We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gradiva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gradiva Hotel to your Saves list
Gradiva Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bankalar Caddesi No 2/1 | Karakoy/Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Total sympathy with reviewer Huang T. Club music from the rooftop bar pounded all floors until around 3am. I complained and was moved from 603 to 203 at around 2am. But there's no soundproofing, the pounding continued. So at 2am I made a cancellation of the rest of my booking and booked another hotel where I had a blissful 2 nights. Couple of other points: the staff, at first a little over-friendly, tried to get me to pay for the cancelled nights and were a little menacing about it. However, to their credit, they did call Booking.com, who readily accepted my complaint! (Do wonder who really owns this hotel and how it got review from NYT). The soundproofing to the outside of the building is very poor so the excellent location right in front of Galata Bridge is a bit of a drawback as traffic roars 24 hours. The rooms are very small, you have to walk sideways past bed to enter bathroom in 202! Both bathroom stank of sewage but staff kindly picked out the drain which improved it for long enough to use. No idea why NY Times recommended this hotel; poor judgement. Great pity. But be warned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
32
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
binghamton, ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I like others stayed here on the strength of the NY Times review. I should also state that I wasn't there on a nite where there was music. I think this is a good hotel, not a great one, and I would have felt a little better about it if it were a tad less expensive. It is well located (although on a busy intersection), close to the tram that takes you across to the historic sites, close enough to walk to the Istanbul Modern Art Museum and to Eminonu for ferries and such. The staff mostly speak English, but not all do, and this became an issue one night when I struggled to communicate my need for a late-night pharmacy. My room was comfortable but tiny. The restaurant was good for breakfast if you don't expect those large Turkish buffet style breakfasts, and i ate another meal there that was decent. Don't go for drinks because they are horrendously overpriced, and don't use their airport shuttle service (ditto -- twice the cost of cabs). All in all, I would say that this place has more pluses than minuses but that I would feel differently about it if it cost just a little less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After review NY.TIME recommendation, I booked your-Gradiva hotel from 16-20 May totally 4 nights as birthday gift of my husband, but it ends up to be a total nightmare!!!

First night, we arrived at midnight , our room-city view has been taken, so the last room available is 202,
no choice we have to stay the night over there, however the sound protection is so poor; we can hear all the street sounds including the conversation of people passing by. so we did not sleep that night.

Second night, the room got changed 602, we thought the problem has been solved, however when we arrive hotel at 2:00
in the morning, we can hear extremely loud music come from the roof top, we could not feel in asleep until 4:00, the time music ends.

Third night, same situation happened, we really can't stand it anymore, we complain to front desk, he told us the music will be end after 2, the reality is stops at 4:00 again.....

The last night is Sunday night, finally we can have a quiet night, when we check out, we were just very tired due to lack off sleepiness for the 3 night passed, left Istanbul with very tired body and bad memory.

The truth is the owner doesn't respact any coustomers benefit, having both DJ bar and Hotel is impossible specially it is a roof top type of bar with disco music, without any sound proof system in the room, we felt like been cheat, the purpose of hotel is for sleeping and take a good rest, this is a minimum standard and universal rule.

Indeed this hotel has good location, good stuffs, good decoration, but bad quality of soundproof including windows and walls, the bad is too hard, we are really wondering what's owner philosophy of managing a hotel...

we strongly advice the others NOT BOOK GRADIVA-a ture tourist trap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The smaller rooms are really very small. Bathroom is rediculously smal. Room 706 has the generator in the cieling so ear-plugs are a must. Disco until 4 am or so friday night, so the whole hotel is trebeling. Not even ear-plugs help for this... Our feet got black/dirty from the floor...
After 2 night we changed to room 301. Bathroom even smaller and door could not get closed. Drinks in roof bar overpriced. Breakfast downstairs good but no buffée. Beds quite hard. Nice service in reception and english speaking.
Without the nightly wake-up music, we could have given this hotel a 3 out of 5.... We took this hotel since it got a good rating by the New York Times, but they missed a lot to come to this conclusion. Location is great of course. Design very nice too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Gradiva for a week. Our room was comfortable and had a great view of the Hagia Sophia. The hotel breakfast was good and hearty enough for a long day of sight seeing. What helped the hotel stand out was the service. The staff helped arrange almost everything, including reservations at two of Istanbul's newest restaurants, private tours, and with taxis to off-the-beaten-path sights (we only know a few Turkish words). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a fairly new hotel that we came across in an article within a local newspaper it sounded very good so we decided to give it a try. We stayed here for 6 days and had mixed feelings about this hotel. Below is a summary of what we thought staying at this hotel.

