We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #663 of 917 hotels in Istanbul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cartoon hotel is located few steps from Taksim square, breakfast is great at the roof, staff is very friendly, the hotel is currently under renovation, so almost no lobby or waiting area. Rooms are very small yet clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: The higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    50
    32
    18
See reviews for
35
42
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

At 4 stars I expected a lot more. But redeeming features first...a very good breakfast, varied and in a good restaurant location on the top floor of the hotel with great views of the city. The hotel occupies a great central location next to Taksim Square with easy access to shops and transport links (and Istanbul has a great public transport system). I also found the desk staff to be generally helpful and polite.

However, on the negative side:

- the room was very small (if generally clean - though the bathroom needed a re-grouting with dark mould between many of the tiles).
- the mini-bar was never refilled throughout my stay - sure it's expensive but can be useful sometimes for water and snacks. When I asked about it being refilled the chap at the desk told me that the mini bar was too expensive anyway and it was better not to use it!
- the safe was too small to take a laptop (mine's a 15" Macbook so not too big). I ended up carrying it around everywhere with me - I asked in the lobby if there was a safe to store it but there wasn't - I was told I could leave it on the table behind the counter!
- the aircon would not provide cool air even when set on the cool setting, this is a seasonal setting rather than a fault with the aircon, perhaps a cost-saving measure. It was on 25C when I arrived and although Istanbul is cool in November/December as a north European I was too warm and would have liked the option of a cooler space.

AND worst of all...

The NOISE. The windows are single glazed and even when closed did little to shut out the noises of a metropolitan centre. Car horns, sirens, alarms, arguing people, and loud club music were a constant during the night especially in the wee hours. I slept very badly here and I can usually sleep through pretty much anything.

If the place was cheap then I might not have had any quibbles but expectations (at 4 stars) suggested otherwise....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The only redeeming part of this hotel was the breakfast - which was quite wonderful. However, I would much rather have sacrificed the delicious breakfast for : 1) friendly and helpful staff 2) quiet and darkness (away from light damage) 3) comfort and amenities in the room service.

To start, the hotel staff was very cold when I arrived late in the evening from the Ataturk airport. They were reluctant with information about the breakfast - I had to ask everything (what time - where it was), and they did not tell me how the key card worked - it was not totally obvious from looking at it. They were unable to print my boarding pass despite offering such services as a business office on their website (this took the form of me going behind the counter and logging in to one of their computers - which was totally unnecessary since they couldn't print it anyways). They did not speak very good english - which would be fine at a lower star hotel rating, but is the second language of choice here and made it hard for many customers (I observed) to even inquire as to how to get to let alone use the metro system - thank goodness the Istanbul metro/tram/bus is a gift from heaven and nearly self-explanatory.

Several of my colleagues were staying at different floors and on different sides of the hotel. We all found it incredibly difficult to sleep. There is a dance club nearby in the back alleys that played loud house music from 2am-5am which would alert car alarms the entire night - it is totally impossible to sleep. This woke me up it was so loud - I could hear much of the base and some of the singing! There is virtually no sound installation in this building at all. The wall that faces the hallway also let in a lot of noise for it is so thin I could here all the conversations of those walking by who were not very conscientious of their voice level despite the obvious problems they too must have faced in their own rooms. Light pollution from the seam between the door and the wall was awful! This also made me feel unsafe - nothing happened thankfully - but the door looked like it had been broken into before.

The room service rearranged all of my belongings which I find inappropriate - they never changed the linens despite me having requested one night they do so (after having indicated them to stay on for green reasons the first three nights). They also never refilled my tea and coffee over a four day period which seems rather negligent...it wasn't anything amazing either - nescafe and lipton tea - a big surprise.

I would never stay here again - there are cheaper hotels literally adjacent this one. Home stays and hostels in the area are a quarter of the price and provide everything but breakfast. They barely deserve a 2 star rating, the 4 stars are a total joke.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we stayed in cartoon hotel for one week in October 2013.the hotel is 4 stars but in fact it was a big hostel.Although it was reasonable but with compair with accommodation & given services it was very expensive.Rooms are clean but smal gloomy .toilet & bathrooms are clean.very good location.

Room Tip: moderate but exorbitant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located right next to Taksim Square. You can reach the Istanbul Conference Center by foot in around 15 min and just around the corner from shops and restaurants. Free WIFI which worked well.
I was not that impressed by the room, which was both a bit small and quite worn. Had to ask three times to get a chair for the desk to have anywhere but the bed to sit on.
The cleaning was not very good, there were some dodgy stains on the mattress, and there were food remains between the bed and bed table.
Depending on which side of the hotel you get a room it can be very noisy from the street until very late at night.
The staff were friendly though.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a sofa, these are somewhat larger, but do not have a proper desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is very good located, directly at the Taksim square, but the problem is, that You have many "bad red light" manners around. Inside the rooms are very small in compare to other 4 star hotels in Istanbul, even I got a big room (exception).
The team is very kind and helpfull, accesories inside the room are ok. For staying in Istanbul so central located and for this prices, it fits...

Room Tip: Take the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was about 20 – 30 min away from the international airport, and that depends on the traffic,
Unfortunate for us there was traffic jammed and the roads to the hotel were under construction

The advantage and the disadvantage of this hotel was its location, it’s maybe very close to Taksim Street and Square, where all the shops are; yet nightlife was as crowded and loud as the daytime, so sleeping was very bad experience.

The entrance of the hotel was not the best I’ve seen; it was very cartoonish I thought I was entering cinema, very childish indeed.

Our check-in was not bad, bout our check-out was a nightmare, we were among the unlucky people were stack in the hotel as prisoners because of the protests that day, lucky for us we could escaped from the back doors to the airport

No need to say much, it was bad experience overall not to be repeated

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.