We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noit the best place we have stayed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ortakoy Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ortakoy Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ortakoy Princess Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dereboyu Cad. No:10 Ortakoy, Besiktas, Istanbul 80840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #801 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Auckland, New
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Noit the best place we have stayed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We checked in and it seemed nice. On the way to our room we could smell the smoke as you were allowed to smoke in your room. On the cabinet by the television was a sign that said "please keep you television noise low so you dont disturb the other guests" at 9 pm that night a band started playing in the hotel that loud we couldnt even hear the television and it played every night we were there until 11.30 to 12pm. When I complained I was told to see management the next day.
The room itself was alright if not a little run down. There was another sign to leave on the bed to save water by not changing the bed linen every night. We thought that this was great but then there was no plug in the sink so any water saved was then used when shaving as you had to run the water. The staff were good and helpful and tried hard. On the internet the hotel advertised a swimming pool but even though it was summer the pool was not open while we were there. After the first night we tried to get other accomodation but all hotels were full or we would have left. If I go back this hotel will not be one I stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    28
    21
    25
See reviews for
6
14
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in June 2012.
Good position near Bosphorus but a fair distance from old Istanbul.
Service poor.
Rooms average and poor wireless internet coverage.
Breakfast ok standard.
Definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location of the hotel is close to the Bosporus and the staff on the desk had a good understanding of English. The room and bathroom facilities were quite pleasant. However my stay was marred by very loud party noises, band music and singing that came through to my room on 2 of the 3 nights of my stay. The noise was so loud that it drowned out the room television even when turned up and the music continued until exactly midnight on both occasions. This meant that it was impossible to attempt to go to sleep before 12am. So iIf you are planning a business trip that requires early starts, give this hotel a big miss as there is no guarantee of a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you do use this hotel, ask for a room well away from the breakfast/function room and pool area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Accomodation in this hotel was my first experience in Istanbul. We reached the place late in the night, broken. Got our room which had been paid in advance for four nights.
The ceilling was very low and had a strange whole in it, as if one rigips plate was missing. We uncovered the bed: a curly hair was smiling on the sheet. We called the reception, they came to change, excusing that sheets come packed from the laundry service and that hair actually di'dn't belong to anyone :D. We slept over night there, as there was no place to go at that hour, but in the morning we explained that we were disappointed and wanted to leave. I appreciate the fact that they understood and paid all the money back (minus one night we stayed there). It was a conference time for Istanbul by then, but helped by the touristic guide Turkish AIrlines distributes on the plane, we found available room in Plaza Hotel Istanbul. (please check my review of this place)

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT viewing the main road because there is terrible traffic and city life noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

very nice hotel, the rooms are nice and clean, the staff is helpful but the might want to improve their English

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location is very good. few minutes walk to sea front Bosporus and the bridge view .
Hotel is not so good for International travelers. rooms keys were a problem not opening.
It was one day stay for me on the way back to India from Bursa.
Getting to the hotel from Yenni Kappi by the Hotel pick up van took almost 2 hrs due to traffic jam. Ok for Biz . far off from other tourist place . except the Bridge.
Complimentary Break fast was good.near the pool side over looking the bridge . Nice view and pool was neat.

Room Tip: For view choose the rooms in the front. Nice sleep rooms at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night only during a business trip in Istanbul and I was very pleased by the fine breakfast, clean rooms and wonderful Bosphorus view. I learned that they have undergone a major renovation recently and the hotel became a much nicer place. I do not know the old one but the one I saw was very good. The hotel is located in one of the the most beautiful districts in Istanbul: Ortaköy. Its location alone is a big plus for the hotel. But if you would like to visit the historical city center, which is Sultanahmet and its surroundings (Topkapı Palace, Basilica Sistern, St. Sophia, Grand Bazaar, etc.) this hotel is a little far from them. If you will stay in this hotel, ask for the rooms which views the Bosphorus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ortakoy Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ortakoy Princess Hotel

Address: Dereboyu Cad. No:10 Ortakoy, Besiktas, Istanbul 80840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ortakoy Princess Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Ortakoy Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortakoy Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.