We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #664 of 939 Hotels in Istanbul
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect...easy to go everywhere. ..

We stayed as family with 2 kids and got extra bed in our room and the room was spacious and great. ..It was the executive new room....

Breakfast is very good according to the price we paid in a hotel in the heart of the city and with that quality. .

I stayed in a room on 1st floor back area and was no noise. ... The beds were comfortable ...

I would stay again in it if have the chance again...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    55
    34
    20
See reviews for
37
49
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iran, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were there for 4 days from July 17-21,2014. We found the hotel location great but the room was small however we did not stay in the hotel.
You should not expect a ideal hotel facilities.It's a Average 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Long trip to get here, bad traffic and the site map took us to the right area but not the right place, took some finding, so by 8pm tired and may be a bit grumpy, checked in and the guy took our car some where (parking is not on site and must be paid for) got to the room, didn't quite look like the picture on the internet and the beds were single not a double, ok room but the bathroom was yucky, the floor was covered in water, the shower was full of black mould! I called the reception and asked to move room, a guy came to the room to look and couldn't understand why we weren't happy with the shower being full of black mould, another guy turned up and was much more helpful, he took us to a different room, this one smelled damp and the bathroom ceiling was wet through, 3rd room, was fine, still single beds, but clean and a bit more like the pictures. The next morning I didn't hold out much hope for breakfast, but it was actually really nice, good selection, great view, a cheeky seagull on the air con unit looking in. Great location right on Taksin square, right by the metro, restaurants and bars, so all turned out great in the end. The cartoon theme is a bit creepy and I had to cover the Mickey mouse picture in the bedroom as it was freaky!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spend in Cartoon Hotel 3 nights (11-14/6/14)
Excelent location 1 minute from TAXIM SQUARE.
Very kind staff, very clean hotel. recommanded.
Breakfast on 9th floor and only one elevator
Odette and Ramy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It's at a great location and quite reasonable.
The staff is friendly & helpful. The breakfast very good.
However the name and the themed corridors of cartoon characters really are most incongruous with a 3 star rating - a bit of a put-off......
Would surely recommend it if you're the typical tourist just needing a good nights sleep & wholesome breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I was super disappointed with this hotel's Shockingly Bad service. I will never stay here again.
Just some of the highlights:
Room cleaning staff must be completely untrained. The room was always in a mess with dirty clothes and towel thrown on top of clean ones.
The reception staff were not happy to see us.
Breakfast was suitable only to Asians and not Europeans tastes.
Hardly anyone spoke English.
Our stay here almost Ruined our trip to Istanbul.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in Cartoon Hotel for three nights. Excellent location at Taxim Square very close to the funicular and Istiklal Street. The breakfast spread was very impressive for a hotel of this category. The front office was very helpful and the wifi speed could not be faulted. The only problem was the housekeeping and the fact that they charge for bottled water whereas it is the standard practice for hotels to provide at least one bottle per day and then charge for subsequent usage. But the main irritant was housekeeping, the room was neither vacuumed nor swept for three days, which can easily be rectified by better management. Otherwise would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.