We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #591 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hotel...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I booked room at this hotel after reading comments on many internet sites. The hotel has great location. Location is very important if you stay in a nice, peaceful and clean hotel. Hotel room was very small, mirrors everywhere which made me headache.

Room is clean and I could hear even what spoken from next room. There are people always screaming that is very annoying. I thought it was one of guest having problems but after realized that was owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in Trip Advisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

We would like to kindly inform you that we have shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    35
    11
    16
See reviews for
29
75
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

L1 is located within walking distance of all major sites: Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and others. A short cab ride to Taksim and other locations. There are shops, numerous bars and restaurants and things to do in the neighborhood. Granted the rooms are small but they make up for that in cleanliness and the awesome staff. If you are looking for an affordable hotel that is centrally located then this is your best choice!

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms which are more spacious (101, 102, 201, 202...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality at the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak Istanbul.

Sincerely,

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I must give special kudos to Recap, the manager and Julie, owner. They are so nice, friendly and welcoming and as a tourist I found this helpful...Only minor qualm is small rooms...didn't bother and they were well appointed....Price was good, $94...great Sultanahmet location and it is all new.....charming!

Room Tip: I like fact that hotel is on quiet block....not too noisey....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul!

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favourable comments from our guests.

We appreciate your worthy comment about our staff Recap and julia which is owner. We shared with L1 Hotel team. It is always rewarding to read such a comment. We will continue to pass on our passion for excellence to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality at the L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

Best regards,

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

L1 Hotel is in easy reach of many of the popular tourist attractions and just about everything is within a reasonably fit person's walking distance. (We spent 5 days here and other than taking the "City sightseeing" hop off hop on bus tour at the beginning of our stay, we saw everything we wanted to on foot)

The rooms are not huge, we had a "suite with terrace" on the 5th floor, which was a smallish mirrored room with a glass walled loo and huge mirrored shower - (if you are bashful about your personal hygiene this is not the place for you !) The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept in - the only problem was the noise from a boiler (or cooling system) on the roof terrace above us that ran more or less all night.

Our "terrace" had a little bit of a view which included part of the Bosphorous Bridge - and a very low balcony wall - definitely not suitable for children or party animals! The view from the roof terrace however, which appeared to be a "work in progress" while we were there, is absolutely astounding and will hopefully be incorporated into the hotel's best selling points soon. From here you can see for miles around Istanbul - from the Bosphorous bridge to the Galata Tower to the sights of Sultanahmet - fantastic!

Breakfast is served from about 7.30am in a canteen-like room on the ground floor - typical Turkish breakfast which is what it is - you either love it or hate it - thankfully I'm in the love category, but some people complain that it is repetitive but hey, when in Rome...! If you are looking for "hot" food" don't bother until nearer 9am!

The staff were very helpful in advising us where to visit, how to get there and arranging airport taxi etc. If you are looking for a good value, no frills hotel in a very convenient part of tourist Istanbul - you won't go far wrong at L1 Hotel!

Room Tip: Room 501 has a little bit of a view and there was very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul.

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet Istanbul.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests because of your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Best regards,


Umut Cevik

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aramco
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The L 1 Hotel was just what we were looking for. Inexpensive (US$ 80 including breakfast), great location in the Sultanahmet, and clean. Rooms are small but nice. There are mirrors throughout making them appear larger than they are. We stayed on the fifth floor and had access to a small staircase that led to great views of the Hagia Sophia from the rooftop. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were given a map and the lowdown of the town upon arrival. We had to leave one night early due to a family emergency and the hotel staff made the necessary arrangements for us on the airlines. We did not rent a taxi or take a tram during our entire stay. The L 1 is ideally situated for seeing the Sultanahmet's histoic sites: Hagia Sophia (5 minute downhill walk); Basilica Cistern (5 minutes); Blue Mosque (10 minutes); Topkapi Palace (15 minutes); Grand Bazaar (15 minutes); Egyptian Bazaar or Spice Market (15 minutes); Eminou for the Bosphorus Cruises (15 minute walk). There are many restaurants in the area. The best for us was Khorasani which is only a 5 minute walk toward the Grand Bazaar from the hotel. The tram stop (Sultanahmet) is about a 10 minute walk away. In summary this hotel will give you the basics for a good price. If you want luxury, a pool, and large rooms with an American style breakfast, this is not your place. For most traveling couples, the L 1 is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for extra sheets for your bed; Wifi works best at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favourable comments from our guests.As a L1 Hotel team will continue to pass on our passion for excellence to our guests.Your constructive feedback is also much appreciated as your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority and highest mission.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you again with the finest Turkish hospitality at the L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

Best regards,

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

good position for visiting, clean rooms, nice personnel. On the downside, no parking (nowhere in the area in fact) although they say everywhere that they have free parking, and this is the reason we choose the hotel, and the bathroom is all made of transparent glass (wierd!) so one can see everything that goes on inside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel.Our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable with outstanding service in this modern , new charming hotel and we hope to welcome you again to experience it. We also would like to inform you that we are constantly improving our services to achieve the deserved service level for our guests.

Thank you very much for choosing L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel new everything is excelent and new hotel peopel is great and viev is superrrrrr excelent also there is no better location. Directly next to hagia sophia, topkapi and grand bazar........ We can defenetly recomand for this hotel and 5000 tv cn an every where is excelent

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1Hotelistanbul, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Greetings from L1 Hotel Sultanahmet.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we as L1 Hotel Sultanahmet met your expectations and requests at a high-quality service level and also we ensure that you it is always our great pleasure to welcome and serve you very well at our Hotel.

Whenever you want to state more details regarding your stay experience at our Hotel, please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests.

We look forward to having you return to our L1 Hotel Sultanahmet on your next visit.

Best Regards

Umut CEVIK

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia

Address: Prof. Kazim Ismail Gurkan Cad. No: 12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly L1 Hotel Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #591 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tryp By Wyndham Hagia Sophia completeley refurbished and renovated in 2012 by a Turkish famous architecture He used a different design mainly by using red colour. Compare to the other hotels this hotel has modern design. Rather than Ottoman. The rooms are not big but cozy. It is for sure the best choice if you are looking for perfect location. its only 5 minutes walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue mosque. basillica Cistern. You will be right in the historical part of Istanbul. On the other side; its 5 minutes walking distance to Grand bazaar. and 15 minutes walking distance to the sea side. when you look for our hotel just look for basillica cistern district.. we are located on the other half of that district.If you are looking for a place that you can reach everywhere easily.. you will make the right choice.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Hagia Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.