We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hotel in amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tashkonak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucukayasofya cad. Tomurcuk sok. no. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer !
Ranked #76 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Authentic hotel in amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, situated in a quiet street. The staff were incredibly helpful, welcoming and made me feel safe.

An authentic, Eastern mansion with twisted staircases and painted ceilings; if you are looking for a standard identikit hotel - go elsewhere! This is a hotel you can get happily lost in, exploring the various corridors and stairwells, emerging at the top onto the most amazing terrace. Breakfast is good, and served up here in the sunshine while the traffic builds on the Bosphorus.

The room was clean and the bed very comfortable, overlooking the secret garden which was softly lit at night. The haunting cry of the minarets can be heard from over the wall, it's not until you climb the stairs to the terrace that you see the impressive structure behind.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and intend to return (with treats in my pocket for the friendly little cat omnipresent outside the hotel!). Good value.

NOTE: if you use other transport (than the hotel's airport service) be prepared with good directions, my taxi driver spent 15 minutes looking for it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    314
    49
    2
    1
See reviews for
247
391
62
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LouiseW123
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a lovely hotel which I'd recommend to anyone. Great location for sightseeing and restaurants. Very helpful and welcoming staff. Good breakfast with excellent views from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

My partner and I decided to go to Instabul for a short trip in march. As both of us are from hotel business, it was not that easy to find the right hotel to satifsfy the needs of sales manager (me) and my partner (F&B Director).In the end our attention was attracted to Tashkonak Hotel- which turned out to be the right and the best choice ever.
Its a family owned hotel in the old town, 5 minutes walk to blue mosque and 10 minutes walk to bazar. So really everything was very close-perfetc location ever.
The rooms in the hotel are a bit small but very clean and:
1) wih a amazing balcony that faces the terrace restraurant down- hotel summer time restaurant.So if you are there in summer time -there is no need i guess to get out of hotel expcet for tours maybe))).
2)amazing view from the window up..... beautiful trees and birds singing ( i am a person from a big city so i dont even remember when was the last time i heard birds singing)

The meals that they served in the hotel was great.. starting with european breakfast in a restaurant on the top flor with a nice view of Istanbul.....blue mosque and finishing with great room service.So my partner was very satisfied.
But if you would like to go out and try other meals... There are lots fo restraurants near hotel so need to rush to a modern part of Istanbul.

Staff in the hotel were very helpful and very friendly.

Highly recommend this hotel. Definitely we will stay in this hotel when we get there during summer vacations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and really loved it. The hotel staff is amazing, so sincere and nice and willing to help out with whatever we needed. Rooms are cozy and comfortable. Great breakfast on balcony with fantastic view. After a long day of walking around in Istanbul, this hotel was so nice to come "home" to, especially when the staff greets you with a cup of hot apple tea.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Warm and Helpful Staff, Great Location, and Great Value
We stayed for 4 nights at first and loved the place that we booked for two more after a short trip to Capadocia. The staff made the hotel extra special. They treated us like friends, and they went above and beyond with their service. The location was superb -- just a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque in Sultanahmet, and a few more to most everything else. We had two different rooms, which, although not large, were beautiful and nicely comfortable for two people, and of great value. In fact, our stay included a buffet breakfast with a large variety of food to choose from. Definitely recommended for value travellers out there, or those who prefer a warm and friendly family atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västra Götaland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Couple from Göteborg
This hotel lives up to the description on its website. The pickup service from the airport was excellent and the staff were waitng to greet us when we arrived at the hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable and overlooked the pleasant terraced garden.
The breakfast room is at the top of the hotel and has a breathtaking view. It is a buffet with plenty to choose from. All the historical sites are just a short walk from the hotel. The manager was always on hand to answer our questions on where to go and where to eat. It really did feel more like staying in a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed here as a couple 3 years ago and were impressed. We visited this time with our family and the staff and hotel lived up to our expectations.
The location is great at the rear of the Blue Mosque; all the main sites are easily accessible with a local tram stop that takes you easily to the Grand Bazaar, to the ferry point at Eminuno (ferries to the Asian side), or across the Golden Horn.
The hotel organises an airport pickup from both Istanbul airports.
Communication with the hotel by email was easy and efficient, this was important as our plans changed but our revised needs were willingly met.
The hotel is based in old buildings and some internal staircases will have to be climbed, but the view from the rooftop conservatory where breakfast is served and light evening meals can be taken is superb.
We suspect that rooms 107, 207 and 307 are the most spacious, but these rooms are to the rear and the call to prayer from the Blue Mosque is loud, if that might be a problem perhaps a room at the front may be quieter.
The hotel Staff are very helpful, provide sound advice if required and are all keen to ensure visitors enjoy their stay.
On balance a great little hotel, very Turkish, moderately priced, very comfortable, great location, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya cad. Tomurcuk sok. no. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is a tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tashkonak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.