We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value location & staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tashkonak Hotel to your Saves list
Tashkonak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucukayasofya cad. Tomurcuk sok. no. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer !
Ranked #76 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value location & staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located right behind the blue mosque, this is a easy and safe location that allows you to explore Sultanahmet on foot. We stayed three nights and really appreciated the warm and helpful staff, comfy rooms, great breakfast and the nice escape on the rooftop. I wish we could have stayed longer! For westerners the trickiest thing is being so close to the minarets when call to prayer happens in the middle of the night, but that is going to happen no matter where you stay! Internet access was also reliable, which was a plus. We got our room at a very reasonable rate - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    349
    52
    5
    2
See reviews for
270
432
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Welcoming, friendly and helpful - this meant we had a good base from which to explore Istanbul. Reception staff were always keen to help with lots of local information. We had a super room for three adults with a double single and sofa bed - it looked pristine when we return each day. Fabulous breakfasts with a good variety of dishes, served on the terrace where the views are stunning. Staff so polite and friendly. Would love to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Twas our first time to visit Istanbul and It did nto dissapoint me. The Staff was very well trained and hospitable. The hotel was very clean, and relaxing and the food was fresh. The staff additionally gave us some tips and helped us in our tour. I will definitely go back if I have time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time to visit Istanbul and this hotel has been recommended to us. We do not expect how nice the staff are and how they make all their guests so special..Hotel is clean, the food is good and location is very acessible as well...2 thumbs up for Tashkonak Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was not our original hotel but due to some unforeseen circumstances our travel agency made the switch to Tashkonak Hotel. In deed it was one of those last minute switches that you will never regret. I was with a group of 5, and it was all our first time to be in Istanbul, and who know's what's stored for us. Being all by ourselves gave us that little doubt that our trip will be easy. The staff of Tashkonak did just the right thing we needed. We came in early and they did not hesitate to check us in, provided us maps and things that we can do in Istanbul and how we can maximize our time. Staff are very courteous and hospitable, we never felt we're tourists, it's just like coming home to mom's house! Very close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Tram, Shops, Restaurants, etc.. Rooms are small compared big hotels, but it's clean, good location and great staff made it special. The top floor gives you a good view of the Bosphorus river, while enjoying breakfast. Thank you Tashkonak, (Hayanati and Ismail) for our comfortable stay!
For sure we will be back in Istanbul and staying at Tashkonak. =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We normally stay at budget hotels, so we splurged on our last few nights in Istanbul. This hotel was very nice and we appreciated having a bigger and more well appointed room. It was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Location was good as well.

Room Tip: The upper levels are quieter, but try not to be right below the roof top patio, it can be noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at the Tashkonak when we visited Istanbul. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The free dinner was great! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great location too...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya cad. Tomurcuk sok. no. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#87 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is a tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tashkonak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.