We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saty for our Marathon Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sapphire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sapphire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey (Sirkeci)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
coop16
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Saty for our Marathon Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was one of the best value for money hotels I have stayed at in Europe. The rooms were small but wonderfully decorated, large bathrooms with powerful modern shower, great in-room amenities (slippers, mini-bar, kettle with teas and coffees, etc). Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful all around. Breakfast had a huge seletion of sweet and savory items, pleasing for any tastes. The location was perfect for exploring anywhere in the Sultanamet, and the staff were very helpful organizing transportation elsewhere and ensuring fair prices. They offer a free airport pick-up shuttle (although we had to wait while to depart as we were waiting on arrival of other guests at other nearby hotels)... so if you are in a hurry to get from airport to hotel, this may not be the quickest option. The only complaint I had was that there were some loud men staying in the room next door that were quite 'vocal' until late at night, and the walls are quite thin, so we had trouble getting to sleep early, which we needed to do due to an early start for the maraton. Complimentary drinks, sweets, and little gifts on arrival, and a larger gift on departure. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone, as it was 1/2 the price of any other hotel I looked into and was absolutely fabulous!

Room Tip: Although not many rooms have 'views' as it is right in the middle of the old town, we asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,072
    425
    67
    14
    3
See reviews for
219
818
133
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is very well situated as it's very close to all main city attractions, close to a tram station and still is located on a quite street. The room was small but clean and well-equipped including tea amenities, robes and slippers. Breakfasts were not extremely tasty but we never leaved with empty stomach. I would definitely recommend the hotel and return there myself.

Room Tip: Our room 505 was very quite and had a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I happened across the Hotel Sapphire on the net and decided to book it for three days of my trip to be close to the Old City. The location was perfect. It is situated in Sirkeci, just between Eminonu and Sultanamet. You can easily walk to all the historic sites, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Egyptian Spice Market, Hippodrome, et cetera. For those who want to take the tram, it is just around the corner.

Breakfast is included, and it more than anyone could rightly expect with fruits, vegetables, cheeses, bread and pastry, tea and coffee, and even an omelet man who will make your eggs to order. My favorite was the hazelnut cream. When I arrived too early to check in my first day looking to store my bags and venture about, the manager nearly insisted that I have breakfast while I waited.

Finally, they desk staff were very helpful. Having been caught out by hurricane Sandy, I needed to stay an extra day...no problem. Needed to book a shuttle to the airport at 2:30 in the morning...no problem.

There are no frills here, rooms are average in size and amenity, but clean and well suited to seasoned travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an excellent hotel right in the middle of the old city. It is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to the major attractions in the old city (including the Bosporus boat tour pier) and spice Bazaar. There are plenty of restaurants, small groceries, and laundries right outside the hotel in the neighborhood. It is a 2 minute walk to the tram that gives you access to other parts of the city including a direct ride to the airport. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. When you arrive they sit down with you - provide a drink and sweet - and go over the city map, etc. When we took a one day trip to Ephesus and had to wait in the lobby for our transportation to the airport at 5:00 a.m., the staff opened up the buffet room early so we could to have coffee and grab a bite to eat. Further, when our car was late, the staff called at 5:00 a.m. to track them down. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is one of the best you are going to get in any city with plenty of food and an omelet bar. Minuses - the bathrooms are small and the tub/shower hard to get into because the tub is high off the ground and the sliding glass doors awkward to navigate. The walls between rooms are very thin. NOTE: when you ask the staff about tours and restaurants, etc.the staff will direct you to the more expensive private tours, etc. This is a standard trait in Istanbul when you ask anyone (not just the hotel staff) for recommendations - they'll directly you to the more expensive options - not necessarily the best options. Doing research ahead of time can save you money and enhance your tour experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was perfectly situated in the heart of the old town of Istanbul within walking distance of the main attractions, the tram system and the Bosphorous - very easy to get around Istanbul. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was a feast. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom adequate, although the shower was difficult to access because of the style of the shower screen. There were plenty of shops and restaurants close by and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a visit to Istanbul. We visited in July which was perhaps the wrong month because of the soaring temperatures. It was just too hot to wander around - but we did and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Walk to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Sofia, Basilica Cistern, tram stop, lots of restaurants, the spice market,and the ferry for the Bosphorus cruise. Room is small, bathroom is small, and the walls are thin! Huge breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sapphire was our first hotel in istanbul, great location in a very pretty cobble stone street with vines covering part of it, good restaurants close by, best breakfast we had in 6 weeks in Turkey, a large buffet which started early which is good as many hotels start way too late for those of us who want to beat the tour buses.Check when the omeletes are served as we liked to leave early and missed them as I think it was about 8 We are fit seniors and walked to all the hot spots during our 4 day stay including Topkaki Palace, Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque, Spice Bazaar, the Eminou where the ferry boats leave. Find the tram line and just follow. It is very easy to find your way around istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sirkeci , Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.