We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sapphire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sapphire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey (Sirkeci)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is located very central, excellent for visiting most of the atractions of the city. It is also very close to the main city-center line of tram.
The staff is very polite, opened and make you enjoy the days you spend in the hotel.
The rooms are very well maintaned. The space in the room enough for city trip, almost all the facilities you need. Bathroom and sheets clean. Breakfast very good and plenty of varieties.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,072
    426
    67
    14
    3
See reviews for
219
818
133
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel location is excelent, walking distance from the main tourist attractions. Staff very friendly, very nice, always with a smile. Rooms very confortable, breakfast with a lot of diversity.
The hotel have a free shuttle bus if you are staying more than 3 days otherwise you need to pay but reasonable price. The hotel gave me some nice souvenirs from Instambul upon my check out with make me feel even more especial. I totally recomend the hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy the amazing city of Istambul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great hotel location for access to restaurants and the main tourist attraction like the Blue Mosque and the bazaars however it is on the opposite side on the river to where all the main bars and clubs are. The hotel was very well priced for Istanbul, with good sized rooms and a nice breakfast. We did have a slight issue where our safe battery ran out one night and we couldn't open it. This meant we had to wait until the next morning for the manager to come and sort it out. Luckily this didn't cause any problems but it did make us realise that in the future we should not lock the safe on the last night in a hotel. Once the battery is dead the safe doesn't unlock so engineers are needed to retrieve your passports etc!
Overall a good experience staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is very nicely situated in the Sirecki district of Istanbul, very near to the Aya Sophia, Blue mosque and Topkapi Palace. Great value for money, warm rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast more than adequate with as much as you can eat. Comfortable lounge area and free, reliable, wifi internet in all the rooms.

Room Tip: Back rooma have no view but are quiet. Front rooms overlook bustling side street but maybe a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for our first visit to Istanbul. Hotel is very well located for all the main sights and very near the tram too. Lovely inexpensive restaurants all around and in a cobbled pedestrian street. Right from the moment we arrived staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Room was good and had everything we needed and well cleaned every day. We booked well in advance so the price was very competitive. Breakfast was a buffet with freshly cooked eggs/omelettes to order and everything else one could want catering for a range of nationalities and tastes. Then when we left in a taxi very efficiently organised for us, a parting gift too! We will definitely go back. We didn't have time to use the pool so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of about 20 small Ottoman hotels in a safe cobbled street area that is very central and very accessible to all the main sights. My superior room was small but well appointed and furnished. It had all I needed for 2 days of sightseeing and the price on Booking.com was very reasonable. It is 100 m from a tram station, from which you can get to anywhere you want to go.

The hotel staff seem driven to provide excellent service. I got all here that I needed that I got at a top hotel, except for the size of the room. The breakfast buffet is good and broad enough for most western and local tastes.

Down the same cobbled streets are a whole number of restaurants that offer a wide range of local fare that most western tastes will find enjoyable, and one is within walking or tram distance from the Galata Bridge, with its fish restaurants.

It got to the hotel easily from the airport, using the M1 Metro train and then changing over to the T1 tram line, changing at Zeytinburnu, and alighting at Gulhane tram station. Just 3 TL per trip, get your access token at the "Jetonmatic" machine at each station.

From the hotel, if you are energetic, you can walk to the Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Galata Bridge, Galata Tower and the main shopping street in Galata (Tunel to Taksim). If you need some help with the hills, or just don't want to walk, use the tram and the funiculars. Very cheap. You don't need a taxi. Don't even think of hiring a car - it will just be a problem for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have recently returned from a short break in Istanbul. We stayed at the Hotel Sapphire, we booked this hotel because it seemed so central for everything that we wanted to see during our short stay. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with warmth from the start. The reception staff were very welcoming to say the least. We were given a free welcome drink and asked was there anything in particular we wanted to see during our stay. We were told about excursions (no pressure) and told that if we wished we could ask reception anytime and they would book a trip for us should we wish to take one. That day we had a free day but on returning to the hotel we decided to book the half day cruise of the Bosphoros with a visit to the Dolmabache Palace. We had a fantastic time and our guide was brilliant. We had a lovely breakfast the following morning with plenty to choose from plus poached eggs or omellets cooked to order. We did not have time to use the pool or spa facilities but we did take a look and it all looked lovely and clean.
Overall this was a lovely hotel in a brilliant position very central, on a quiet street very close to lots of good restaurants too and we will definately return there on our next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sirkeci , Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.