We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sed Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sed Hotel to your Saves list
Sed Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Omer Avni Mah. Muhtar Leyla Ildir No 6, Istanbul 80040, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #410 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unsatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Over all fair. The room is so small, the breakfast is great but the air conditioning is really bad. Although I asked the reception many times to fix the problem but they kept giving me excuses. So if you are planning to spend the summer in Istanbul it's better not to go to Sed Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
20
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Such a great place to stay..

Sed Hotel has an imprssive service, above all the service level. This quality of service started when we picked up from the airtport. For 4 days reservation hotel arranges free airport transfer.
This continues with the introduction to the spacious room with Bosphorus view with complimentary coffee tea facilities, welcome drink, etc.
Paticularly, the Terrace Restaurant was surprised with it’s marvellous Bosphorus Wiev , impeccable and truly friendly staff ,together with the well prepared food makes this a holiday destination to remember with great pleasure.

Room Tip: please try to book a room with a bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good hotel, clean and ok breakfast. Good location but on the middle of a hill so not appropriate for older travelers or those with kids.
I paid 90 euros for me and my wife via booking.com because it said there was a spa.. The swimming pool/ Spa (as it says on Booking.com and the hotel website) is a big lie. There isn't any spa in the hotel, I had no answers from the hotel staff of whats going on they just told me it is not open! But there is no space for a spa in the hotel. It must be removed from booking.com because it is very misleading I paid about 90 euros for that a night, but the hotel itself doesn't worth more than 50 euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel team very friendly, the break fast / dinner in the restaurant at the top has a very charming view. The surrounding area could not be better for a first visit to Istambul, very close - walking distance - to the main attractions: Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, both Bazars and Topkapi, note that its Haren closes much sooner than the rest, as we did not know we paid entrance again next day, but it worth any way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As a business traveler I expected some better hotel to be booked for us, as there was not satisfactory service in 4 or 5 star class. It was not terrible but accessing the business event's (Musiad) required a relatively long distance trip by taxi.
Good wi-fi accessibility, good breakfast, and friendly reception people are on the positive sides of the Hotel specifications.
If you travel with a delegation that requires transferring with bus, don't count on this hotel because there are very narrow and steep access streets to it so that a long bus have no proper way to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Conveniently situated at half height between final stop of tram no 1 and Taksim place. Beautiful view over the Bosporus from higher floors. Breakfast only OK, but bread not crisp. We did not sleep well in any of the nights because the room was very hot - it had not been aired for a while, the air conditioning did not work. Live music is very loud - this we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My whole family stayed at this hotel during May of 2010 for approximately 10 days. I have very good memories of my trip to Istanbul and part of this is due to the Sed Hotel.

The positives:

-Close, but not too close to Taksim Square. If you don't know, Taksim is the major shopping and "fun" center of the city, comparable to Times Square. It is also a bustling restaurant area with lots of nightlife. The Sed Hotel was about a 15-minute walk to Taksim, albeit up a very steep hill (definitely lost a few pounds). I enjoyed being able to go to Taksim anytime without having to deal with the constant crowds.

-Short walking distance to the district of Besiktas (all downhill!), which has the Dolmabahçe Palace, a train stop where you can catch the tram to the blue mosque, and also the shores of the Bosphorus where you can take lovely boat tours. We enjoyed visiting a little bakery just down the hill from the hotel.

-The hotel restaurant is located on the top floor and offers STUNNING views of the city, you can see the Hagia Sofia, the big bridge, "Asia", and the beautiful Bosphorus.

-Traditional Turkish breakfast available every morning, as well as yummy dinner

-Live music regularly (yes, you will be able to hear this from your room). We were on vacation, so we really enjoyed being able to experience local music almost every day.

-Extremely courteous staff

Negatives:

-Rooms are small, but ours had lovely views and was quite clean. Note: the higher floor you are on, the more you will be able to hear the restaurant music

-some noise issues

-We had a hard time getting enough towels to the room


Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there for the overall location, cleanliness, and the views.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sed Hotel

Address: Omer Avni Mah. Muhtar Leyla Ildir No 6, Istanbul 80040, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sed Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sed Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.