We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CARTOON HOTEL - EXcelent. Recommanded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 963 Hotels in Istanbul
Tel Aviv
1 review
“CARTOON HOTEL - EXcelent. Recommanded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spend in Cartoon Hotel 3 nights (11-14/6/14)
Excelent location 1 minute from TAXIM SQUARE.
Very kind staff, very clean hotel. recommanded.
Breakfast on 9th floor and only one elevator
Odette and Ramy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    59
    34
    20
See reviews for
39
50
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It's at a great location and quite reasonable.
The staff is friendly & helpful. The breakfast very good.
However the name and the themed corridors of cartoon characters really are most incongruous with a 3 star rating - a bit of a put-off......
Would surely recommend it if you're the typical tourist just needing a good nights sleep & wholesome breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I was super disappointed with this hotel's Shockingly Bad service. I will never stay here again.
Just some of the highlights:
Room cleaning staff must be completely untrained. The room was always in a mess with dirty clothes and towel thrown on top of clean ones.
The reception staff were not happy to see us.
Breakfast was suitable only to Asians and not Europeans tastes.
Hardly anyone spoke English.
Our stay here almost Ruined our trip to Istanbul.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in Cartoon Hotel for three nights. Excellent location at Taxim Square very close to the funicular and Istiklal Street. The breakfast spread was very impressive for a hotel of this category. The front office was very helpful and the wifi speed could not be faulted. The only problem was the housekeeping and the fact that they charge for bottled water whereas it is the standard practice for hotels to provide at least one bottle per day and then charge for subsequent usage. But the main irritant was housekeeping, the room was neither vacuumed nor swept for three days, which can easily be rectified by better management. Otherwise would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esfahan
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 days in cartoon hotel.the staff were so kindly.every thing was good.the only thing annoyed me was at night the fans didnot work and we felt a bit cold.
Everything was good.tanks to staff

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Cartoon hotel for 5 days. The reception was friendly, they upgraded our room to a suite at the new building. The hotel itself is only 1 minute walk from Taksim Square, excellent location. Breakfast was good, lots of variety, I personally expected less but it was a good surprise. The staff was helpful and we didn't have any problems throughout our stay.

I would recommend this hotel for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new building away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed a few nights at Cartoon Hotel during a business trip to Istanbul and i found it extremely convenient regarding location, especially if one is taking the Havatas bus from the airport. However my experience was rather controversial. I practically had no proper sleep for two nights because of the loud noise coming from outside. Somebody would just park their car on the street and get the music on, making my room vibrate like a night club at 4am. I also had to complain about a broken shower head which was never fixed leaving me with no proper shower for the whole of my stay. The time I stayed at Cartoon, the hotel was undergoing a renovation and all staircases were resembling a construction site. I guess i should have been notified. My room was well furnished, but i could sense a generally bad smell around the space.

Staff is friendly in general and they kindly accepted me really earlier than check-in time. I found the price of the room ridiculously high for the quality and the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.