We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyuk Londra: Look Beyond History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Londres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de Londres to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de Londres
Mesrutiyet Cad. No:53 | Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #397 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Buyuk Londra: Look Beyond History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have been a regular guest at the Londra Hotel for 25 years. The Londra Hotel has the friendliest staff in all of Istanbul. They go beyond the normal hospitality of a hotel. I was very disappointed to see the reviews stating that the history and grandeur of the Londra has passed. How can history pass? In the hundred plus years of the Londra Hotel the history lives on. Films are made in the lobby along with Turkish soap operas. Famous people come through all the time. Ottoman antiques galore, gorgeous decor, and a view from the terrace of the Golden Horn. Staying at the Londra Hotel gives the traveler a chance to feel what the past was like. If you want a modern hotel, then check into their partner hotel Troya two doors down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
40
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Short story - not worth 150 Euros per night, even with a balcony. They can't continue to rest their laurels on the history of this place carrying them through as a business.

The staff were friendly enough but the rooms really let us down - a balcony over a parking lot and the busiest road in Istanbul, not even soap in the bathroom or drinking glassses in the room, an airconditioner over the bed that leaked water on my head during the night, sheets that didn't cover the bed, a worn out mattress that sagged in the middle, lumpy pillows that had been washed too many times, a stained blanket as the top blanket, etc, etc...

We stayed in a pension for 50 Euros per night that was much better (views, value and location) and i wish i hadn't booked this as a bday treat for my husband, it certainly wasn't a treat!

I have read through the reviews and i think it is interesting that it the higher ratings come from non-British people, I certainly hope they don't think that is the standard for this country!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I am a regular visitor to Istanbul, and booked into the Buyuk Londra because my usual hotels were full. It's not that the Buyuk Londra is terrible, it's just that it is still trading on its former glories, and you could get a lot better value for your money. Avoid the old unrenovated rooms at all costs. These are likely to be dirtier (especially the bathrooms), even if you don't mind being without aircon. The new rooms are better, but still make sure your room has been cleaned properly. Of course, the faded grandeur is fun, as is the talkative parrot in the foyer. The location is excellent, and the rooftop terrace bar is a lovely place to watch the sun set. However, one balance there is a lot better out there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is one of the original grand hotels, associated with the Orient Express. It has a wonderful feel of decaying luxury and if you like this, I can recommend it. Especially the main space/lounge on the ground floor full of 'stuff' with parrots evokes a by gone era without trying too hard. Some rooms in the past were also in the style, maybe not most convenient but the charm easily compensated for the lack of modern comforts. however, last time we stayed in a 'renovated' room, which sought to restore the old luxury but ended up being a cheap nouveau riche design with ugly colors, monumental yet crappy furniture. It thus seems like the hotel might be heading into the wrong direction, cheap and not well thought trough renovation rather than restoring what is there with care. Anyhow, go and stay there before it is too late. The location is also great, just a few minutes from İstiklâl Caddesi, the main street of Beyoğlu.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Great place, lots of old furniture, in the middle of the action and not too expensive.
Rooms are small but descent. However I wouldn’t recommend staying too long.
Ideal hotel for a weekend in Istanbul

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I booked to stay here for six nights from 28th April to 4th May and reserved one of their larger corner rooms (103). This contained a double and single bed, a writing table and another table, ample storage space and a decent sized bathroom with good shower cubicle. Need to run the water for a while though before it runs hot. The A/C worked fine as did the TV. I paid 120 Euros per night, which I thought was good value for a large room facing over the distant Golden Horn. There was an old mat in the bathroom, which needs replacing, but this is the only criticism I would make. Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment.

The bars are both good, with the roof terrace having fantastic views. The downstairs bar is just wonderful with its two parrots and juke box and the prices are decent by hotel standards - 2.5 TL for a tea and 6 TL for a beer. There is a laptop for guests' use free of charge as well. I only got on it a couple of times. They could do with another.

The location is fantastic, but the road can be very noisy at times (even through double glazing) thanks to the propensity of Istanbuli drivers' need to hoot at the slightest opportunity. Luckily I had my ear plugs handy.

Would I stay again. Yes, but probably from Sunday to Thursday to avoid the noisiest nights from the traffic. Also, Istiklal Caddesi is a little less crowded then.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Old-fashioned establishment with style and class.
Great staff as well.
Breakfast not worth the trouble.
If you like a hotel that turns the time clock backwards, büyük hotel londres is the place for you. Don't hesitate.
They also upgraded us, just like that - and that didn't hurt.
And the location, right off Istiklal, in the night-time part of town, is equally excellent.
If you decide not to stay there, at least go there for drinks. The lobby is a special place. And the parrots are a riot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Londres

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No:53 | Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buyuk Londra is one of the few establishments managing to survive from that era to our time. Passing through many renovations, the hotel still graciously reflects the atmosphere of the 1900's. With some of its rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and a lively bar, Hotel Buyuk Londra is the meeting point of many people – local and foreign- looking for something different and special... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel de Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Londra Istanbul
Buyuk Londra Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;