The good
The location is very convienent. It is close to the action in beyaglu which was very helpful at night (This is where the locals hang out). Also close to the tram and a short walk to all the site but bring good shoes expect to do some uphill walking no matter where you stay.
The breakfast that is included was very good (ie actual brunch type of items at the restarant below the hotel)
At the surface the room looked nice and the shower was amazing!

The bad
The room was not clean (Look close enough and you will see stains and dirt in the washroom and the room). The cleaning staff did not do a good job as we say dust balls in places for our entire stay that were never cleaned.
The bed was very hard (This could be good depends on your preference)

The ugly
The washroom had a consistent stinge of some kind of sewage and because the room was small you could smell it everywhere as soon as you open the washroom door. To be honest we never had time to complain about this as we were tired after long days so who knows they may have been able to fix this issue.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mixed bag. I was there for business primarily but had a couple of days to see the city too. Great location in terms of both. Walkable or tramable to major sights. Don't just head over the bridge, explore up behind hotel, up to Galata tower and beyond to Istiklal Street and its side streets. If too tired to do the climb, get the funincular railway to top!

Room was fine for me. Decor minimal and aiming to be funky. Might be cosy for two. Bed comfy, bathroom cosy and drains sometimes whiffy, good shower.

Roof top restaurant overpriced, didnt eat there. Had evening dinner in groundfloor bar one evening, not great. But breakfasts were very good. Be warned: if staying on B+B basis, included is tea or coffee and one item only from menu. But most items were fairly substantial and very good, a great set up for the day.

Reception from staff was mixed. Lovely lady serving at breakfast and on reception, some indifferent or chaotic reception staff.

Cleanliness - there were plentiful Molton Brown products around, nice. Slightly disconcerting was the knock on the door one morning and a man with spray gun and mask came in (without asking if it was ok) and started spraying around the floors and bathroom - "pests" was the response to my question about what he was doing!!

Night club music was not too bad as i had earplugs and was on 7th floor, would steer clear otherwise and i wasnt there at the weekend so prob worse then.

Paid 70euro b and b.

Room Tip: Aim for high floors, away from club in basement. Ask for 702, 703 or 704 which face front and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gradiva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gradiva Hotel

Address: Bankalar Caddesi No 2/1 | Karakoy/Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gradiva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historical Peninsula, right where the Golden Horn and Sultanahmet district meets the Bosphorus, Gradiva Hotel has become the rising star and the symbol of the new face of Karaköy. Being in the middle of where Taksim –Istiklal street connects to Golden Horn- its only 180 metres away from hotel-, the location of the hotel offers an easy access to these very important touristic attractions via tramway, buses or by walking.With its dynamic and stylishly decorated interior design, the rooms at Gradiva Hotel offer complimentary Wi-Fi, iPod docking station, wireless phone, air conditioning, LCD TV with international channels and minibar.All rooms have a private bathroom with shower, highlighted with Molton Brown amenities and % 100 olive oil soap. Hairdryer, big sized safety box, laundry service, newspaper service are also provided as standart services.The rooms located on the front side of the building offer the view of magnificant Golden Horn, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and so on.The Professional and friendly front desk staff is available 24/7 with personalised service. Airport shuttle service can be organised at a surcharge. A la carte breakfast is also available from 7 a.m until 11 a.m at Bank Cafe in the hotel.Nublu Jazz Bar and Zelda Zonk rooftop restaurant are also entertain our guests with good music , good food and amazing view.The motto of Gradiva Hotel is “Loving Living” we invite you to experience our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gradiva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gradiva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.