We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to say much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #664 of 939 Hotels in Istanbul
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“No need to say much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was about 20 – 30 min away from the international airport, and that depends on the traffic,
Unfortunate for us there was traffic jammed and the roads to the hotel were under construction

The advantage and the disadvantage of this hotel was its location, it’s maybe very close to Taksim Street and Square, where all the shops are; yet nightlife was as crowded and loud as the daytime, so sleeping was very bad experience.

The entrance of the hotel was not the best I’ve seen; it was very cartoonish I thought I was entering cinema, very childish indeed.

Our check-in was not bad, bout our check-out was a nightmare, we were among the unlucky people were stack in the hotel as prisoners because of the protests that day, lucky for us we could escaped from the back doors to the airport

No need to say much, it was bad experience overall not to be repeated

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    55
    34
    20
See reviews for
37
49
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location was great - right on Taksim Square. The service or quality of hotel rooms was not up to four star it claims to be. The air-con was the noisiest i have ever had in a hotel room, that combined with the street noise made it hard to sleep. Also, if the Hotel wishes to have cartoons as its theme then it should go the whole way, not just the Cartoon Channel playing on the restaurant TV, a few random plastic cartoon character figurines around the place and tiny cartoon character stickers on the picture frames.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No sleep.. Too weak noize proof. Amazed how few people speak English.. Ok breakfast... Safty boxes were portable, take it with you when you leave the hotel. Did not feel safe, had to carry all valuables always with you. Construction work of a new street just next to the hotel. It began very night at 11pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one room from the back. Not to the street, construction works begin at 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo,Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the location of the hotel is great you only need to cross the road to reach taksim square,the underground and bus station.the draw backs were with the front disk officers again who knew that the flight will arrive @8 am and refused to make an early check in for more than twenty guest on the same flight.we had all the baggage an all these people in the tiny reception for three hours.and we were surprised with the room that is located some where with tobacco smoking smell that burned our eyes we stayed in this room for one night with a promise to change it and they did it.the other room was better,below average cleanliness,but our friends stayed in a better room in the new extension(lucky them).

Room Tip: new extension rooms,or choose the main street view high floor away of the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I Stayed there for about a week. Let's start with the pros: 1-great location, by that I mean that everything that's anything in Istanbul is almost is at walking distance. 2- Reasonably clean room.
3- Breakfast variaties are very good.
The cons: Terrible AC in the first 2 days. Twin beds were actually a double bed with two matteresses, uncomfortable if you're travelling with your body!. Most importantly I believe is that for a " 4 star Hotel", this is poor. I believe you can get a much better accomdation in one of the higher ranked hotels here on TripAdvisor with the same price bracket as this one. I had little time to arrange with my travel agency and that's why I had to go with this one!

*** There are some construction works currently ( Spring 2013) in the Tarlabasi Bulvari right infront of the hotel, so you might need to consider that temporarily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed there with my friends for 5 days, The Hotel in a Perfect location Directly infront of Taksim square with all the facilities, only 3 min walk to Istiklal Street which is the night life in Taksim.
Although not all the rooms are like the Pictures but most of them very good, clean and with enough space either in DBL or TPL rooms.
I strongly recommend friends and families to book in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed in Cartoon hotel Istanbul for 5 days, and would not recommend it to anyone for many reasons such as (1) very small rooms, (2) breakfast was terrible (3) front desk always extremely busy so you have to wait so long just to get to talk to them (hotel is very understaffed), and location is not quite as was suggested to us by the travel agent. Overall poor and definitely not going there again.

Room Tip: There are simply no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.