the small side but has more than enough room for two travellers with backpacks. Little extras like slippers and shampoo are nice but at the price I'd expect them. Some reviewers have taken issue with the enclosed-in-glass bathroom, but this glass has now been given a fogging coating for more privacy. The shower is a little dark but sprung hot water so we were happy with it.

Wi-fi in the room was fantastic (only slow for a few peek hours in the evening), and having the TV was a nice way to end a day full sightseeing. What this hotel lacks is public spaces. The roof top terrace is gorgeous with wonderful views, but it was used only for a chilly breakfast every morning. I'm sure in the summer this space would be more utilised, but in November we were either in our room or out; the front lobby waiting space is a little unwelcoming. This being said, it probably is better to get out and explore the amazing city than sit in a hotel lobby.

We had booked a tour on our own that never showed and the hotel staff saved the day by getting us on a similar tour almost instantaneously. The staff were all well dressed and appeared professional, although the English in most was limited and some had none at all. I don't want to say they were unhelpful or unfriendly, maybe a bit indifferent. We didn't feel all that comfortable asking for directions or advice at the front desk. We used their airport transfer service to return to Ataturk and were very pleased to have a suited driver and a new comfortable van all to ourselves at 5 am. Well worth the fee.

All and all this was a good hotel that gives you exactly what you need without going above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul!

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests. Your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Sincerely,


Umut Cevik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visited in October 2012 and rate it highly! Perfect location close to the historical sights, small but very comfortable and clean rooms, with all the necessary amenities. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the top terrace offers a superb view that makes you want to spend the whole day admiring the city! Will definitely be staying there next time!

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor to be away from the outside city noise and closer to the great terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future many more occasions and provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality at the L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

Best regards,

Umut Cevik

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Address: Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tryp By Wyndham Hagia Sophia completeley refurbished and renovated in 2012 by a Turkish famous architecture He used a different design mainly by using red colour. Compare to the other hotels this hotel has modern design. Rather than Ottoman. The rooms are not big but cozy. It is for sure the best choice if you are looking for perfect location. its only 5 minutes walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue mosque. basillica Cistern. You will be right in the historical part of Istanbul. On the other side; its 5 minutes walking distance to Grand bazaar. and 15 minutes walking distance to the sea side. when you look for our hotel just look for basillica cistern district.. we are located on the other half of that district.If you are looking for a place that you can reach everywhere easily.. you will make the right choice.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.