We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sapphire to your Saves list
Hotel Sapphire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey (Sirkeci)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 and were bowled over by the helpful, friendly staff in the reception who managed to find a room for us when we arrived at 10am and offered to give us coffee /breakfast until it was ready. Its an easy walk to Topkapi palace, St Sophia, Blue Mosque and other sites and to the Spice market and there are plenty restaurants nearby. Room was clean and bed comfortable. A wide selection of food for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    497
    84
    16
    3
See reviews for
257
921
151
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, April 2013, as part of package which , unfortunately, included evening meal for 2 nights. The location is ideal, the room was clean & comfortable - only minor gripe, a big step over into the bath for a shower (this seems a feature of a number of hotels in Turkey). The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel, however, is let down by the food which at best was uninspiring and loses the hotel at least one point in my rating.

It is a shame because there are so many good restaurants nearby. My overall assessment, stay there - it's great - but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms give good views of Bosphorus bridge, esp lit up at night, or Hagia Sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location is excellent- you could not be closer to the important sights in Istanbul, and the tram is 5 minutes or less away should you need to get somewhere else. Staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly, especially the front-desk who were more than helpful. Rooms are very clean and bed is very comfy. The only admittedly small gripes I had were a poor (almost non-functional) WIFI, the room was quite small and personally I wouldn't rave about the breakfast. Regardless, I would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, Devon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from another visit to Istanbul and chose to stay at the Sapphire Hotel again. It is well located, clean, friendly and with attentive and informative staff. We only stayed for a one night stop over but we were still made to feel very welcome. Since last year the hotel has refurbished their breakfast area and this has made things even better. The basement dining area is attractive and the choice of food is most acceptable with a range of Turkish and European dishes to choose from. We will definitely consider staying at the Sapphire Hotel again!

Room Tip: Having stayed at the hotel twice, the rooms at the back seem quieter. If you are a light sleeper lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located in Sultanahmet and close to most of the major historical and archaeological sites, the Hotel Sapphire was a respite from busy days. This hotel served the best breakfast I have ever seen in any hotel in many years of travel. There was a vast array of delicious food on offer from pure kiwi fruit juice to halva and omelettes made for you on the spot. The hotel also served us with pomegranate juice and Turkish delight upon our arrival. The only drawback was no fan/ventilation in the bathroom. Excellent location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom with some ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were thrilled with our experience at this hotel where we atayed for 7 days. The location was perfect, being on the boundary of Sirkeci and Sultanahmet. This means the best of both worlds: the bustling pier, Galata Bridge and cheaper local eateries are a few minutes walk away on one side of the hotel and Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern etc are within easy walking distance on the other. The tram stop is less than a 5 minute walk away and the hotel is in a pedestrian area making for a lovely general environment. The rooms are clean and well-furnished with double glazing making them acceptably quiet. Ours was larger than most (see tip below). The staff are excellent: Well trained in their duties, fluent in English, consistently polite, extremely efficient, friendly and a pleasure to interact with. Lastly (but most definitely not least!) the breakfast was outstanding, especially considering it is included in the very reasonable room price. All sorts of Meze foods like olive tapenade, varieties of olives, peppers, roast veg, fresh fruits, varieties of cold meats, cheeses, breads (both savoury and sweet) and pastries, cereals, large bowls of chocolate nutella-like spread, a large honeycomb to chop off your honey from, preserves, salad and soup of all things! Eggs prepared as you wish and sausage for English breakfast aficionados. Turkish tea or multiple other choices and coffee end off the meal with a few pieces of halva. No lunch required!

Room Tip: We were initially given a room with twin beds which was small. We asked for a double bed and were mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel and my husband and I stayed there seven nights. The rooms are small but nicely furnished. The hotel is spotless and very well located in the city’s old part.

The service is excellent and they make you feel welcome at any time. The front desk employees were very polite, answered all our questions efficiently and helped us a lot.

The breakfast buffet is extended, but we did not like most of the items offered. It was an oriental buffet with many salads, olives and other similar items and we would have liked a more continental kind of food.

Istanbul is a very interesting and nice city and hotel Sapphire is a nice and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#65 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.